We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,432 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,386: English reviews
Start your review of Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
 Click to rate
Toronto
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just got back from the Lost Iguana. Spent 6 nights there, using it as a base to explore Arenal / Fortuna area. We had a ground floor luxury suite with king bed and outside showers. Staff were very helpful at both reception and at the onsite restaurant. Booked our tours via Lost Iguana and had it conveniently charged to our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Orange_Skies
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very nice resort. Easy to find. It's on the same road to the hanging bridges. We arrived four hours early and they were very accommodating. One man even changed our flat tire for us. We are so grateful. Thank you. The grounds are so beautiful. And our room had a direct view of the volcano. What a wonderful way to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DonaldandTrish M
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm not completely struck by The Lost Iguana. I thought the rooms were dated, the food in the restaurant only average, and it's a $30 taxi ride into town if you want to get something different to eat. The vegetation around the hotel is so lush that the view from our ground-floor patio was partially obscured by overgrown plants. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
Lost-iguana-Resort, Owner at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review

I'm so sorry you did not enjoy your stay more. The beauty of the hotel is that is located in the middle of a rainforest on 120 acres of land. There is only one other hotel in the area with trails and a variety of animals and birds equal to Lost Iguana. Even though it is difficult to maintain the...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Gorgeous resort, beautiful rooms with amazing views. Pool/bar area is amazing. US$30 cab ride from town, so you are stuck eating at the expensive restaurant and paying more for excursions with transportation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jsheremeta
Toronto
Reviewed 1 week ago

We traveled from Playas del Coco to Lost Iguana with our adult children and my son's girlfriend. My daughter and her partner had been there before and she liked it so much that we all wanted to have the same experience. We liked everything, from the personnel to the delicious food, lush vegetation, birds, view of the volcano, rocking chairs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shekinah G
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful small resort in Costa Rica. Each room has a spectacular view of Arenal Volcano. Dining room with breakfast included in room rate; courteous and friendly staff. Steep hills to climb to rooms, but that's why the view was great! Family friendly. Reasonably priced considering the quality. Loved the private outdoor bathtub! Nearby Mystico hanging Bridges park was also beautiful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ida257
Lost I, Gerente at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ida257, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. It is a great pleasure to know you liked and enjoyed from this escape place and we agree with you the views of the volcano from the hotel are amazing, we are glad you enjoyed them too, comments like yours encourage us a lot. We hope...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

We are currently at the resort. It's nice and lush. The view of the volcano is nice. The pool area is very nice, with a somewhat heated warm pool. We have seen several species of birds. I do think other places give you more value for your money, but if others are fully booked it's a good place. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hlraphael
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for 2 nights in February in the middle of my weeks holiday. The setting was spectacular, peaceful with first class views and I had a luxury suite with a balcony which I couldn't fault! Unfortunately, in my opinion there are areas which could improve. Firstly, the really loud music down by the pool/bar, is it really necessary?...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Car0lcat
Lost I, Gerente at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Car0lcat, For us it is an immense pleasure to have received you and to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Lost Iguana Resort. Your comments allow us to improve and learn to make things better day by day. We hope you come to visit us again in the future. Lost Iguana

Quicksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very friendly staff, we had a great time, very relaxing. Service was great, room was kept clean and tidy. It was nice to be able to walk the trails and see the wildlife. Service in the restaurant was good, food was good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank david c
Lost I, Gerente at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear David, We thank you for sharing your comments about your experience at Lost Iguana. For us it is a pleasure to share with our guests the beautiful surroundings that circle the property with nature lovers like you. Your comments encourage us to continue working to offer unforgettable stays. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in...

Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We returned to Lost Iguana Resort in early February for our seventh visit since 2006. It has long been our favourite rainforest escape, and we love it a little more with each visit. The resort is surrounded by jungle foliage and is a great spot for birdwatching and spotting wildlife including toucans and many colored birds. The volcano views from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 5VacationLuvR7
Lost I, Gerente at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 5VacationLuvR7, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. It is a great pleasure to know that we are your favorite escape place and we agree with you the views of the volcano from the hotel are amazing, we are glad you enjoyed them too, comments from an experienced visitor encourage us a lot. We...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,713 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1298)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (236)
Viewed
View from Room (183)
Viewed
Room/Suite (295)
Viewed
Bathroom (49)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (76)
Viewed
Dining (81)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (364)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (407)
Viewed
Amenities (107)
Viewed
Condo (65)
Viewed
Pool (20)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Suite (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)
Viewed
Villa (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arenal Volcano National Park hotels
2.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,721 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,124 reviews
1.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,272 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,334 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lost Iguana Resort is Arenal's newest hotel, offering luxury accommodations in the rain forest The resort's 100 acre property overlooks the world's most active volcano, Arenal Volcano located near La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A premiere, upscale retreat nestled gently in the jungle, the Lost Iguana Resort only offers rooms with large private balconies overlooking the Arenal Volcano and Arenal River Gorge. All rooms are spacious and well appointed with first-class furnishings, artwork and full amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Address: 1.5 km North of Arenal dam, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park
Price Range: $187 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Iguana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lost Iguana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Iguana Resort And Spa
Lost Iguana Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Lost Iguana
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#9 Family Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#10 Spa Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#10 Romantic Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Lost Iguana Resort & Spa staff and other travelers.
35 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (35)

Questions? Get answers from Lost Iguana Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All the rooms have a view of the volcano.”
 of 5 bubbles ShekinahG, 1 week ago | Read review
“Buildings are two story, but on lower floor we were distracted by footfalls in the room above us.”
 of 5 bubbles Ida257, 1 week ago | Read review
“Definitely go for the luxury suite with balcony, fabulous room with amazing views!”
 of 5 bubbles Car0lcat, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“All the rooms offer great views, but we prefer the second floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 5VacationLuvR7, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Some rooms are farther from restaurant and a little bit of a hike so beware for those in need of assistance moving around.”
 of 5 bubbles dnreddy00, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question