We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 48: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

^The Arenal Volcano area was maybe one of the nicest area in Costa Rica we have been to.a lot of activities to do, canopy, horse backriding, rafting and more. we arranged most of the tour at the front desk we where at Hotel Sueño Dorado for 2 nights, the hot springs at the hotel were great.

Helpful?
Thank dexterpark2
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we were at the hotel at night for the hot springs, very nice pools with different temperatures , they must have around 5 different swimming pools with beautiful gardens, we had a few drinks at the bar close to the pool, the price for the beer was $2 which very good

Helpful?
Thank Ginger B
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2016 via mobile

Owner is very nice. We had delicious custom cooked meals two times a day. Facility was below average. Just need to have an open mind. We had the hot spring to ourselves, so it was great after a day of hiking. Ask for room 11. Overall experience was good.

Helpful?
Thank BLT1915
Hotel S, Manager at Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs, responded to this review

thank you very much for your review, we are very happy to know you have a nice stay with us More 

Phoenix, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

The motel is situated about halfway between La Fortuna and the Volcano National Park. Taxis are required to go anywhere. The staff were polite and helpful (but sometimes a little slow). The rooms were clean. Our beds were a little hard. Breakfast was provided but, honestly, it was only so-so. The hot springs are more like hot tubs. Love the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
Hotel S, Manager at Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs, responded to this review

thank you for your review we are glad to let you know we have been making a lot of improves at the hotel, beding and others have been changed More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

I read here that it's run by very sweet people but I was denied a towel at hot springs after various requests. It's not that it was busy they had to run out of towels, there were 3 people in total. Bring your own towel if you want to go to hot springs here

Helpful?
1 Thank HasHal
Hotel S, Manager at Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs, responded to this review

hello we are very sorry you had a bad experience with us. the good thing is that thank you to all reviews, we have make a lot of improvements at the hotel More 

Travelers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Wien, Österreich
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

Very old, uncomfortable place. Bed smells awful, holes in the towels, dead insects at the ceiling. Toilet was leaking, shower full of mold. Plus: unfriendly staff without manners, didn't even say "hello". Btw: the pool with the hot springs is dirty too, hundrets of hair swim inside.

Helpful?
Thank JustinCase83
Hotel S, Manager at Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs, responded to this review

hello we are very sorry you had a bad experience with us. the good thing is that thank you to all reviews, we have make a lot of improvements at the hotel More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

This motel/hotel was perfect for our stay in La Fortuna. Comfortable ,clean, spacious , basic furnished room with pleasant gardens in which they have three different pools, one very hot, one warm and one cold, lovely to relax in after a busy day hiking the Volcano Park. The staff were very endearong and helped us arrange whatever we asked. Nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jonny97
Hotel S, Manager at Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs, responded to this review

hi thank you for your review, we are very happy to see you had a good time with us More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015 via mobile

A very well presented and family run hotel. We felt very comfortable and looked after. It was our first getaway in the tropics and geko and lizards in our room were not the norm. Every morning we woke up to a view of the arsenal volcano and put nature. We booked numerous excursions via the hotel and had an amazing... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Sorjeus
Hotel S, Manager at Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs, responded to this review

hi thank you for your review, we are very happy to see you had a good time with us More 

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

We paid for a second night but had to leave because they had no hot water. The pools we not hot. Only Luke warm. Plus no refrigerator. Considering we paid $90, this was a bad deal. The place had a very cold emotional feel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nick A
Hotel S, Manager at Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs, responded to this review

hello we are very sorry you had a bad experience with us. the good thing is that thank you to all reviews, we have make a lot of improvements at the hotel More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

If you want to be treated with kindness and genuine people, look no further! The staff here goes above and beyond to make you feel as comfortable as possible and are willing to help you book tours, travel, and massages. This place might not be a top-knotch five star hotel, but the people- especially the hotel owner, Minor, are amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Yumi R
Hotel S, Owner at Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs, responded to this review

hi thank you for your review, we are very happy to see you had a good time with us More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#31 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
#38 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
2.7 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#26 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,173 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Rey Arenal
Hotel Rey Arenal
#43 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#36 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are facing the imposing Volcan Arenal in Costa Rica, surrounded by lush nature and places very close icons attraction is as hot Baldi, places Kalambu Water Park, where exotic animals are observed in the incredible tropical vegetation that characterizes us, enjoys a great view of the volcano with our warm hospitality, spacious and comfortable rooms offering amenities to rest and relax in our pools thermo-mineral waters volcanic owned and taste of our food high in our beloved Costa Rica ... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs

Address: | 5 km west of la Fortuna on the way to the Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sueno Dorado Hotel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $98 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay