We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel La Fortuna

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel La Fortuna
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

458 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 389: English reviews
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wanted to stay in town so that we could just walk around during the day or night and this spot was perfect. Had a restaurant/bar/patio in the lobby which was a nice touch. It was a great value at the time we traveled. Got a room with a balcony facing the volcano which made it a little nicer (roomed seemed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Justsayin85253
HotelLaFortuna, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel La Fortuna, responded to this review

Dear, First of all, we want to thank you for the time you have taken on writing this comment. On the other hand, We are glad to know that you found the perfect hotel to stay just downtown in La Fortuna. Thank you so much!!! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came from a really bad hostel experience and were looking for a place that was reasonably priced, clean and quiet. Thank goodness for Hotel La Fortuna, because that is what they provided. The service was great, the room was clean and quiet, the hot shower was unbelievable (as we hadn't had one in over a month here in Costa... More 

Helpful?
Thank Francesca S
HotelLaFortuna, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel La Fortuna, responded to this review

Dear, Thank you for your comment about aour hotel. It is pretty good to know that you had a nice stay at Hotel La Fortuna. Also, let me tell you that we always try to give the best service to our guests, since we want them to have a nice experience over here. Thank you so much for recommend us. More 

Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms are small and quite basic, but clean and provide hot water (a luxury in Central America). Air conditioning costs extra, so you may or may not want to invest depending on the time of year you are visiting. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great central location, walking distance to bars, restaurants, grocery stores, and tourism information to see... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SocioKathy
HotelLaFortuna, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel La Fortuna, responded to this review

Dear, Let me tell you that we really appreciate the time you have taken on writing this comment. On the other hand, you were on that kind of room because that was what the travel agency booked for you and those are the smaller rooms. Also, using the air conditioning had an extra cost for you because that is what... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2016 via mobile

After 3 nights in Puerto Viejo we were dying for a hot shower with water pressure... exactly what we got! The location is right in town. Close to restaurants, ATMs, your companies. The free breakfast is wonderful! Coffee, juice and water. Fresh fruits, scrambled eggs with toast, pinto de gallo and fried plantains is included in the fare for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kristin S
HotelLaFortuna, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel La Fortuna, responded to this review

Hello dear, First of all, we would like to thank you for the time you have taken on writing this comment about us. On the other hand, is good to know tha you got what you wanted after three nights in Puerto Viejo, every single room of our hotel has hot shower with water preassure. We are glad to hear... More 

Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2016

Not so good: Check in took longer than necessary with agent getting side tracked several times, talking to other people before finishing with me. For some reason he was extremely averse to taking colones and refused to accept a 50 mil for a required deposit on the safe deposit box in my room, so I spent the first night not... More 

Helpful?
Thank windsurf182016
HotelLaFortuna, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel La Fortuna, responded to this review

Hello Dear, First of all, we want to thank you for writing this comment, since it contributes to get better our service. On the other hand we want to let you know that we are very sorry about all the issues you had over here, however we would thank to our clients let us know if they have any issue... More 

Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2016 via mobile

The rooms here are okay. They are small and quite basic but most have no natural light and are very warm. I had issues with my TV remote (I adore background chatter) and the staff were fab at assisting. Breakfast on the first day was a buffet and good. Second day was order....and again pretty good. Aircon would be worth... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lee337337
HotelLaFortuna, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel La Fortuna, responded to this review

Hello Dear, We are very thankful with you for the time you have taken on writing this comment about our service. Unfortunately, the travel agency that made your reservation, booked that type of room for you, however we have others types of room; Standard with view to the Arenal Volcano and Standard with view to the mountain. These rooms have... More 

Ko Yao Yai, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2016

We weren't expecting much when we first pulled up to the hotel, but this place "wowed" us from the moment we walked into the entryway! It's very clean & very beautiful. The woodwork is particularly lovely. The room was very clean, the safe was easy to operate & very secure, but the view.... Oh my goodness, the VIEW!!!! The volcano... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
HotelLaFortuna, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel La Fortuna, responded to this review

Dear, We want to thank you for the time you have taken on writing this comment. We are glad to hear that you had a good time in our hotel. You are right the view of the volcano from the room is amazing. On the other hand it is good to know that our staff was helpfull for you, they... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2016

The location is the best, the price was relatively affordable and it was in close proximity to the bus station and local shops and restaurants! the place was clean and staff was nice. there was a nice balcony view. Totally worth it, esp. if you are on a budget. I would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Mayra L
HotelLaFortuna, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel La Fortuna, responded to this review

Dear, First of all, we want to thank you for the time you have taken on writing this comment. On the other hand, we always try to keep our rooms clean for our clients and they can have a good time in here. We also have good rates or pricing for those that are on a budget. Thank you!!! More 

Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

Hotel La Fortuna is right in town and easily accessible by car or bus. That being said you will hear the street noise. Things get moving at 7ish. My room was a good size and clean. I would pay the little bit extra for the volcano view, completely worth it! The staff are amazing! Warm, welcoming, super helpful and bothered... More 

Helpful?
Thank SarahlWilliams
HotelLaFortuna, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel La Fortuna, responded to this review

Dear, We really appreciate the time you have taken on writing this comment. We are totally agree with you acording to the extra payment to get a volcano view room because they would have a good view of the volcano as you did, by the way you have got good pictures of the volcano. We always try to help to... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

I LOVE Hotel La Fortuna! The hotel staff (Manrique) arranged transportation for us from the airport in San Jose, as well as for my daughter who was already in country, and coming from Liberia. Manrique also discussed plans with us to help us decide what activities we wanted to do while we were here as well as the most economical... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelly Santorii P
HotelLaFortuna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Fortuna, responded to this review

Dear, We really appreciate your opinion about our service. It is so good to hear from you that our staff helped you to arrange transportation and activities to do over here. On the other hand we are sorry about the air conditioning but the point is that our air conditioning system is energy saving, so that is the reason why... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

183 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (169)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.3 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#33 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
116 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#25 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#18 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#21 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#37 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
59 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#34 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $46 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel La Fortuna staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel La Fortuna staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“central location in La Fortuna, convenient but noisy”
 of 5 bubbles windsurf182016, Sep 22, 2016 | Read review
“Get the volcano view!!”
 of 5 bubbles 963JennyH, Sep 18, 2016 | Read review
“higher floors have great views of the town”
 of 5 bubbles 171mayral, Aug 23, 2016 | Read review
“Volcano view depending on the dates you travel”
 of 5 bubbles Chavez0218, Jul 27, 2016 | Read review
“ask for an upgrade, get top floor for best volcano views.”
 of 5 bubbles Gregwoods, Jul 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay