We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Buena Vista

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Buena Vista
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

582 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 474: English reviews
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a later arrival flight out of Europe and stayed in this hotel before starting our trip in the country. As the restaurant was close (11pm) the hotel prepared sandwishes and fresh fruit. Our room was on the first floor with view on the pool. The room was small for 3 persons but we managed. The bathroom and room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rodriek
BuenaVistaAlajuela, Owner at Hotel Buena Vista, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Think that you were in room 103 which is our smallest room. We are sorry that you were inconvenienced. The room is fine for two people, but not three. We have advised reception to not assign the room to three guests. Our other rooms are fine for three guests, and our villas... More 

Dingmans Ferry PA USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We fell in love with the Hotel Buena Vista! We spent 6 nights in Manuel Antonio area and spent the day before our flight back home to NY in San Jose at the Buena Vista. The place is spotless! The staff is unbelievably friendly, the villas are absolutely beautiful and well appointed, beds were comfortable, the restaurant was excellent and... More 

Helpful?
Thank jmascia5
BuenaVistaAlajuela, Owner at Hotel Buena Vista, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. Your review was outstanding for the number of people whose names you remembered, and the details of each facet of the hotel operation. You only spent one night here which is all the more remarkable for the amount of information you retained. We are proud of our staff, and the service... More 

Sierra Madre, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been to Costa Rica several times and like to visit a different part of the country every time I come here. So this is my first time staying here at Hotel Buena Vista. Let me start with the pros: I am staying with my two teenagers in a Villa. The Villa is absolutely Beautiful!!! The beds are extremely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kara G
BuenaVistaAlajuela, Owner at Hotel Buena Vista, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your kind comments about the hotel and the fact that the problems you had were otherwise. Your flight was delayed five hours so you were naturally exhausted. The hotel shuttle was at the airport at twelve when your flight arrived. .The driver normally waits an hour for guest to exit... More 

Austin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Only a 15minute ride from SJO, but feels like a world away. Free airport transfers. A very nice coffee trail where we saw many birds. Nice pool and courtyard area. Breakfast was very nice. We had an upper floor balcony room. Views were great. Nice place!

Helpful?
Thank Elsomalo
BuenaVistaAlajuela, Owner at Hotel Buena Vista, responded to this review

Thank you for writing. You covered about everything which am happy that you liked. Please visit us again. Ed More 

Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We are in Costa Rica for a family trip--18 people, aged 8 to 76. We started our 10-day trip in Alajuela with 3 nights at this hotel. Our family of 5 (kids are 16, 14, 10) stayed in a villa. It was a large space with plenty of room for all of us. We had a nice balcony with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann S
BuenaVistaAlajuela, Owner at Hotel Buena Vista, responded to this review

Thank you for your commentary which gave a lot of helpful information for fulture guests. The comments about the villas were particularly instructive because the villas are really very nice, and it is impossible to give sufficient details on a web site. You mentioned that the room was cramped for the number of people for three days which is undoubtedly... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016

Hotel Buena Vista was the most comfortable place that we stayed in in Costa Rica. The beds were extremely comfortable as was the accommodation generally. The view back over San Jose is beautiful and we were disappointed we didnt have time to enjoy the location and the hotel itself more as we stayed there going to and coming from the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PNG86
BuenaVistaAlajuela, Owner at Hotel Buena Vista, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your stay in our hotel. You mention two things that will be of interest to other guests. The first was not having a wakeup call. The reason for this is at night there is only the guard on duty. We trust the guard, but we don't want to take a chance that he doesn't call... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

Definatly the place to stay in Alajuela . Buena Vista has a charming Costa Ricain character . The staff is friendly . The food at the restaurant good and the room very nice . We had a great view from our balcony . We wish we could have stay one more night .

Helpful?
Thank Corinne T
BuenaVistaAlajuela, Owner at Hotel Buena Vista, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking your time to report on our hotel. You in a concise manner mentioned the things that we endeavor to maintain at a high level of excellence. They are the friendliness of personnel, high quality food, and cleanliness throughout the hotel and grounds. Please come back and visit us again. Ed More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

This is a great hotel and the staff is amazing. Myself, wife, and son arrived late on a recent Saturday night. Early Sunday morning (Father's Day) we scheduled a tour of the volcano Poas and the Waterfall Garden. The driver arrived a short time later and it turned out to be the manager of the hotel, Harlem. Harlem was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kent H
BuenaVistaAlajuela, Owner at Hotel Buena Vista, responded to this review

Dear Kent, Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. Harlem is a very nice person and genuinely interested in seeing that guests are happy while here. He is knowledgeable about birds and has made a check list of more than a hundred species he has sighted on the hotel grounds. I want to apologize for the way our... More 

Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

Hotel BUENA Vista is very charming and the staff is so kind. The breakfast was delicious. I wAs exhausted and woken by a phone ringing in the main office from 4am to 5 am It must have been someone on a different time zone used to 24 hour front desk service at a Chain hotels. No one was available to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank catiegalen
BuenaVistaAlajuela, Owner at Hotel Buena Vista, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a commentary to Trip Advisor of your stay. Intelligent people notice details, and your comments are characterized by details. however, but a nuisance. Fortunately many people don´t call the hotel at 5:oo a.m. The hotel is not across the street from the plaza as you point out. Don´t know where it says... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

We stayed in one of the villas and it was simply fantastic. But the view at night is not the only thing that made it fantastic. It was the resort staff. Every single one of them was courteous and kind. From Harlem the manager to the drivers, restaurant staff, tour guides , even the owner Mr Pratt who took time... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ahmed511
BuenaVistaAlajuela, Owner at Hotel Buena Vista, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to have you stay in our hotel. Maintain that you get what you bring. Your family was always smiling and in a good mood, and this makes others respond in a friendly, helpful manner. Our staff is encouraged to be friendly and helpful. Am glad that you were treated that way because that is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

327 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (314)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (111)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
0:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alajuela
0.8 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tacacori EcoLodge
Tacacori EcoLodge
#6 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
4.2 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
5.5 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#7 of 30 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
12.3 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The comment ofter heard in this hotel is, "We feel like we are at home." This is exactly the impression the management and staff of the Buena Vista strive to create. We are high on the summit of a mountain with a climate of eternal spring yet only fifteen minutes drive from the International Airport below. We will pick you up there and show you the wonders of this exotic country. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Buena Vista

Address: Across from catholic church, Pilas, Alajuela, Alajuela 4050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Alajuela
Price Range: $142 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel
Buena Vista Alajuela
Hotel Buena Vista Costa Rica/Alajuela
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alajuela
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alajuela
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay