We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St. James Hotel

Traveler (36)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (1)
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The St. James Hotel was built in 1837 and is one of the few river front hotels, which remained standing after the Civil War. During 1881, it is reported that Jesse and Frank James were guests of the St. James Hotel. The exterior doors and window casings are all original to the hotel. The cast iron fireplace in the lobby is also original. Most of the furniture in the public areas are period antiques bought at Paris antique auctions or donated by individuals. The tea set in the lobby was donated by a lady who is ancestor of Catesby Jones, who was the Commander of the Merrimac in the Civil War. Fabrics and colors used throughout the hotel are historic and have been used to reflect the period when the hotel was in operation. The period of architecture reflects the French influence used extensively during the 1800's. The fountain in the courtyard is symbolic of the artesian well, which was located on the property.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
12
25
13
4
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
12
25
13
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews edmund pettus bridge voting rights lovely old hotel haunting rumored
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 64 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2017

The hotel itself was lovely old hotel but the rooms and lobby desperately needed remodeling and repairs. The carpet in the rooms was extremely warn out and musty. The lampshades was filthy and torn. The room was in disrepair as well as other parts of...More

Date of stay: June 2017
2  Thank Rachel W
Reviewed July 16, 2017

I was both excited and scared to stay at this hotel. It was rumoured to be haunted and I wasnt sure what to expect going in. We were greeted by a wonderful kid, Jordan (I think that was his name). He was so pleasant and...More

Date of stay: August 2016
Thank Shaima A
Reviewed June 9, 2017

It all just depends on what you're looking for with your stay in Selma. It's an old hotel, close to 200 years old, if I understood correctly. Some of it is incredibly nice, and has tons of character - the lobby, the courtyard, the galleries...More

Date of stay: February 2017
1  Thank Ryan V
Reviewed May 1, 2017

This was our third time staying at this remarkable hotel. Our room was spacious, beautifully decorated and absolutely spotless. The folks at the front desk couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Unfortunately, the restaurant and bar are now closed. The hotel is for sale,...More

Date of stay: April 2017
1  Thank sheilashotwell
Reviewed April 20, 2017

They are having trouble with internet site which constantly says they are booked out for the foreseeable future - so I ventured there out of curiosity as so many friends had said this was a must. It's a fascinating hotel, so much charm and history...More

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank RonWamberal
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
normant514
May 5, 2016|
Answer
Response from ActingLauretta | Reviewed this property |
Well, we parked on the street. But, we have handicap plates so we were able to park right in the front of the hotel. They do not have a parking lot attached so you have to park on the street.
0
Votes
Willa S
June 3, 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ROSS3076 | Reviewed this property |
I am fairly particular but the room we ended up with was more than adequate,A/C working and not musty.We had suite on 1st floor,corner suite nearest the Pettus bridge overlooking the river with a balcony,the view from which... More
2
Votes
Lania C
April 8, 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Kathie H | Reviewed this property |
No they were not. Rooms were very comfortable.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"We were in 315 and had a great view of the Pettus bridge"
KayM506
Sep 10, 2016
Read review
"Even if you're a hotel snob, let it go for a day to stay in this hotel."
fortitude8
Jun 20, 2016
Read review
"Stay at another hotel. The view is not worth the trouble."
ActingLauretta
Mar 5, 2016
Read review
"You MUST dine at Tally Ho -- about 15 mins from the hotel. Visit the Live Oak Cemetery too."
Cocktails_at_Seven
Feb 28, 2016
Read review
Show More 
ALSO KNOWN AS
st james hotel
LOCATION
United StatesAlabamaSelma
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing