We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin

Show Prices
#34 of 4,324 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

454 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 278: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel itself looks beautiful. Shanghai is usually very crowded and noisy, but surprisingly, this hotel is very quiet. The rooms are very good too, and so is the service. The only bad thing is that the food in the executive lounge was terrible. They didn't even change the food for three days.

Helpful?
Thank vedwardh16
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

While I was traveling around china for a month with my family I decided to stay a night in Intercontinental Ruijin to just rest and relax. I booked a basic room through ihg.com and the hotel kindly upgraded us to a garden view room in the club wing with club intercontinental access because it was a very special occasion. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank damemike
INTERCONTINENTALSH, Managing Director at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share you recent experiences with us and I am very pleased to read you had a memorable stay. Thank you for your compliments of our services. We strive to provide professional, personal and memorable experiences for our guests and it is pleasing to read our team delivered. We look forward... More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Shanghai is busy and noisy! this is the finest place just keep and calm your self away from noisy busy streets. I really enjoyed this property, I would recommend this property for families, couples who is looking for peaceful environment in Shanghai. The location is not so ideal but the services and rooms are nicely design and decorated.

Helpful?
Thank Ahmed S
INTERCONTINENTALSH, Managing Director at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review

Dear Ahmed S, Thank you for choosing InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin and we were very pleased you enjoyed the escape from the hustle and bustle of Shanghai. Thank you for your compliments of our rooms and service. InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin’s expansive gardens offer a relaxing resort ambience and an escape from busy downtown Shanghai. I am pleased you enjoyed it! Thank... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Location: The entrance is hard to find. The taxi didn't know where to go so we had to walk quite a bit. Walking towards the main entrance, you will find that the property looks very European but it's becoming quite Chinese and not in a good way. This reflects in the decor as well. I was really looking forward to... More 

Helpful?
Thank HK_Traveller05
INTERCONTINENTALSH, Managing Director at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review

Dear HK_Traveller05, Greetings from InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin! Firstly and most importantly please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings in the experiences you have outlined. Your comments about the service and engagement from the team have been well noted and we will be using this to help our managers focus on the training needs. We are also continuing to work... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I love this hotel very much, spaciest and green. It is just 10mins walk to the iapm for business and luxury shopping, another 10mins to go to 田子方for local food, special restaurant and local shop. In general, the service of the hotel is ok good. But not everyone can deliver the same standard. it depends if you are lucky enough... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ho Yui L
INTERCONTINENTALSH, Managing Director at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review

Dear Ho Yui L, Thank you for taking the time to share you recent experiences with us and I am very pleased to read you had a memorable stay. I was pleased to note you found our hotel a secluded oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Shanghai. InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin’s expansive gardens offer a relaxing resort ambience and... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

This hotel continues the tradition of Intercontinental and other mid-level US brands having much more uspcale properties in Asia than at home. The decor and furnishings are of higher quality, the breakfast buffet is exceptional, but what really sets this hotel apart is the tranquil setting in an old mansion with a huge garden. It is really pleasant to come... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chimata-no-kami
INTERCONTINENTALSH, Managing Director at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review

Dear Chimata-no-kami, Thank you for taking the time to share you recent experiences with us and I am very pleased to read you had a memorable stay. I was pleased to note you found our hotel a secluded oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Shanghai. InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin’s expansive gardens offer a relaxing resort ambience and give guests... More 

Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

This place is an absolute delight. It's like being somewhere far from the city, but with the beauty of the French Concession at your doorstep. The gardens are huge, the buildings not too high rise a`nd it feels like a hotel in the country despite being in the middle of one of the busiest cities on the planet. The rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sebmack
INTERCONTINENTALSH, Managing Director at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review

Dear Sebmack, Thank you for taking the time to share you recent experiences with us and I am very pleased to read you had a memorable stay. Thank you for your compliments of our services. We strive to provide professional, personal and memorable experiences for our guests and it is pleasing to read our team delivered. I was pleased to... More 

Middelfart, Denmark
Level Contributor
203 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016

This hotel is located in sort of a park making it very quiet and relaxing. The rooms are luxurious and it had the best bath tub I have had in a hotel. The staff is very friendly even if some of them do not speak good english they will try to accommodate your needs.Breakfast buffet has anything you can wish... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mvanting
INTERCONTINENTALSH, Managing Director at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review

Dear Mvanting, We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin and thank you for your compliments about our service and breakfasts. I am sorry to learn of your internet issues. I will ask our IT manager to explore and address the issues with the wifi. InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin aims to provide professional, personal and memorable... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

Having such a great stay at this property, I really felt the need to write this review. I had the pleasure of staying at the IHG Shanghai Ruijin Hotel and want to share the experience with TA readers. This Intercontinental property is truly an oasis in the middle of Shanghai, surrounded by its own Chinese style gardens. It has the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rich30328
INTERCONTINENTALSH, Managing Director at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review

Dear Rich30328, Thank you for taking the time to share you recent experiences with us and I am very pleased to read you had a memorable stay. Thank you for your compliments of our services. We strive to provide professional, personal and memorable experiences for our guests and it is pleasing to read our team delivered. I was pleased to... More 

Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016 via mobile

I've stayed a lot of hotels in a lot of countries. China, by far, has the worst internet and the InterContinental Shanghi Ruijin must have the worst network in Shanghai. Almost every site I tried timed out. From the lobby, from my room. Gmail? Illegal in China. YouTube? Forget about it. Netflix? Keep dreaming. Text? Maybe.. Type slow. Now the... More 

Helpful?
Thank KeithBA2
INTERCONTINENTALSH, Managing Director at InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin, responded to this review

Dear KeithBA2, I am sorry to learn of your internet issues. We have been embarking on a comprehensive WiFi upgrade at the end of February already. But as the government policy, some international website can not be opened smoothly, if you have any problem with the internet, please do not hesitate to contact our call center for any assistance. InterContinental... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

662 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (551)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (103)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (284)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (111)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#20 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Former French Concession
Radisson Blu Plaza Xingguo Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
URBN Hotel Shanghai
URBN Hotel Shanghai
#36 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#33 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Former French Concession

Neighborhood Profile
Former French Concession
While there are technical borders to the area formerly governed by the French in Shanghai, the "French Concession" of today is an amorphous neighborhood that is a favorite of the city's foreign residents. While it is mostly within the Xuhui district, residents will sometimes include parts of Jing'an and Luwan in their mental maps of the Former French Concession. The area seems frozen in time, characterized by quiet, tree-lined avenues, French-style villas, interesting boutiques, lively bars and quaint cafes that are not typical of China. All of these mix and mingle with local life as Chinese markets and lanehouse communities are peppered throughout. Denizens of the Former French Concession can spectate a mahjong game on the street or get their bike checked at a tiny bike repair store on the way to their refurbished apartment tucked away among Chinese family homes.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
InterContinental Hotels & Resorts unveils its first China heritage hotel – the InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin – located across a 100-acre historic garden estate in the heart of Shanghai. Guests from around the world can now experience an important part of Shanghai’s glamorous early 20th-century heritage in an exclusive garden setting, while enjoying InterContinental’s world-class ‘In the Know’ service and luxury amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin

Address: No.118 Ruijin Er Lu, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Hengshan Road
Price Range: $204 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruijin Hotel Shanghai
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#32 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#171 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay