We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Crowne Plaza Shanghai

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Shanghai
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

622 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 291: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

There is a meteo station nearby. Metro is easy to use. Near the hotel.many massage places and restaurants. The rooms are clean, you get ALL the amenities u can imagine and the room service delivery is fast, and the food is okayish.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manuela N
Sunny Y, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Manuela N, Thank you for your stay in Crowne Plaza Shanghai. The hotel has a good location in central Shanghai. It is walk distance to subway line 10 & line 11, which will lead you to most of attractions in Shanghai, including Yu Garden, Xintiandi, Nanjing Road and Disneyland. Traffic is very convenient to visit Shanghai. Meanwhile there are...

San Jose, CA
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in this hotel one night. Hotel is centrally located and about 10 min walk from the subway station. Going there took a taxi from PVG and it was around 240RMB. Going back took a train for total of 54RMB (Megalev was part of it). Timewise I think train was faster. Hotel is more or less fine. A bit older...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gbumaga
Sunny Y, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear gbumaga, Thank you for your stay in Crowne Plaza Shanghai. The hotel has a good location in central Shanghai, 30 minutes west to Hongqiao Airport, and 20 minutes northeast by car to The Bund. Meanwhile it is walk distance to subway line 10 & line 11, which will lead you to most of attractions in Shanghai, including Yu Garden,...

San Diego, California
Reviewed December 6, 2016

This hotel is now 25 years old and was very welcome when it first arrived in Shanghai. Stayed here a lot from 2005-2010 and was good at first and then began fading fast. Our company stopped booking here with so many employee complaints (food, odors, staff) yet still end up here at client request occasionally. Last straw for me was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gre P
Sunny Y, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Gre P, Thank you so much for your review of our Crowne Plaza Shanghai. We apologized for the inconvenience you faced during your stay with us. From your comments we learned that our food quality failed to meet your expectation. We already shared your comments to our Food & Beverage team who will work harder to improve the quality....

Reviewed December 2, 2016 via mobile

I was there for 3 nights recently. The heating is poor in the room and the bathtub is leaking. Breakfast selection is poor as staff are not ready to serve at 6:30am despite the fact that the restaurant opens at 6. Staff was snoozing off at 5+ when I was checking out. Perhaps the management should consider a major shakeup.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
Sunny Y, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Daniel D, Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed November 27, 2016

The hotel in general is quite nice, the rooms are spacious and clean and the breakfast buffet is good. There is no wi-fi in the rooms which is ridiculous for this standard of hotel. Have to sit in the lobby. This was a huge let down to me as i was there for business. Also they insisted I pay for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuliaRJ
Sunny Y, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear JuliaRJ Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so pleased you liked overall staying experience of Crowne plaza Shanghai. On the other hand, please accept our apology if your stay was negatively affected by poor wifi experience. We also would be grateful if you to contact me personally by email sunny.yuan@ihg.com regarding...

New Delhi, Delhi, India
Reviewed November 27, 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights during October 31- November 2, 2016. Nice hotel to stay. very clean. The breakfast is awesome. Very close to the shopping areas. Staff members are very helpful. Not all staff speak English, but most of them do understand and speak English.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rsdipti
Sunny Y, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Rsdipti Thank you for such warm endorsing comments regarding our great location. The team will be also delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your breakfast and professional service We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards

Reviewed November 25, 2016 via mobile

Our tour arranged our accommodation and we are very happy. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Our Breakfast was included and there is an abundance of choices. The staff are helpful and can speak English, which hasn't been the case at other hotels. A lot of business people use this hotel. We caught a taxi to the Bund at 8...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cajhm
Sunny Y, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Cajhm, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Shanghai. I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our staff friendly and helpful. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. ;) Kind Regards

Reviewed November 22, 2016 via mobile

The property was clean, spacious and great atmosphere. First day dinner was awful, had no taste and no effort. Breakfast was good but attention to details were missing. Staff were polite and friendly. The hotel can be more visual if the front was lit up as sometimes the entrance can be missed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anjana P
Sunny Y, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Anjana P Thank you for your genuine review about us, please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your First day dinner and shortage issue of our Breakfast. We will feedback to our team and make it better. Thanks again for your suggestion of our breakfast and Lobby, Meanwhile, we are glad to hear that...

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 22, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza because we were attending a wedding there. Our stay was very pleasant although the room had several maintenance issues. For instance the tap in the bathroom leaked water onto the counter top, but when this was reported we were told to just ignore it as it is a common fault! The night lights did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MervLeic
Sunny Y, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Mervleic Thank you for your genuine feedback. We understand and sincere apologize for the inconvenience caused by the wifi experience and bathroom leakage issue. We are currently working to make enhancements on our Room maintenance and amenities as to deliver a more comfortable stay for all of our beloved guests. Meanwhile, we are glad to hear your praise of...

Shenzhen, China
Reviewed November 14, 2016 via mobile

Visited the hotel for a work related conference. The hotel and meeting facilities are starting to show their age. Small items in need of repair and refresh are quite abundant. The hotel staff were attentive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Treed44812
Sunny Y, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Treed44812, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that our staff are attentive. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. Regarding small items for repair, could you please email me (sunny.yuan@ihg.com), as I'd like to know more details then we are able to address these...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

322 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (219)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Other (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (103)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (15)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Waigaoqiao
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
#79 of 4,670 in Shanghai
296 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
Courtyard Shanghai Xujiahui
#49 of 4,670 in Shanghai
403 reviews
Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan
#72 of 4,670 in Shanghai
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Shanghai Tianping Hotel
Shanghai Tianping Hotel
#217 of 4,670 in Shanghai
65 reviews
Zhongshan Park
The Longemont Shanghai
The Longemont Shanghai
#86 of 4,670 in Shanghai
794 reviews
Former French Concession
Radisson Blu Plaza Xingguo Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang

Neighborhood Profile
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
West of Shanghai’s better-known business, cultural and entertainment centers, lies an expansive area of residential neighborhoods peppered with lifestyle pockets that have their own unique attractions. The schools have formed pockets of international communities throughout Gubei, Hongqiao and Minhang. Quite a few entertainment and shopping centers have built up over the years to cater to these communities. While living here means you are relatively far away from Shanghai’s usual hot spots, the large parks, spacious homes and proximity to great Japanese and Korean food keep the neighborhoods popular.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With its strategic city center location, Crowne Plaza Shanghai situated next door to the Shanghai Arts Film Center and about 3 minutes’ walk to Metro Station line 10、11; only minutes away from the bustling Xujiahui and Huaihai road shopping areas and close to the consular district and major Puxi exhibition venues. The hotel is situated just a 25 minutes drive from Hongqiao International Airport and 50 minutes from Pudong International Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Shanghai

Address: No.400 Panyu Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200052, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang , Xujiahui
Price Range: $88 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 588
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#99 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#113 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Shanghai staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Shanghai staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The new block is best”
 of 5 bubbles 804PeteR, Aug 29, 2016 | Read review
“go to another hotel”
  • chipped furniture
  • mildew
  • cracked ceiling
  • wallpaper with humidity problems
  • loose
  • tiny bathroom
 of 5 bubbles Silvioflies, Mar 4, 2016 | Read review
“Club rooms in the annexe building are the best. Huge bath and more recently upgraded.”
 of 5 bubbles LCM1305, Jan 17, 2016 | Read review
“Stay near back of hotel....car drivers over use their horns!”
 of 5 bubbles JoeA1963, Dec 15, 2015 | Read review
“Try getting a higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles SaketPandit, Jul 27, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay