We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Sofitel Shanghai Hyland

Show Prices
#49 of 4,324 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

919 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 614: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent the last two nights of my China holiday at the Sofitel on the 21st floor in a standard room. The room was a good size and the bedding extremely comfortable. The staff are very helpful and professional however lack warmth and friendliness. A welcoming smile at check-in wouldn't go astray and would make you feel welcome. The housemaid on... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank IreneMT_13
SofitelSHHyland, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review

Dear IreneMT_13, All of us at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland would like to offer our sincere thanks for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s experience is our primary concern. We are also delighted to learned that your particularly enjoyed the MyBed™... More 

Pauanui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a stopover and found that this hotel very comfortable. But would rate the service excellent. The food in the side bar was delicious, great wagu hamburger and chips!! A quiet room. I would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
SofitelSHHyland, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review

Dear Patricia B, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable comments on TripAdvisor. What a pleasure to read that you particularly appreciated our comfortable rooms, delicious wagu hamburger and incredible location in the heart of the city. Your kind words on the excellent service of teams are highly appreciate. I will definitely share your kinds... More 

Tehran, Iran
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very nice,clean and lovely hotel.good quality rooms and very good services.It is located in down town and shopping,metro,resturants and every thing is around you.For shopping,the best street is Nanjing road,in which the hotel is located and also you can find a wide range of food like italian food,burgers,japones food,and also very good chines massage.

Helpful?
Thank shahinmakui
SofitelSHHyland, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review

Dear shahinmakui, It is always a pleasure to read such positive comments regarding our guest experience, and thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland I'm delighted to learn that you had a great time while staying with us , and particularly appreciate our privileged location in the heart of Shanghai ,... More 

New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very well looked after by all the staff. I found the executive floor good value for money with easy check in and access to breakfast. Rooms were fine with good air conditioning and comfortable beds. Tv was poor quality reception but I believe these were being changed. Great location.

Helpful?
Thank bondi47
SofitelSHHyland, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review

Dear Bondi47, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback and for the fantastic rating following your stay at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland. I'm delighted to learn that you had a great time with us and particularly appreciated our Sofitel Club and Comfortable rooms. I'm also happy to read that you were well looked after by the team. I will make... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been traveling for long got some experience in hotel selections. This time I'm totally correct that not much local residents as priority that means hotel damage level is lower. The hotel is old, but everything for me being fine with this price. Location is good for shopping (not me though). Just 1 thing I don't like; no big pillows like... More 

Helpful?
Thank Spencer T
SofitelSHHyland, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review

Dear Spencer T, It is always a pleasure to read such positive comments regarding our guest experience, and thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. I'm delighted to learn that you particularly appreciate our privileged location in the heart of Shanghai and the professionalism of the team. I will make sure to share... More 

Griffith, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Apparently I was looking quite shabby as I arrived at the Nanjing Road entrance, where you need to take the lift to the lobby. "Toilet?" asked the elevator fellow, nodding towards the public loos. "No... hotel..." I replied as I dragged my suitcase and souvenirs behind me. It was all top-quality after that. I splurged on the Club-room and enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Penultim8
SofitelSHHyland, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review

Dear Penultim8, All of us at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland would like to offer our sincere thanks for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s experience is our primary concern. We are also delighted to learned that your particularly enjoyed our Sofitel... More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The place, the elevators, live performance, club lounge ..... anything and everything was nothing short of brilliant. Hotel staff is good and for a change hotel staff is English speaking. The best part is that it is on the East Nanjing Road, Metro rail is just 2 minutes walk. Overall, there is no reason why I wouldn't recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank RohitSharmaAlive
SofitelSHHyland, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review

Dear RohitSharmaAlive, It is always a pleasure to read such positive comments regarding our guest experience, and thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. I'm delighted to learn that you particularly appreciate our privileged location in the heart of Shanghai and our Sofitel Club. Your kind words on the helpfulness of the team... More 

Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was one of the high points of our stay in Shanghai for 4 nights. Service was just magnificent and nothing to worry about. The main road next to the entrance was nothing to worry about as the rooms must have been double glaze as we had no road noise at all. The staff we ever so helpful and nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Les W
SofitelSHHyland, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review

Dear Les W, Thank you very much for your wonderful review and fantastic rating regarding your recent stay with us. We did love reading about your delightful stay with us. Your compliments on the service, rooms and central location are highly appreciate .I will make sure that your praises will be passed on to the team, so all can appreciate... More 

jakarta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed this hotel which has good rooms, a very good breakfast and efficient staff. The location is good on East Nanjing Street next to a metro station and a straight 15-minute walk to the Bund. Public areas were pretty busy and the main reception is accessed via the lift which makes the first impression not too great but once inside... More 

Helpful?
Thank ianf22
SofitelSHHyland, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review

Dear ianf22, How delightful it is to read your kind words, thank you very much for sharing your review on TripAdvisor! I couldn’t be more pleased to read that you particularly appreciate our breakfast, efficient Ambassadors and also took advantage of our unbeatable location in the heart of Shanghai. I will make sure to share your feedback with all the... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This property has an excellent location and is an easy walk to the Bund and a variety of restaurants and shops. The design of the bathroom is surprising and depending on who I was traveling with could be fun or embarrassing.

Helpful?
1 Thank OrcasIslandDream
SofitelSHHyland, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland, responded to this review

Dear OrcasIslandDream, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sofitel Shanghai Hyland. I'm glad to learnt that you had an overall good experience with us, and particularly appreciate our unbeatable location in the heart of Shanghai. We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Kind regards, Morgane... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

408 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (346)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (158)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#30 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai
Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai
#54 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#24 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 2,236 reviews
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#26 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in People’s Square

Neighborhood Profile
People’s Square
People’s Square brings with it all the excitement you would expect from the town square of one of the biggest cities in the world. The area around People’s Square and People’s Park is always a abuzz with activity. Oceans of local and foreign tourists flow in and out of the area every day to see grand museums, go shopping and eat at some of Shanghai’s most storied food centers. Shanghai residents, meanwhile, live and work in the many residential and office high-rises. While much of Shanghai stays busy late into the night, this really is an area that never sleeps with glitzy nightclubs keeping people up until the wee hours of the morning.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland sits on Nanjing Road, in the city's commercial centre, making it a premier Shanghai hotel. This Central Shanghai hotel features 383 rooms including over 140 Sofitel Club rooms with access to the Sofitel Lounge. Additional facilities at our Shanghai business hotel include two restaurants, a coffee shop, bar, gymnasium, sauna, massage centre, and conference rooms for up to 400 delegates. Nearby attractions include The Bund, Peoples Square, and the Shanghai Museum. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel Shanghai Hyland

Address: NO. 505 Nan Jing East Rd, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Price Range: $114 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Shanghai Hyland 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sofitel Shanghai Hyland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland Hotel Shanghai
Accor Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Hyland Shanghai
Shanghai Sofitel
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#38 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#41 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#49 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#55 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#76 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay