We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Show Prices
#61 of 4,670 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
InterContinental Shanghai Expo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

659 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 360: English reviews
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here several times. Facilities always nice; room very comfortable; staffs are helpful. Choose this hotel as some time it is easier to grab a taxi here in the morning. Also, want to give them credit for their lobby restaurant; now have a noodle bar that can serve people who want to go for a simple meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita Y
Jennifer T, Event Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. So happy that you enjoyed the hotel’s wonderful location, next to the Huangpu River.Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. We hope to see you back soon. Joe Tai Event...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a lovely hotel in a quiet setting with exceptionally friendly staff who understand and speak English well. If your a good standing IHG member you may be able to get a really nice room upgrade depending on how busy they are and the upgrade is worth it, to a suite. I would do a suite upgrade rather than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank warreng999
Jennifer T, Event Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear warreng999, Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. So happy that you enjoyed the hotel’s wonderful location, next to the Huangpu River.Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. We hope to see you back soon! Joe...

Shenzhen, China
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I got very bad breakfast experience. The stuffs didn't serve you at all such as provide you coffee or hot water something. I saw them chatting each other during my whole breakfast. The food their is terrible seems they will stop serving breakfast after 10:00 but the hotel told it's 10:30.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank terrylK1694ZK
Jennifer T, coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear TerrylK1694ZK, Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I’m sorry if you were a little disappointed. I have communicated with restaurant manager and HR manager, we will enhance the staff training in order to avoid this happened again. Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. We hope...

Reviewed December 5, 2016 via mobile

All I needed during my trip: large room with lots of light, spacious bathroom with both a bath and a shower. Shower had a rain-shower as well. Breakfast served as a large buffet and had all kind of foods from Asian foods to Western kitchen. Great hotel and will go there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 646pimv
Jennifer T, coodinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear 646pimv, Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Shelley Fan Marketing Communications Department

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed December 2, 2016

I had as usual a good, satisfactory stay. All was to my satisfaction. Unfortunately I did not have enough time to enjoy the happy hours at the club executive lounge this time. It is one of the locations you can relax from business with a glass of champagne or drink or wine.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank p_coduri
Jennifer T, coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear p_coduri, Thank you for your comments after your recent stay. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. What a pity that you do not have fully time to enjoy our club lounge. However, I’m happy that you enjoyed the hotel’s wonderful location, next to the Huangpu River. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope...

Reviewed November 21, 2016 via mobile

Concierge were rude & not the least friendly. I asked to go to Hyatt on the Bund & the cab driver took me to Park Hyatt instead because the concierge had told him the wrong hotel! We asked one other concierge to take a group picture of us. He simply walked away because he was busy. One of us had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melly T
Jennifer T, coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear Melly T, Thank you for your comments after your recent stay. I'm so sorry that you were disappointed with us. I have already communicated with the executive management, and we will enhance the staff English training and awareness of active service, whatever for concierge or staffs in Basilico restaurant. I am so surprisedly that you had bad food in...

Reviewed November 13, 2016 via mobile

For Intercontinental Expo in Shanghai my opinion is that the hotel is located on the business part of the town Pudong area, however i would not prefer it in the future for some reasons. The rooms were cleaned every day and this is the good part, however the lobby area needs to be renovated and the breakfast buffet should also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Athina S
Jennifer T, coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear Athina S, Thank you for your comments after your recent stay. I'm sorry if you were disappointed with our service quality and quantity. I have already communicated with assist. director of F&B and front office, and we will do some adjustments in order to reach your expectation. I'm so sorry about your disappointment and thank you for your feedback...

jakarta,indonesia
Reviewed November 4, 2016

room is great, breakfast is sumptuous and lots of choice. Room service is great, waiting time around 30 minutes. Asking an empty bowl to be delivered to the room took almost 50 minutes and 3 times called... in all, it is a business hotel for Expo people, that is the conclusion.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arleta D
Jennifer T, Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear Arleta D, Thank you for your comments after your recent stay. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m sorry if you were a little disappointed. We will enhance staff training in order to reach your expectation. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Shelley Fan Marketing...

Beijing, China
Reviewed November 1, 2016 via mobile

i had a chance to stay at this new hotel in Shanghai EXPO area for a event. Great hotel from the hardware and staff service, for sure will choose to stay here again for my next trip to Shanghai. Just one point need to bring up to attention, water temperature is a bit low in the morning when taking a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leo z
Jennifer T, coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear Leo Z, Thank you for your kind feedback after your recent stay at InterContinental Expo. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have communicated with our director of rooms about the water temperature problem in the morning, and I’m sorry if you were a little disappointed. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope...

Shenyang
Reviewed October 26, 2016

The hotel itself is very nice, great location, easy to reach from HongQiao airport and walking distance to the Exhibition center. Staff is very friendly, especially the door man is super friendly and try to help for everything. Check in and check out very fast. This is now the first and only hotel i stayed where you get for breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Red_Chinese
Jennifer T, Coordinator at InterContinental Shanghai Expo, responded to this review

Dear Red_Chinese, Thank you for your comments after your recent stay. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m sorry if you were a little disappointed. I have already communicated with Room Director, and we will handle this issue as soon as possible. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you back soon....

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

490 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (445)
Viewed
View from Room (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (300)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
InterContinental Shanghai Puxi
#23 of 4,670 in Shanghai
715 reviews
Century Park
DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dapuqiao
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Riverside
Former French Concession
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
World Expo
Sheraton Grand Shanghai Pudong Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The new InterContinental Shanghai Expo hotel is the only international luxury hotel in Shanghai located adjacent to the 2010 World Expo site with impressive views of the Expo site, Huangpu River and city skyline. We offer personalized efficient Chinese service. “Better City Better Life” Expo theme is reflected in this lifestyle hotel through, the gardens, health club, historical villas and food & beverage concepts. The hotel is conveniently located to leisure and business areas with easy underground and bridge access around Shanghai. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Shanghai Expo

Address: 1188 Xueye Road (Xueye Lu), Shanghai 200125, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > World Expo
Price Range: $108 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Shanghai Expo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your InterContinental Shanghai Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Shanghai Expo Hotel Shanghai
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#60 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#76 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Shanghai Expo staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Mumbai
11 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Shanghai Expo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“River view”
 of 5 bubbles warreng999, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“facing the river has a better view of the city”
 of 5 bubbles arleta.darusalam, Nov 4, 2016 | Read review
“go for the higher floors and view towards the city (Pudong) with the skyscrapers”
  • bathroom with the huge bath tub
  • Living room of my corner suite on the 16th floor
  • Other side of the living room, with the sleeping room in the back
  • sleeping room with corner view
  • Huge bath in the bathroom
  • Living room with a view on the desk and the second toilet next to the entrance
  • View from my corner suite
  • Corner suite sleeping room on the 16th floor
 of 5 bubbles Tohimen, Oct 11, 2016 | Read review
“River views are very good”
 of 5 bubbles R6824XFjuana, Oct 6, 2016 | Read review
“choose the room with higher floor and river view, the view of Huangpu river is good. All the rooms are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles JoeZ631, Aug 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay