We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

L'otel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
L\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 63: English reviews
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I would give 5 stars to the hotel but when i saw the manager checks the clients plats i was shocked , there were one guy in reception that spoke english but he did not know what is a pineapple or eat .. The room is simple and clean , wifi is great and there is a wending machine with... More 

Helpful?
Thank noam135
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lotel is a very beautiful place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone. The staff are all very kind, genuine, and willing to help with anything. I have stayed at Lotel twice now, and it just keeps getting better and better. The rooms are beautiful, the food is tasty, and the location is a nice walking distance to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

I loved staying at Lotel. I am from the states and was slightly concerned with the language barrier, but I was able to communicate with the staff very well. I met people from all over the world that were also staying at Lotel, which was a great experience. Breakfast was amazing, they had a chef that would cook you eggs,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan M
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015

I have provided the same review on L'otel on another Website, but I felt I needed to repeat it here on TripAdvisor because this was where I had read the recommendation. I stayed in L'otel for a total of 15 days during my trip to Shanghai, Xi'an and Suzhou. I really enjoyed the nice environment within the hotel and its... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Moyin A
Kenneth Y, Manager at L'otel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your kind and extensive review. We're thankful to have happy guests like you. I can only say sorry for our late response but Suki definitely will get complimented as I expect she already has. Thank you so much and look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Los Altos Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

Stayed for 10 nights. Room was clean, smoking free room was really no smell, which is most important to me. Bed was so so but I was able to have good sleep on it. House keeping can be more professional. Although the bed was made everyday but floor was not vacuumed, cup was not washed. No coffee maker in the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank 10sidecude
Kenneth Y, Manager at L'otel, responded to this review

Dear guest, I apologise for the housekeeping's error back in October. Clearly no excuse for that. We will continue to strive for quality in our guest rooms. Your feedback has been extremely helping and we appreciate it. Thank you! More 

Malden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

This hotel had clean and modern rooms. The staff was friendly and most spoke some English. It is a fifteen minute walk to the train station but I did feel like it was in the middle of nowhere. If I were to stay in Shanghai again, I would look for something closer to the city center. Another bonus was that... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank whelanf
Kenneth Y, Owner at L'otel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind response. We will try and make ourselves a greater attraction to people even if they have to travel a little further! We appreciate your kind feedback and will always work harder to get better. Thank you More 

Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

Currently staying at this establishment. Located 1.6 km (around 15 minutes) from Shanghai South Train Station through a local neighborhood. The room: we have booked a regular room. The room itself is very very small, good for one occupant. Two (as we are) is pretty tight! No coffee (only at a charge). Bathroom is fine. Garden: The "famous" garden is... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank domra
Kenneth Y, Owner at L'otel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Maam, We're sorry that you had an unpleasant stay. We usually get positive feedback about our service and the warm heartedness of our staff. A lot of times things are conveyed with smiles and we try to teach our staff good body language even though their English does need improving. I would like to apologise for the wait upon... More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Nice, clean hotel. Stayed here three nights and am checking out this morning. Location a bit out of the way. I was able to walk to the underground station in 15 minutes. Staff was helpful. I am outgoing and friendly and they responded to me in kind. Room was very. small however up to date and extremely clean. I am... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank scottofhawaii
Kenneth Y, Owner at L'otel, responded to this review

Dear Scott, I'm just writing to say I'm thankful for your review sir. Hope to see you again soon. Room size is something we get a lot and we hope one day to make them a bit bigger! Thank you More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015 via mobile

Extremely disappointing stay. The staff was unbelievably rude and disrespectful - I have stayed in hundreds of hotels around the world, and I have never experienced anything like this. The entire staff should be fired - starting with the supervisor (who does not speak a word of English). And by the way - although the hotel is supposed to be... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank MayaNad
Kenneth Y, Owner at L'otel, responded to this review

Dear Maam, I'm responding to your review and I assume your travel partner's below. I am very sorry about the rude experience you had. We do our very best not to hire incompetent and rude staff as you said you had. Helen Xia has been working for our hotel for over 5 years. She is an experienced hotel manager and... More 

Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015 via mobile

We are posting this open letter to the hotel's Menager, since no one replied to our emails. To the Menager. I am currently staying at L'otel. I would like to file a complaint. Your staff is rude, incompetent, insulting and disrespectful. We have had only negative interactions with your staff. We are very disappointed. 1. People barely speak any English... More 

Helpful?
Thank MishaMints
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Starr Hotel
#111 of 4,320 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Hongkou
SSAW Hotel Boyang Shanghai
SSAW Hotel Boyang Shanghai
#154 of 4,320 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Express Zhabei Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
#211 of 4,320 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#120 of 4,320 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Jing An Temple
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
L'otel opened its doors in late 2008 as Shanghai's first totally non-smoking hotel, and one of the first to seriously pursue green living. It was the first in Shanghai to incorporate live plant walls, that not only improve air quality but are extremely easy on the eyes. It boasts a garden that is organically fertilized, MSG free food, energy saving LED light bulbs, hand ground soy-bean milk for breakfast, Simmons dual coil beds and even Tempurpedic pillows, proving you don't need to spend much or look far to find this hidden gem tucked away in the hustle and bustle of central Shanghai. Family run and owned, the pervading warmth and soulfulness brings guests a sense of community rarely found elsewhere. Come, see, and experience the L'otel for yourself. ... more   less 

Additional Information about L'otel

Address: No.385 Laohumin Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200237, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai South Railway Station
Price Range: $54 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'otel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your L'otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#106 Business Hotel in Shanghai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay