We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Fiji
Hotels.com
Priceline
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (716)
Room & Suite (159)
Dining (57)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 06/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Yasawa Island Resort & Spa
Updated 06/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.6
Value
4.3
Yasawa Island Resort & Spa is an exclusive retreat on one of the most remote and unspoiled islands of Fiji. Just 18 luxury bungalows are hidden among luscious tropical greenery, each only a few steps from a pristine, silky white-sand beach. Celebrated for its pristine location, Yasawa Island Resort & Spa has offered guests from around the globe unique, authentic and enriching travel experiences.
Read more
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Airport transportation
Spa
Gift shop
Public wifi
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Poolside bar
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Diving
Hiking
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Windsurfing
Fishing
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet

Location

Full view
Contact
Fiji
Getting there
Nadi Intl Airport69 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
389Reviews60Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 289
  • 46
  • 20
  • 14
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Carolyn V wrote a review May 19
Sydney, Australia2 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We were a group of 10 friends/5 couples staying at Yasawa in early May. We were warmly welcomed from Maggie's help at the airport getting us all together ready for our flight over on the caravan, to pick up from the runway, and welcome song at the reception area. The bures were huge and stunning, all located on the beachfront. The food at the restaurant was delicious and there was a good variety every day, with plenty of fresh seafood and options for the vegetarian and gluten free among us. There were activities to suit everyone every day, including snorkeling, diving, cave and village trips, volleyball, cava ceremony, private beach picnics, beach dinners, chilling by the pool, massages and spa treatments and every staff member we interacted with was friendly, warm and helpful, going above and beyond. The island itself is absolute paradise - clear turquoise waters, sandy beaches, cliffs, greenery... you'll never want to leave. Most importantly, the Yasawa team made it such a special experience. A huge thanks to Kerry, Mark, Aku, Marley, Onny and the Spa team, all the kitchen and bar staff, reception, and everyone else - too many to name! Vinaka vaka levu for an unforgettable holiday. You truly accommodated us a group whilst also looking after all of your other guests as couples, making it work for everyone. We had a brilliant time and would come back again every year if we could! Peace, smiles and dilo trees… sota tale
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
KLTSunshineCoast wrote a review Apr 2022
Sunshine Coast47 contributions26 helpful votes
We loved being with the family there, & electing to pay for everything inclusive, but the hotel lacks any refinement. She is a tired old girl. Our rooms were so shabby, & as for the villas tucked away beside the hotel, they were awful. Curtains hanging off, dirty cushions, we were surprised they were even being used. Family members were bitten alive by mosquitoes 🦟 too. Orders for food and drinks poolside were often forgotten or muddled up. Such lovely waiters, but totally struggled. The restaurants were lovely, & the food fantastic. Did Covid testing really well. Lovely ladies.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from James McCann, Owner at Yasawa Island Resort & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Bula, Thank you for your posting, but in reading your comments I wonder if you are talking about the correct resort or have your comments been posted incorrectly? All of our rates are all inclusive so you do not elect to pay for this. We do not have a traditional reception area - our guests checkin in a small lounge area so we don't really have a reception. We do not have any villas tucked away beside the hotel. the resort is only traditionally thatched Fijian bures. You refer to restaurants (plural) being lovely - we only have one restaurant. Vinaka, James McCann Owner Yasawa Island Resort & Spa
Read more
Bryan wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Upon arrival, the Staff was very warm and welcoming. This feeling continued throughout our stay. Whether while dining, swimming chatting, etc., the staff were the nicest people we have ever met! They are very willing and pleased to help whenever they can. We began to feel a part of the Yasawa family and not just guests. The room (Bure) was outstanding with all the amenities. In all of our travels, we have never seen and experienced such a beautiful place. Cannot think of anything we didn't like. We found that the sincere and contagious joy and happiness of the staff was incredible. We are definitely going back!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Get the Deluxe Bure in between the outdoor dining-bar area/pool and the Spa. Pack light. No need...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from James McCann, Owner at Yasawa Island Resort & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Bula Thank you for you wonderful thought - we appreciate you taking to the time to give us your feedback. Most of our wonderful local staff come from the local villages surrounding our resort and so they are really welcoming you to their home when you stay with us on Yasawa. This feeling comes through in their genuine warmth and hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back. Vinaka, James McCan Owner Yasawa Island Resort & Spa
Read more
KAnthony wrote a review Apr 2022
Tulsa, Oklahoma120 contributions61 helpful votes
+1
We booked the Honeymoon Burre, the only one with a private pool on its own private beach. This was AMAZING! It had a huge patio, infinity pool, outdoor shower, outdoor dining area, hammock, separate indoor living room, and a private beach surrounded by lava rock formations and mountains. It was a little slice of heaven. The resort provides pick up and drop off from this Burre to the rest of the resort by request due to its remote location. But the spa is a 15 minute beachfront walk if you prefer. Make sure to take advantage of the blue lagoon cave tour, the snorkeling trip as well as snorkeling off the beach which is amazing. You can also schedule a private beach picnic (they drop you off by boat on your own private beach and provide your food & drinks) as well as a private ocean front dinner. Finally, don’t miss the trip to the village! Sala, Lela, Joe and Adi at reception went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful! We saw Kerry, the new general manager, every day. She was always two steps ahead ensuring we were taken care of. Sita and Jerry in the restaurant greeted us with smiles every single day! They were genuinely warm and friendly. Smiga was a hoot! We loved having him as our tour guide for the village and blue lagoon cave. Last but definitely not least Neomi and Liz, our masseuses, were phenomenal!! They were key in our relaxation! We had an amazing time from the beauty of the land & sea surrounding us, to the food, and most importantly the staff who are native to Fiji and made us feel like family. They shared their stories, culture, and their village with us. It was a very sad goodbye when we left and we will not hesitate to return!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Be prepared to travel by helicopter or boat instead of the charter plane for your safety if the...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from James McCann, Owner at Yasawa Island Resort & Spa
Responded Apr 10, 2022
Bula Thanks for your thoughts and feedback The honeymoon bure is really amazing being on its own private beachfront with no neighbours for 300 metres, you are assured of privacy. Due to its private location and private pool - it is actually booked more by return guests than honeymooners. We are glad you were able to take advantage of the Complimentary activities including the famous Blue Lagoon Caves, private beach picnic and of course the visit to the village. This is without doubt the highlight for many of our guests along with the genuine personal interaction with all of our staff who come from the neighbouring villages on Yasawa. Although it is a long way from Oklahoma - we hope to see you back in Fiji one day. Vinaka, James McCann Owner
Read more
Aussiewanderer-10 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution4 helpful votes
The resort is looking extremely tired and as our fellow guests pointed out, needs a lot of work. It has a beautiful location, but the grounds need attention and furnishings in the foyer and restaurant are dark and dated, lacking that tropical feel. The paths to the bures are potholed and dirty and very slimy in the wet. Our bure itself was large and spacious, but the water pressure was abysmal, making hair washing difficult and there was a leak in the toilet floor every time it rained. The thatch on the roof had broken down, exposing the white corrugated iron underneath, which looked pretty awful and the timber on the deck was grey and weathered. Because the resort is small, facilities are limited. There is only one pool, and one place to eat. There were only four other couples there during our stay, so we got to know each other well which was really nice. The owner of the Resort was there at the time of our stay but several of the guests expressed disappointment that he hadn’t come over during “Management Cocktail Hour” to say hello. Fortunately the rest of the staff at the Resort were very friendly and helpful and the meals were pretty good, although we were surprised that the Resort didn’t catch fresh seafood and the fruit was pretty sparse. Generally though we enjoyed our meals, which were all inclusive. (Alcohol is extra) Overall this resort did not live up the expectation of luxury. For such an expensive stay, I could not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from James McCann, Owner at Yasawa Island Resort & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Bula Vinaka, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of your stay. Your stay at the resort corresponded with some awful weather that the entire Australia and South Pacific region experienced due to the La Nina weather pattern this year, including floods, cyclones and the underwater volcanic eruption in Tonga. The resort is primarily a sun destination with a large amount of complimentary motorised and non-motorised water sports, activities, trips and tours. When the weather was so poor it was very difficult to do many of these activities due to weather and safety considerations. The resort has been doing many on-going updates and improvements post covid and continues to do so. Unfortunately, you were in one of the only remaining bures that had not had its grass roof rethatched by the local villagers – due to the weather earlier this year. The large Mahogany wooden decks of the bures are not treated and so do naturally grey over time. Thank you for your positive comments on our staff and meals. The resort actually purchases fresh fish, lobster, crab and squid from the local fishermen at least 3 times a week so the seafood is abundant and always fresh. We also get root crops and fruit from the local farmers, as much as possible. When I am at the resort I always try to say hello to guests but it is not always possible so my apologies for not getting to meet you. Thank you for your thoughts. Vinaka, James McCann Owner Yasawa Island Resort & Spa
Read more
Andrew J wrote a review Jan 2022
Sydney, Australia7 contributions14 helpful votes
My wife and I have just spent the most amazing time away at Yasawa Island. The accommodation was really nice and spacious. The food is out of this world. We both met 2 of the Chef's who gave us cooking demonstrations on 2 seperate day's. The food is cooked fresh and they use mostly local ingredients. We both have travelled to Fiji around 8 times but this holiday was out of this world. The staff who mostly come from the local village really made our experience amazing. The spa treatments we had every day from Mariah and her staff were so amazing. All the staff get to know your name and make your holiday a experience you will never forget. Marley and Smiga from the boating and Kava drinking ceremony's are both real charters and made our holiday something we will never forget.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Recommend villa 6
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes1 Save
Helpful
Share
Response from James McCann, Owner at Yasawa Island Resort & Spa
Responded Jan 24, 2022
Bula Vinaka, Thank you for your your feedback of your recent stay with us and we are so happy you enjoyed your vacation. Most of our staff come from the local village of Bukama and so a stay with us means you become part of our Yasawa family, we hope this translates through the service which is genuine and heartfelt. I have passed on your wonderful comments to Smiga, Mariah, Marley and all the team. We hope to see you back on Yasawa again in the future. Vinaka James McCann Owner Yasawa Island Resort & Spa
Read more
Enrique Alonso H wrote a review Jan 2022
Sydney, Australia59 contributions35 helpful votes
First of all, the poor rating is not a reflection on the staff from the local Yasawa villages who were gracious hosts in their slice of paradise they call home. They are the ones that would always bring smiles to our faces during our stay. The management of the resort however, lack communication skills and do not try to help their guests when things go wrong. Weather issues forced us to delay our arrival by one day into the island. Lack of communication from management and staff in Nadi regarding this forced us to stay a night in Nadi - at our expense. This then caused several couples to all be affected the following day to get in and out of the island. Understand that you cannot control the weather, especially during the wet season, but the non existence of a Plan B, Plan C or even Plan D made this situation a nightmare. After getting written confirmation that it would all be sorted whilst in the island for management, this was not the case. The constant shrugging of responsibility from the General Manager at the resort affected the ability of the 5+ couples who were all affected by the "free transfers" into the island to truly relax and unwind at the resort. Whenever pressed for answers about if we were going to pay for transport that was included in our all inclusive stay, the answer we kept getting was "it will be sorted" "relax, you are in Fiji" "don't worry, it will all be taken care off" Nothing truly was taken care off as now we are all back home, battling with insurance companies to receive partial refunds for this additional costs. For example, two couples on the same helicopter flight got quoted two completely different costs. One got to travel for free, while the other couple have had to pay $FJ1900 for exactly the same service. Having said all, the food was good, the mocktails were excellent. The local staff do make you feel part of their family, and they succeed. The management of this resort have a lot of work to do, and for that reason I would not recommend staying here. I'm sure that the majority of guest during our stay while at the resort are of the same opinion.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from James McCann, Owner at Yasawa Island Resort & Spa
Responded Jan 24, 2022
Bula Vinaka, Thank you for your feedback. I have just returned to Fiji and am shocked by some of the feedback on our former management team – who are no longer working at the resort. My apologies for the disruption caused to your vacation by the horrible weather. During the latter part of December and into January Fiji experienced terrible weather conditions with Cyclones, the Tongan Volcano eruption and subsequent Tsunami warning and just horrendous wet weather. It is during these times that communication is essential – it seems we did not do nearly enough to be clear in our feedback to guests. Travel into and around Fiji during these few weeks was very challenging, with many travel options to all the islands including planes, boats and helicopters cancelled or severely disrupted and even flooding stopping access to Nadi Airport. This included disruptions to the flight schedule of the national Airline Fiji Airways. Our team were working under very stressful conditions to alter travel itineraries as best they could - not always successfully. I offer these thoughts not as an excuse but just as a background to the tremendous difficulties faced at that time. We are truly sorry that this impacted your stay with us. Thank you again for your feedback. Vinaka, James McCann Owner Yasawa Island Resort & Spa
Read more
Robert M wrote a review Jan 2022
6 contributions3 helpful votes
It’s with a heavy heart that I write this review. On one hand Yasawa Island resort will live in my memories forever as my partner and I got engaged during our stay, which was absolutely magical. On the other, the management of this venue is its downfall, and completely overshadowed the enjoyment of our visit. My partner and I booked via booking.com an all inclusive stay, which much to our surprise also included transfers to and from Nadi airport. When we arrived at the airport for our scheduled time we were greeted by Maggie, who had been communicating with us for transfer arrangements. We were told that the flight had been cancelled as the airstrip on Yasawa was waterlogged, but a helicopter had been organized. We were none the wiser, it seemed like standard process, and we started boarding procedures, and met a couple who we would be sharing the helicopter with. We were then advised of an additional cost, but we explained that flight transfers were included, but we were dismissed and told “we will sort it out with Andrew (General Manager) when you get there” When we arrived we were greeted with a lovely welcome song from the local staff, who were genuinely excited to have tourists at their island. Nothing was mentioned about the helicopter, and additional costs, so we began our stay, and explored this piece of paradise. As the days progressed the feeling with many groups was the inconsistent message about the flight transfers, and confrontations that exiting guests were receiving with additional costs of up to $1,500 placed onto their bills, even though they also had included flight transfers. Our whole stay was consumed by not knowing how we were going to leave, and there was next to no communication about this. When we requested more information, we were dismissed and told “its a constantly moving target”, and we would know on the morning of departure. We were charged additional for our flights when we checked out, but advised that we should follow up a claim through our insurance. It seems this resort relies on travelers to cover the cost of their incompetence, and false advertisement. Every couple / group who stayed at the same time as us were charged for their “free flights”. I have since read many reviews where previous customers have had similar situations. The owner clearly takes zero responsibility for offering a service that will not be fulfilled in wet season, so this truly is a buyers beware scenario. Food was great Accommodation was great Housekeeping was fantastic Activities staff were fantastic Location was outstanding Management was terrible.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from James McCann, Owner at Yasawa Island Resort & Spa
Responded Jan 22, 2022
Bula Robert, Thank you for taking your time to give us your constructive feedback. Firstly, congratulations on choosing our resort to get engaged, we wish you all of our Lolomas. I am thankful for your positive comments about your stay and your very positive review of our Food, Accommodation, Housekeeping and we are also grateful that you have taken the time to give us some constructive comments on our transfers. The round trip plane transfer on our scheduled 2pm flights are included complimentary in most of our packages. It is not accurate that all guests were charged for additional transfer costs during their stay, this is done very reluctantly and only when the airline cancels flights due to operational or safety concerns. The whole of the South Pacific is currently experiencing a La Nina weather pattern which has resulted in much wetter conditions than normal, including 2 cyclones and the most recent volcanic eruption in nearby Tonga with the associated weather and a Tsunami warning. This has even made travel into Fiji at that time by Fiji Airways challenging on some days due to these abnormal conditions. This year has been particularly challenging as there are currently no Seaplanes in operation in Fiji nor is the Yasawa flyer high speed catamaran that operates as an emergency back-up for us. So, until these are both back on line at the start of April we have been in the unusual position of very limited options for our clients, this is not normally the case. We have been sending to all clients prior to their arrival into Fiji, details on these possibilities and I note that we forwarded this advice to you the week prior to your arrival. We do try to be as transparent as possible to give guests as much advanced knowledge of these current challenging conditions. Our scheduled Flight departure time and airline details are subject to change, due to weather and safety concerns of the airline. In the event of inclement weather, the airline reserves the right to offer alternate aircraft or cancel flight service for safety reasons. In the unlikely event of changes of aircraft, this may result in an increase in fares quoted from the airline, and these increases will be passed on to guests. In the event of flight change/cancellation, we will work with guests to arrange for alternative transfer options including, in rare cases, boat transfers. We have taken on board your thoughts and have immediately improved and clarified our communication further with guests, so the position on upgraded flights is much clearer. As this La Nina weather pattern starts to dissipate, we are already seeing the return of blue skies, sunshine and much more “Normal” conditions. Thank you again for your feedback. James McCann Owner Yasawa Island Resort & Spa
Read more
Paul L wrote a review Mar 2021
Sydney, Australia29 contributions13 helpful votes
Pricey, but You Pay for what you get, my wife, 1 year old daughter and I went during there once a year family time all inclusive in Dec- jan 2020 and we were impressed. Once our chartered flight with island hoppers landed we were transported through the jungle in a mini van hot and sweaty to the resort, it was like something you would watch on discovery chanel travelling up and down this dirt road mountain for 20 minutes to be brought to 5 star result resort that in the end you didn’t want to leave. Staff, service, bungalows, breakfast, lunch, dinner, deserts and resort itself was everything you would expect from 5 star resort yet Ridiculously remote, everyday we had a beach to ourselves, some days we thought we were the only ones there. New Years celebrations were impressive for an island. We strongly recommend putting this one on your list. We Look forward to our next time there again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from James McCann, Owner at Yasawa Island Resort & Spa
Responded Mar 14, 2021
Bula, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your thoughts from your stay back in 2019. The 2km (1 1/4 mile) journey from the airport to the resort is the first part of the adventure of staying with us. The fact that we are the only commercial development in the entire Northern Yasawa area means that you can have one of our 11 private beaches to yourself during your stay. Clients come to us to get away from the pressures of life and this will become even more important as we start to get the ability to travel again soon. Exclusiveness and remoteness in a small boutique setting is what we have been offering now for over 30-years - these things will be especially important to travellers in the post Covid future We hope we can welcome you back to the resort soon. Vinaka, James McCann Owner Yasawa Island Resort & Spa
Read more
travelling_em54 wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom60 contributions63 helpful votes
The stay at Yasawa Island Resort was phenomenal, the staff were so friendly and accommodating, food was delicious with such great choice and variety each day. We stayed in a beachfront bure and the view was so worth it! We enjoyed the day trips to the caves and the beach picnic. We just wish we stayed longer to enjoy the resort more.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from James McCann, Owner at Yasawa Island Resort & Spa
Responded Aug 24, 2020
Bula, Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. In these troubled times - Yasawa has been socially distancing for over 30-years and our unique location lets our guests unplug and experience barefoot seclusion. Thank you for your thoughts on our food and activities - we look forward to welcoming you back to our little piece of paradise. Vinaka, James
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$835 - $1,394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
yasawa island hotel yasawa island, yasawa island resort
LOCATION
FijiYasawa IslandsYasawa Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Yasawa Island Resort & Spa
What are some of the property amenities at Yasawa Island Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Yasawa Island Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Yasawa Island Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Yasawa Island Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Yasawa Island Resort & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Yasawa Island Resort & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Yasawa Island Resort & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.