We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Matamanoa Island
Post
Inbox
Search

Matamanoa Island Resort

Save
Matamanoa Mamanuca Group, 9729 Fiji
6 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
$252
View Deal
CheapTickets
$252
View Deal
Agoda.com
$283
$215
View Deal
SAVE $68
Travelocity$252
Trip.com$283
Expedia.com$253
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2322)
Room & Suite (466)
Pool & Beach (388)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Matamanoa Island rated 4 star, is an intimate and secluded, adults only Fijian Resort. We are set in the beautiful Mamanuca Islands approximately 30 kilometers west of Nadi International Airport - experience a true gift of nature. The Island boasts a volcanic cone jutting out of the azure waters of this unspoiled marine sanctuary. Clad with native bush and palm trees, the brilliance of the vegetation contrasts magnificently with the white curved sandy beaches and pristine coral reefs. Combined with nature, we have created a haven for those who want to relinquish the pressures of a busy lifestyle. This is for those who dream of peace and tranquility. To achieve this special atmosphere, Matamanoa Island Resort has adopted a year round policy of not permitting day-trippers or children under the age of 16 years.
Read more
Property amenities
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Airport transportation
Spa
Adults only
Public wifi
Paid wifi
Paid internet
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Diving
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Concierge
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View

Location

Full view
Contact
Matamanoa Mamanuca Group, 9729 Fiji
Getting there
Nadi Intl Airport26 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1,261Reviews108Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 787
  • 304
  • 95
  • 47
  • 29
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
It is a very small island, but it is very nice and chic. The resort is very clean, no bugs at all, you don't need to worry about bugs or mosquitoes. The service is great! They provide flowers to each lady on each meal. During dinner, they provide nice local song/dance shows. The WIFI is very good. and All the people are very nice and helpful. The dive center there is the best. There are many hiking trails around, all of them well designed, the view is awesome! We will come back again! Really love it.
Read more
after spending 5 nights at this resort, we didn't want to leave. The staff were friendly and often addressed us by name and our beachfront bure was very spacious and clean. There was a daily welcome ceremony "Bula Time" to introduce new guests and farewell those departing the next day. The food was good and activities were varied enough to keep us busy (when we wanted to be that is). Unlike some reviewers, we were more than happy not to have TV or WiFi in our room as that was the whole point of the trip .. to get away from everything and unwind.
Read more
Best part of this resort: you can't beat the views. It's a small resort (50 ish rooms) that is the only thing on this small island. The rooms are small; the property could use some sprucing up overall. There's only one restaurant/bar opened only specific hours for the 3 meals. The menu has enough choices to ensure you're eating something different if you're there for 3-4 days. There's no TV or wifi in the rooms; only in the single lobby unless you're staying in one of the villas. The hotel provides daily activities like picking coconuts off trees, basket weaving lessons, etc to give the guests something to do as there is nothing else on the island. of course, you can take boats out to snorkel, dive, island hop etc. The staff is super nice and friendly (you actually get tired of returning the ubiquitous "Bula" over and over again). There is no gym per se; it's got those metal monkey bars and similar that you would see in a park. There is no spa per se as there is no physical building but they do offer spa services in these alcoves along a path where you can enjoy a massage with a gorgeous view of the ocean - i highly recommend that. Overall, this is a place I would recommend if you want to just sit around and read a book by the pool for a few days while getting a massage or two and enjoying some nice simple food. If you want more action, you'll want to pick a bigger resort on a bigger island.
Read more
Response from SouthPacificIsland, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Vinaka
Read more
I’m always bemused by negative reviews of a venue to which I have had a fantastic experience. Everyone has different expectations I suppose. Our experience was very positive. Having just been married at the Mariott Momi Bay we wanted to experience an island resort. The resort can be expensive and we had the exact same dates / room type for 5 nights with flights varying up to $2k or 40%. So ones experience can, I suggest, alter depending on perceived value. From the warm welcome coming onto the island, to the constant Fiji smile, continuing to the excellent staff, we give the place a 10/10. Admittedly we did not do diving / snorkeling so maybe check other reviews for that. On one night there was a cocktail party at sunset on the beach with canapés / snacks, drinks and a bonfire. Everything was encouraged to meet the staff . We had a Georgia chat with the sous chef. I suggest to taking ear plugs as the native birds night cry is likened to that of a baby and can be loud. It took us one night to adapt. The food was also top notch. We tend to have a large late breakfast then just dinner. The dinner menu was varied. I was delighted to met couple from all over the globe. China, Japan, Spain, Italy, USA to name a few. This is not a cheap resort but you get what you pay for.
Read more
The best part about this resort are the people who work there. They welcome you warmly and it is obvious that they all get along so well. By the end of my trip I felt like one of the Matamanoa family. The music was special, thanks to a visitor who sang with the island band and entertained me and the other guests alike. Some people complain about the wifi only being available in the public areas and not in the rooms, but I think they are missing the point. It forces you to disconnect from the online world and get in touch with the real world of people and experiences. As someone who runs their own business, I was grateful not to have to work when I was there. I needed it. The beach is amazing and the infinity pool has an beautiful view of the ocean and surrounding islands. Bula to all the staff there, I miss my new family already.
Read more
Response from SouthPacificIsland, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Vinaka
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$220 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
matamanoa island hotel matamanoa island
LOCATION
FijiMamanuca IslandsMatamanoa Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Matamanoa Island Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Matamanoa Island Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Matamanoa Island Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Matamanoa Island Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Matamanoa Island Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Matamanoa Island Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Matamanoa Island Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Matamanoa Island Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.