We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plantation Island Resort

Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,452 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Plantation Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,438: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

IMPORTANT- This island is a cash free resort, meaning that all things purchased get billed to the room, and you must pay your bill the night before you leave. I recently visited Plantation Island Resort with my grandparents and my younger brother and sister, and it was by far my favourite holiday I have been on. We spent 7 nights... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank maddis0n88
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Thank you for the review, and we are delighted that you all managed to do so much and really make the most of the Island and all our service and facilities - in particular Granddad! Appreciate the feedback on the food and entertainment too. We agree, Fijians and our staff in particular are beautiful people... Look forward to welcoming... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Apart from a hiccup upon arrival with our rooms (we booked and paid for poolside rooms, and staff gave us non-poolside rooms but this was able to be rectified after we complained) the service we received was fine. Everything is a little outdated and the food is overpriced but the beautiful surroundings made up for it, in my opinion. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mel_Robb
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Mel Apologies for the hiccup, however glad we got it sorted quickly. Take your point re the young people, it is though a matter of different timings as we can often have many in your age group... Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic family holiday destination. We spent 7 nights in a 2 bedroom bure with two young kids. The rooms were very spacious & clean. The whole experience from start to finish was brilliant. There is so much to do for all ages. Our kids (aged 1 & 2) loved the kids club & outdoor playground. The nanny/babysitting service is excellent.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank maire_ryan1
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Maire Great to read that you all had a great time here at Plantation Island Resort, and got some "couple" time! Hope to see you back soon... Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager More 

Abel Tasman National Park, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I knew it was a 3 star pace when I booked it through an agent - not something I do very often, but it has been a busy year – but the prices feel more like 4 star plus even for Fiji. You get a few things free – like use of kayaks, broken flippers, old snorkels and masks and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank TheHendrys
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula From reading your review it seems you have more concerns about the behaviours of fellow Guests then your time with us, we cannot be held responsible for those behaviours or the peak times that most Guests seem to want to dine at the Buffet. I can assure you that at all times we endeavour to keep pricing to reasonable... More 

Coomera
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Being our 3rd year to Fiji we thought we would try Plantation Island. You know that feeling you get when you walk in the door at home and you just know things aren't good and the vibe is terrible? Well this was Plantation. This place totally lacked the warmth we had come to expect from a Fiji holiday. I think... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 267matt
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Matt It is regretful that you didn't stay and allow us to repair whatever it was that upset you on your arrival. Please feel free to let me know the details if you wish, my email is gm@plantationisland.com Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I start by saying that had our visit to PIR gone without hiccup then we would have had no issues. It is a 3 star resort and it has the feel of a 3 star resort - a bit rough around the edges but overall not bad at all. However, we had a number of hiccups that left our group... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Toufalheed
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Thank you for the feedback and observations. it is great to read that you had a wonderful holiday here at Plantation Island. We are very willing to admit when we make a mistake, as we learn from acknowledging them and the process of rectifying them. Requests such as rooms near each other are taken seriously and every endeavour taken... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I travelled with my parents and my 3 year old daughter and had the most amazing time! It is catered towards kids and is also the most beautiful setting ever! We hired the Bula bikes for the duration of our stay to get around and rode them all over the island to check it all out- I'd highly recommend getting... More 

Helpful?
Thank kristenblack
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Kristen Great to see that you all enjoyed your holiday and the resort, especially as three generations of your family got to share such time together.... Looking forward to your return. Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great place to take the family, we travelled wig 6 & 8 year olds and had a Two Bedroom Bure overlooking the water. Rooms were reasonable and clean, serviced daily and fresh towels aplenty. Only problem with the Bure was the shower pressure. Out Hand Basin had more pressure than the shower. Shower was an issue. Food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mick A
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Congratulations, another one bits the dust! Glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you back soon....maybe for the Wedding? Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager More 

Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location is absolutely stunning. Buffet is hit and miss, one night it was fantastic next night was almost inedible. Staff weren't very friendly. Hiring bikes was a fun way to see the island and I highly recommend. But the kids club was great. And is the main attraction to this resort, our daughter loved making the tie dye tshirts, she... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sattsy2323
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula, and thanks for the review.... We agree Kids Club really is great, glad your daughter enjoyed it. Vinaka Ross Greenaway General Manager More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice Place for a family.Fijian's are a lovely community We had a beach front garden bungalow. The Bungalows are nice and comfortable, but could do with a little bit of maintenance externally. Kids Club was great for our child. There are bikes to hire and ride around the island, can highly recommend doing this. There is also an inflatable water... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melinda K
PIR-management, General Manager at Plantation Island Resort, responded to this review

Bula Melinda Thank you for the review, and feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and Kids Club! Sorry for the mistake at Black Coral, we trust it was a one off mistake on our side. We don't offer self contained accommodation and are a full service resort, and as such Bures are not equipped for self... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,057 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1481)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (337)
Viewed
Room/Suite (139)
Viewed
Dining (104)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (147)
Viewed
View from Room (136)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (6)
Viewed
Other (566)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (456)
Viewed
1 Bedroom Garden Terrace Room (58)
Viewed
2 Bedroom Garden Bure (55)
Viewed
Amenities (59)
Viewed
Beach (51)
Viewed
Beachfront Bure (52)
Viewed
Kids Pool (5)
Viewed
Oasis Pool (17)
Viewed
Ocean Pool (20)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Studio Garden Bure (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (120)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (45)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malolo Lailai Island
2.8 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
4.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 stars 600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 stars 735 reviews
11.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
15.4 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
5.0 of 5 stars 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range: $151 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay