We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plantation Island Resort

Fiji
9 people are viewing this hotel
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Booking.com
$216
View Deal
Trip.com
$286
$196
View Deal
SAVE $90
Agoda.com
$200
View Deal
Orbitz.com$286
Expedia.com$215
Travelocity$286
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2128)
360
Panoramas (21)
Pool & Beach (598)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality!
Read more
Property amenities
Wifi
Pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Babysitting
Indoor play area for children
Paid wifi
Paid internet
Internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Diving
Golf course
Tennis court
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Great View
2,014Reviews170Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 683
  • 763
  • 298
  • 151
  • 119
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+1
Stayed in a family Bure 319 for 2 days. Awesome people who made you feel very at home the moment u step onto the island and when you leave. Things can be a bit slow on request from reception and concierge but we have learnt to embrace Fiji Time and go slow on the holiday... Beach was clean and kid friendly and they had pools to use too. Buffet can be better though and kids below certain age eat free. Bure was nice and clean with fans and cold aircon. No disturbances from insects or whatsoever. Water from shower was also hot when needed.
Read more
It’s a shame that a resort on a beautiful island chooses to burn its waste next to the resort causing black choking smoke to affect the whole island. We were uncomfortable going outside, we could not dry any clothing and persons from the resort next door were not very impressed. After day 4 of this we told the ministry of health.
Read more
+1
OK. I've got to start this review addressing the negative review that follows mine. The waterpark is only open when it's high tide due to the depth of the water. Simply, at low tide the water is too shallow to be safe. This is the reason it is not open all day. This was our third visit to Plantation Island Resort and we cannot wait to be back again in 2020. What's so good about it? First up, it's a stunning location. Clear waters, beautiful beach and plenty of space. You won't find this in Port Denarau. This is also an authentic Fijian experience with beautiful people, warm service and a team that will go out of their way to make sure you have an enjoyable holiday. It's interesting to read the negative reviews about it not being 'up to scratch'. If you want everything to be perfect and 'just like home' then it's best you stick to the well-known brands at Port Denarau or stay in NZ or OZ. Plantation Island isn't for you. The resort has always said it is a '3.5-star resort in a 5-star location' and this is exactly what you'll find. Plantation Island Resort is the real deal - full of gorgeous Fijian people who will welcome you warmly and get to know you and your family. Just make sure you take the time to get to know them too. You'll see the same happy faces, in the same places each day. Say Bula and find out their name. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well equipped. I also love that there is no TV. You won't need it. If you're a return visitor you'll receive free wifi. Since our last visit, there's been a big push on reef conservation at the resort. It's now home to three marine biologists who not only do amazing work behind the scenes but also do daily guest activities. We worked with them to build fish houses, plant coral and the most exciting - searching and pulling out the coral-eating Crown of Thorns off the reef. This is a fabulous family resort - a short trip from the mainland, four pools, a calm beach, water sports/tours and plenty of space. Best of all though, are the amazing people! Thank you all for another fabulous holiday and we cannot wait to see you again in 2020!
Read more
+1
Deception ! This hotel says on his web site this is paradise. This is clearly not ! This is dirty, noisy, food is nothing special (you can find much better anywhere in Fiji). The price for WiFi is totally unacceptable (15$ per day). We have been in other resort very far away from main island in Yasawa isLand and wifi was free. Who pays for wifi in 2019 ??? They say they provide you pool towels but we didn’t have for an entire day. The area around pools is full of concrete : This is bad looking , hot , and dirty and dangerous for kids. The waterpark is supposed to be open the entire day. But it’s only open one or two hours per day.... You pay for breakfast ( food very very soso) each time you come and during your breakfast they come and think you didn’t pay and make you some comments. Very depleasant people, very depleasant place . After 2 weeks just wonderful in Fiji, this last experience is so bad ...
Read more
Response from PIR-management, Director of Sales at Plantation Island Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Bula laura200120, Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at Plantation Island Resort. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your holiday. Plantation Island Resort is a 3 star Resort on a remote island, they are very few (if any) 3 star resorts in the South Pacific that offer free wifi to their guests. The 4 and 5 star Resorts can afford to build the Wifi charges into their room rates, whereas we offer it as an extra fee and this is clearly listed on our website. The Inflatable Water Park is closed during low tide for the safety of our guests. Depending on the tides in any given month, the water park can sometimes remain open for most of the day. We do not advertise anywhere that the water parks will be open "all day". Once again we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your holiday and that you felt that Plantation Island Resort was not for you. Warm Regards, Akshay Singh Director of Sales & Marketing
Read more
Plantation island is the perfect holiday for a young family. We stayed in a garden terrace room, it was big and clean, beds were comfy, bathroom seemed recently renovated, beautiful gardens all around. We hired the bula bikes for the whole week, this is a must as it was so fun and such a great experience being able to ride bikes around the stunning island. We dined at the buffet every night, Mexican night was a favourite but every night we thought the buffet was excellent. Our kids are 1 and 5 and the kids buffet suited them perfectly. My eldest loved kids club especially the talent show, limbo night & crab races but he really liked going in for the movie each night, we got babysitting twice for our 1 year old while we went out on the morning 1hr snorkelling trips the babysitting was easy and great. The morning snorkelling trips were great value, a nice quick boat ride and the most incredible snorkelling. Next time we will bring our own snorkelling masks as the gear is not great BUT it’s free to take the snorkelling gear from the resort. All the staff were incredibly friendly and kind. Big shout out to David at the cocohut for making awesome coffee everyday. We can’t wait to come back again!!!!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$167 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
plantation island hotel malolo lailai island, plantation island malolo lailai, plantation island resort, island plantation resort
LOCATION
FijiMamanuca IslandsMalolo Lailai Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
165
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing