We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown

Show Prices
#16 of 66 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 156: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had ground floor room which was great for us- no lift. The rooms are very large and have a full refrigerator and a small cooking top and a microwave with cutlery. You can buy basic breakfast and food stuff at the store on the ground floor if you wish as there is no breakfast. We did not mind no... More 

Helpful?
Thank October201059
ManagerX1, Manager at Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown, responded to this review

We're thrilled to read about your great stay at Candlewood Suites Downtown-Mobile. We are glad you were impressed with your spacious room which had all the comforts of home and the great value we offer. It’s also pleasing to know that our facilities were to your satisfaction. We hope your wonderful experience will bring you back to stay with us... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms were nice and clean. The only complaint is $8 per night parking. The parking should be included, should not have to pay to park and walk to a different lot. Would be nice if they offered a breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Lori H
ManagerX1, Manager at Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest at the Candlewood Suites Downtown-Mobile. We are glad to know you liked your clean room. We appreciate your comments about parking. With limited parking downtown, we are happy to provide private and off-street parking to our guests for a daily fee. We value your suggestion and hope to be of your service again. Jamie... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay, the room was excellent. The lighting was so much better than any place we have ever stayed. Loved the shower!! Water pressure was great and the sliding doors, no curtain!! The staff were a pleasure to work with!! Will stay again!!

Helpful?
Thank Shannon A
ManagerX1, Manager at Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown, responded to this review

Our sincere thanks for evaluating your recent stay. We're so glad you found your suite comfortable and it's great to know you enjoyed the shower. Relaxing and feeling at home is what the Candlewood Suites Downtown-Mobile is all about, and it makes us happy you had an exceptional stay. Thanks for being our guest, and we look forward to your... More 

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of most downtown attractions. It has convenient parking behind the hotel, at a price of $8 a night. It is attractive outside with a small swimming pool and covered patio. I was disappointed with the room. First, there was only one recliner and a desk chair to sit on. Second, the bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Randyinhsv
ManagerX1, Manager at Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and apologize you had problems with your suite. We take your feedback seriously, so thank you for letting us know. Our goal is to provide a relaxing and comfortable stay for every guest and we hope you will stay with us again, so we can ensure you have a better... More 

Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016

We stayed here two weeks ago for one night, with our dog. The location is perfect, right downtown with easy access to the interstates, but quiet as well. The staff was super friendly and helpful with our complicated reservations. We will definitely stay here again on our way to Florida.

Helpful?
Thank scholar_girl
ManagerX1, Manager at Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown, responded to this review

Our thanks for reviewing your recent stay with family at the Candlewood Suites Downtown-Mobile. It is great to know that you were so comfortable at our hotel, and you enjoyed our downtown location as well as the hospitality of our associates. I’m glad that they were able to resolve your issues. We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016

I stayed here primarily because they offered a government rate but I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was within easy walking distance of everything I needed, the room was huge, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I couldn't have asked for better. I really appreciated the free laundry facilities as well since I was on a long trip.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erica D
ManagerX1, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your terrific review! We enjoyed having you as our guest at Candlewood Suites Downtown-Mobile, and we are so glad you had a great visit. Thanks for the nice comments about our convenient location, our on-site facilities and staff. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in... More 

Hannibal, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016

I stayed one night as a result of the Renaissance Hotel over booking and then sending me here. Check in was friendly. The basic issue I have is that the room smelled of stale tobacco and was not clean. There were crumbs on the kitchen area floor and the carpet was stained and smelled of cigarettes. I never took my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob Y
ManagerX1, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown, responded to this review

We appreciate you sharing your candid comments. I want to personally apologize for completely missing the mark in attending to your guest room. Our Director of Housekeeping is already working to determine why our inspection procedures weren’t followed and will fine-tune where appropriate to prevent this from happening in future. We take pride in seeing to the smallest of details,... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

This place is definately recommendable! The rooms are spacious, clean and neat. Staff is friendly and welcoming. We found it especially convenient that you were able to BBque by the pool. They have gas grills that work exceptionally well. It is a really nice place, located right downtown Mobile. Everything cool is within walking distance. Check out "Dumbwaiter" restaurant if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim H
ManagerX1, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown, responded to this review

Tim, thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience at the Candlewood Suites Downtown-Mobile and for recommending us. It's great to hear you had a terrific stay, and that you were able to enjoy our facilities and amenities, especially our outdoor Gazebo Grill and complimentary Guest Laundry. We are also delighted to read that our downtown... More 

Paris
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016

I agree with other reviewers that this was an excellent find. I liked being able to borrow DVDs (for free) and the outside area by the pool was really nice. For the wheelchair users, I would add that I was really pleased with the accessibility features of the room, including being able to sit at the desk in a wheelchair.... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarieinParis
ManagerX1, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear about your great stay at the Candlewood Suites Downtown-Mobile. We love for our guests to feel comfortable and right at home, so we are happy to read that you enjoyed your well-kept accommodation along with the in-room amenities we provide. It is also pleasing to hear that you liked our service and clean facilities. We... More 

Montgomery
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016

Stayed here for 5 days for a Conf at the Convention Center. Room was clean and spacious. Amenities were good esp full size frig. Located on Royal St, hotel was walking distance from great restaurants, park, museums, and other historical landmarks. They have a loan center for things such as games, waffle irons, and blenders. You can also check out... More 

Helpful?
Thank FerlisaD
ManagerX1, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice feedback about your recent stay at the Candlewood Suites Downtown-Mobile while attending a seminar! We are happy to hear our location near the Convention Center worked out so well for you. We are delighted that you were impressed by your spacious suite with a fully-equipped kitchen and our amazing facilities. Having said that, we do... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
0.4 mi away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#7 of 66 in Mobile
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Downtown Mobile. 300 years old. Birthplace of Mardi Gras. Born to Celebrate. Candlewood Suites(R) Mobile Downtown is the only downtown all suite hotel. Right in the heart of downtown, it's an easy walk to Bienville Square, Mobile Carnival Cruise Terminal, GulfQuest National Maritime Museum of the Gulf of Mexico, Arthur Outlaw Mobile Convention Center, and Dauphin Street Entertainment District. Explore beautiful parks with large live oak trees, fountains, historical neighborhoods, fascinating museums, and an abundance of restaurants and entertainment of all types, just steps from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown

Address: 121 N Royal St, Mobile, AL 36602-3601
Location: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Price Range: $98 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites / Downtown Mobile Hotel Mobile
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mobile
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#11 Business Hotel in Mobile
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay