We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Straits Hotel & Suites

Traveler (611)
Room & Suite (162)
Pool & Beach (45)

About

#37 of 189 hotels in Melaka
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Straits Hotel & Suites conveniently located in the heart of Historical City of Malacca and UNESCO World Heritage site. It is just 2 mins' walk adjacent to shopping belt of Malacca where guest will enjoy easy access to shopping, entertainment, and dining destinations. The hotel offers 352 spacious of deluxe guest rooms and luxurious suites. Here you find everything that you need, from spacious accommodation to hi-tech meeting facilities and unrivalled shopping experiences. Whatever the reason for your stay, The Straits Hotel & Suites will take you to the next level of comfort.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Room service
Free parking
Restaurant
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
538Reviews
18Q+A
93Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 100
  • 215
  • 100
  • 66
  • 57
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
AVOID THIS HOTEL. everything is falsely advertised or they will lie to your face. 1. Receptionist Rika lied about free breakfast. Although i didnt book the room with breakfast, i was happy to know that there was breakfast provided during check in and i cancelled my breakfast
Read more
Response from SM_Dept, Manager at The Straits Hotel & Suites
Responded Mar 26, 2019
Dear ashweeng2018 Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable reviews in this forum. We regret to hear about your claims that everything is falsely advertised or that we will lie to our Guests face. As to clarify your following complaints :- 1. Receptionist, Rika lied about the free breakfast : We have checked your reservations done through Expedia and discovered that you have actually booked your room without Breakfast. We apologize for the inconvenience caused as our Staff has mistakenly identified your reservation. 2. You had ordered a bucket of beer at RM66 (Happy Hour price) from the Skydeck @ 23rd floor. You had consumed 1 bottle at the pool & the remaining was delivered to your room. We would like to apologize for the mistake and that you were not informed by our Staff of the room service charges prior to having the balance bottles delivered to your room and thereafter, the repeated visits to your room with amended bills. We have taken the necessary action to avoid the repetition of this sort. 3. You had been assigned 2 adjoining rooms instead of 2 bedroom family room. Kindly be informed that our family room is with an adjoining room which consist of a room with 1 king size bed and the adjoining with a twin bed or either both rooms with king size bed or both twin beds. No utensils are supplied in the rooms as no cooking is allowed. 4. Shower area in the bathroom area floods : There could have been a clog in the drainage but we have notified our Maintenance to have it checked. 5. Lift under maintenance : One of the Guest lift was under servicing at the time of your check-in. However, we do have another 2 guest lifts which is operational for the convenience of our Guests; 6. RM30 deposit for parking card : This is a requirement of the hotel. However the above deposit is refundable upon check-out. We appreciate your feedback as it will keep us improving to be better. Although you have indicated otherwise, we do hope to welcome you back should you choose to stay with us again in the future. Thank You
Read more
Very poor service. I try to call the operator and front desk more than 30 minutes and doesnot get an answer and after that they just pickup and on hold my call. The day before I call for an iron buat after more than 30 minutes the workers deliver it for me. Such a shame for a
Read more
Response from SM_Dept, Manager at The Straits Hotel & Suites
Responded Mar 18, 2019
Dear Arilamran Thank you for taking your time to share your valuable reviews in this forum. We regret to hear about your claim on the inefficiency of our Operator and also our Front Office staff with regards to the calls made to them for 30 minutes to be answered and then, put on hold. It has always been our normal practice that all calls will be answered within 3 rings and we were surprised that this has happened. Nevertheless, we will have this matter checked and rectified. As for the delivery of the iron to your room which took 30 minutes, it is a standard time required (approx.15 mins to 30 mins) as our Housekeeping will require to locate the item, wait for the lift and have it delivered to you. However, no complaints were received by our Front Office staff with regards to the above during your stay or upon your check-out. Neither did you provide us with full details of the date and time the request was made on both occasions, we were unable to define the cause of the hiccups more accurately. The experiences that you described are not characteristic of the level of service our hotel strives to provide and we apologise your stay was unsatisfactory. However, we thank you for your feedback will continue reviewing and improving our services.
Read more
The location os great. It is close to the mall and tourist attraction. The room was clean, quite, and comfortable. The staff was very kind especially Ms. Icha. There are many choices of breakfast with good tastes. I would happily stay at this hotel again.
Read more
Response from SM_Dept, Manager at The Straits Hotel & Suites
Responded Mar 10, 2019
Dear Tryanaelfita Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in this forum. We are glad that you had a good stay experience with us and we are certainly looking forward to your return the next time you visit Melaka. Once again, we Thank you for staying with us and have a good day.
Read more
+1
⚠️This hotel requires U to give them your address(I seriously don't know for what)& RM100 deposit on top of the heritage fee(RM2/room/nite)& tourism tax (RM10/room/nite),we asked our friend who stayed @ Hatten previously when she was in Malacca & she said that Hatten doesn't
Read more
Response from SM_Dept, Manager at The Straits Hotel & Suites
Responded Mar 12, 2019
Dear 986viviant Thank you for your review. Please be informed that we have read your feedback with much concern and have highlighted it to the Management for their attention. It was disheartening to hear of your experience during your stay with us and we sincerely apologize for our shortcomings which has affected your stay poorly. However, we’ve discovered that during your stay with us, these issues were not highlighted to our Front Office for their attention. As per your queries, kindly be informed that the deposit of RM100 is a standard procedure for our Hotel and it varies from one Hotel to another. However, the deposit is refundable upon check-out should there be no other miscellaneous charges incurred i.e. Room Service, Laundry, etc. We have noted your comments on the followings :- 1. No air-cond in the Hotel lobby & corridor : At the time when you were staying with us, both lobby & corridor air-cond were under going servicing, thus causing the areas to be warm; 2. Guest Lift : One of the Guest lift was under servicing at the time of your check-in. However, we do have another 2 guest lifts which is operational for the convenience of our Guests; 3. No refill during buffet breakfast : We apologize for the hiccup, but we were told that our Kitchen staff was already preparing for the refills when you highlighted them on this. And while this is being done by the Kitchen, the F&B staff proceed with their daily chores; 4. Shower door can’t close properly : Our Maintenance staff has been informed to get it checked and rectified; 5. Noises along the corridor : As the floor is also occupied by other Guests, the noises could have incurred from them. Only Guests have the access card to the floors; Once again, thank you for bringing this to our attention and we do hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better in the future. Please be rest assured that our guests' comfort is our top priority, and that your comments on our products and services will be taken seriously and steps have been initiated for improvements.
Read more
I got nice view from my room,and the front desk verry helpfull.miss Ricca,hooi,citra,yadi verry friendly,i enjoy it with them. Nice location and I will comeback again😇😇 And the swimming pool view is very nice.
Read more
Response from SM_Dept, Manager at The Straits Hotel & Suites
Responded Mar 10, 2019
Dear Nuryazhary Thank you for staying with us in the Straits Hotel & Suites and for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We are glad that our Team had taken good care of you during your stay with us and we are glad to know that you will visit us again on your next trip to Melaka. Once again, Thank you and hope to see you soon.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
$32 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaMelaka StateCentral Melaka DistrictMelaka
NUMBER OF ROOMS
352
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing