We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Straits Hotel & Suites

Traveler (606)
Room & Suite (162)
Pool & Beach (45)

About

#37 of 187 hotels in Melaka
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Straits Hotel & Suites conveniently located in the heart of Historical City of Malacca and UNESCO World Heritage site. It is just 2 mins' walk adjacent to shopping belt of Malacca where guest will enjoy easy access to shopping, entertainment, and dining destinations. The hotel offers 352 spacious of deluxe guest rooms and luxurious suites. Here you find everything that you need, from spacious accommodation to hi-tech meeting facilities and unrivalled shopping experiences. Whatever the reason for your stay, The Straits Hotel & Suites will take you to the next level of comfort.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Room service
Free parking
Restaurant
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
533Reviews
18Q+A
93Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 100
  • 212
  • 99
  • 66
  • 56
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Love the ambience, location at the centre of melaka which near to attractions place, malls and cultural place in melaka (walking distance). Good food especially nasi lemak 👍🏻. Surrounding by restaurants and Starbucks. Definitely will go back if I stay in Melaka for family
Read more
Response from SMD30, The Straits Hotel & Suites Management at The Straits Hotel & Suites
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Tmirian, Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Melaka. We are indeed very humbled by your lovely comments and we glad to know you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back and definitely will share your positive comments with the team to keep them inspired. In the meantime, be sure to follow us on Instagram and Facebook @thestraitshotelandsuites for new updates and promotions. Once again, thank you for staying with us. Have a great day ahead and be safe wherever you are :-)
Read more
The room that we stayed wasn’t ready- the room floor still wet, no face towel or bathroom mat. Need to call and asked them to deliver to the room. Lights in the room was too deem. The most important that the aircond in our room was not working whole night! we checked-out early
Read more
Response from SMD30, The Straits Hotel & Suites Management at The Straits Hotel & Suites
Responded 6 days ago
Hi Ms zz81zz, thank you for highlighting your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. First of all, we sincerely apologize on behalf of the housekeeping team due to having overlooked cleanliness and room readiness during peak dates. We will continue to train up our team to be more aware of their responsibilities. Secondly, we regret for the disappointment you felt due to air conditioner system and the dimmed lights. We have shared it to the respective departments and reassured that we will look into this matter seriously and take the necessary actions of inadequacies for improvement. Being a team, we are committed to redefine our services. Nothing is more important than regaining your confidence and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon, providing you with a more positive experience.
Read more
I personally think this hotel deserve to get another ⭐️! I booked for Straits Suite- the room is huge, neat and clean ! The bellman was very pleasant and the front offices are courteous. Despite of dimmed lighting in the bathroom, i love love love the scenery at the top floor.
Read more
Response from SMD30, The Straits Hotel & Suites Management at The Straits Hotel & Suites
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear MsA, Thank you for choosing The Straits Hotel & Suites as the hotel of choice for your stay in Melaka and we appreciate that you took the time to write us this feedback on TripAdvisor. Our team absolutely ecstatic to hear your kind feedback. Do keep us in mind when your next trip brings you back to the city. Have a great day ahead !
Read more
we check in 1 night book with agoda, we lost parking coupon wants park our car, end up of paying RM30 as penalty even do we are still hotel guest. On departure day, reception ask us to go n collect our item storage in there upper restaurant fridge because short of manning staff
Read more
Response from SMD30, The Straits Hotel & Suites Management at The Straits Hotel & Suites
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr Slamjohn84, Thank you very much for your reviews of your stay at our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your genuine feedback, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We regret for disappointment you felt due to penalty charges of lost card and deficiency of hotel standard and services. As to clarify your following complaints: 1) Penalty RM 30 of Lost Card: We understand your frustration to pay penalty charges even though you are our in-house guest, however as like other secure parking management in Malaysia, it is required by the parking management company who operated our parking area for security of the area and for loss prevention as a missing parking card may be abused by the person who found. The penalize amount is RM 50 but we have managed to speak with the parking management in reducing it to RM 30. The policy on parking were highlighted during check in to all guest who requested parking. 2) Deficiency of Service: As for delivery of the item (frozen item), do understand that we required (approximate 15-20 mins) to retrieve the item at floor 23, wait for the lift and have it delivered to you. Being a team, we are committed to redefine our services. And guest comments will encourage us to strive further. We thank you very much for your stay. Thanks,
Read more
+1
Booked a double bed room. Checked in was easy and the front desk staff is very friendly and helpful, and very clear in explaining the necessary information. Took the lift and got to the room and surprising did not expect to have such a wonderful room. Please refer to the
Read more
Response from SMD30, General Manager at The Straits Hotel & Suites
Responded May 6, 2019
Dear Long M, Thank you very much in sharing your experience with other travelers and hopefully we will welcome you back on your next Melaka visit. Regards Rudi Putra
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$34 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaMelaka StateCentral Melaka DistrictMelaka
NUMBER OF ROOMS
352
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing