We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites

Hotel website
Hotel deals
811 Old Grants Mill Road, Irondale, AL 35210
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Dunlap, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First things first... it's not that bad of a place to stay. Only major drawback is the location. Not much in the immediate vicinity in terms of restaurants, you will go 2-3 miles for the standard big box fare. As for the hotel itself, I found it, well, average. Ho hum... front desk staff was good and speedy, accommodated me... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ThatPilotTech
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

We are always working to improve our product and services and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences. There is no excuse for the housekeeping issues that occurred during your stay. We have been working with our staff to ensure these matters are corrected. Thank you for the distinct service you have provided us by sharing your... More 

Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

I was in Birmingham on business and needed a convenient place to stay the night. This Holiday Inn was a great place to stay for the night. It was clean, Quiet and had a good free hot breakfast. The Staff was polite and helpful. I would most definitely recommend this Holiday Inn.

Helpful?
Thank JLI2009
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your good review and for letting others know you would stay here again with us at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. We hope it is soon. More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015 via mobile

The room was clean and neat. I would give them a 5 star if the coffee maker was clean and should have placed it not inside the bathroom. Anyway we only stayed 1 night so that wasn't really a big deal. Kodus to the person who prepared the breakfast!

Helpful?
Thank FELIX CEASAR S
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your good review of our hotel and we hope to see you and your family again on your next trip our way. More 

Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

I originally booked an airport hotel. It seemed unsafe, so I looked to book elsewhere. A friend who lives nearby told me to go to the Irondale exit, as there was much more there - Restaurants, a mall, etc. I ended up at the Holiday Inn Express. Not to disparage Birmingham, but it's not the nicest town. Having said that,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bgsu3
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Your good review of our hotel is appreciated and we would like to thank you. We apologize for the problem with breakfast and will be looking into it. Hopefully we will see you again soon. More 

Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

We checked in on late Saturday afternoon. No fan in the bathroom, the wall was kicked in & needed to be repaired and a couple of other places in the room needed plaster and paint. The cover for the bed was dirty. "YUK" Would not stay here again. On the positive side the gentleman @ the front desk made the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Denise A
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I am sorry that there were some issues that you were not completely satisfied with. I thank you for your feedback as it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. We will certainly use your comments... More 

Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015 via mobile

This is definitely a first and only time staying here! Hotel needs to be renovated and tended to, and then maybe I could recommend it. Good thing I only had to stay one night while traveling otherwise I would have asked for a refund.

Helpful?
Thank mzsrob1
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. While we are very happy that you chose our hotel for your recent stay, we are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope that next time you are in town you consider staying with us... More 

Johns Creek, GA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

Overall, this hotel is nice and clean. Rooms were well appointed and clean, overall hotel was updated and clean as well. However, the shower head in our shower was WAY too much for the normal sized shower. Not only was there a puddle of water on the floor after showers but I felt as if my skin had been sandblasted... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

I understand that there were some issues that inconvenienced you. I thank you for bringing this issue to my attention so that we can follow up. It is through feedback as yours that we evaluate ourselves and identify the areas where we can improve. More 

Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

Drove in on Wed. PM 8/26, stayed thru Sun. AM 8/30. Front desk clerk Dwight greeted us with a very upbeat, helpful attitude that we came to see in the entire staff during our stay. Quick, easy check-in. The room was clean and well-kept; everything functioned perfectly, Sm. refrig., microwave, coffeemaker, TV. Beds ( two double ) comfortable, AC worked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raleigh T
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Your complimentary review of our hotel is much appreciated! Hopefully, we'll have the opportunity to host you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

We were greeted professionally by the staff. The beds were clean and comfortable. The air conditioner was very weak and smell smoky when running. The air conditioner unit was very dusty (see picture.) The drive up the hill to the hotel wasn't too bad. Landscaping along the driveway up could be groomed more neatly and professionally.

Helpful?
Thank C3ontheroad
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. Please accept our... More 

North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015 via mobile

Desk clerk was helpful and very pleasant. Quick check in. Room was good, clean, shower was nice and good water pressure, bed was soft and clean, no bugs. breakfast was good selection of hot foods and fruit. Parking was close by Would definitely stay again.

Helpful?
Thank C C
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for letting others know how much you enjoyed your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. We look forward to your next visit our way. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irondale
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#46 of 81 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Birmingham - Irondale
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay