We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Floatel Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Floatel Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Floatel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 362: English reviews
New Delhi, India
Reviewed December 13, 2015

We Stayed here for one night, Reception staff is very friendly and helpful. ,Room is very clean and cozy, But they dont have king size bed mostly thats not very comfortable, well maintained room , Excellent Food and services ,Good Shower, Restaurant is good... Thanks For Everything............. We Will really Recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ANKITNATURELOVER
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!! At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata. We are delighted for your appreciation of our services, Decor, Food.Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence. The...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed December 11, 2015 via mobile

We stayed as a group for a meeting. My second time here. I love the place. I wish we had twin beds on the river side rooms. However the view of the river was lovely. The sight of steamers and boats passing was fun. Food was great too. The staff took good care of us. Asked for feedback every morning!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meenamen
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!! At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata. We are delighted for your appreciation of our ambiance & services. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence....

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed December 10, 2015

The hotel concept is pretty amazing - in the middle of the river Ganga! The hotel could have been amazing too if it was maintained well. Sadly the hotel has a very run-down look. The hotel seems to be under-staffed too causing service to be extremely slow. Re the rooms: The rooms which face the Strand Road side have an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RamVenkat
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for spending your time to give us a straight and detailed feedback. The conditions you observed were unacceptable and we will certainly review your observations with the team. Nonetheless, we have gone thoroughly on your comments to ensure that we adhering to the hotel’s ambiance & service, already in place here at the Floatel, Kolkata. The...

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed December 9, 2015 via mobile

The most horrible staff members, non cooperative, make their own rules, don't pick up calls,no smile for their costumers and irrational demands. It was a marriage function and I booked two rooms for two days for my guests. I had to cancel one day for some reason. They charged me for a day. That's OK. Now the real face begins....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neeraj K
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for spending your time to give us a straight and detailed feedback. I would like to personally apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your third stay with us. We will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel. Please be rest assured that your feedback...

mumbai
Reviewed December 4, 2015

The location of Floatel hotel is amazing , I wanted to have lunch on the deck but was little disappointed to see that for some reason view to Howrah bridge was blocked ..No worries. It was lunch time around 2:30 pm I was with my three colleagues . They enquired some specific Bengali dishes and were told that it will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nitchiQuest
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.” I am concerned to note your feedback regarding the food quality at our restaurant that you found below your expectations. I have shared your feedback with our...

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed November 28, 2015

room are not so good as per their budget... i never say that it's value for money ....location is unique ... food is very good here .... never saw any delay in service ...i will prefer flotel only for it's food quality

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rajat_traveller13
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!! At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata. We are delighted for your appreciation of our services and ambiance. We have noted down your feedback on pricing and shared with concerned...

Faridabad, India
Reviewed November 24, 2015

A place worth living on board! The place my stay a memorable one. The staffs are too good and very helpful. The amazing view of the sea around you ignites the romance inside you. Also, the mesmerising view from the restaurant at the top provides you ultimate serenity. The boat riding on the princep ghat along side adds to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TanayaR26
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!! At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata. We are delighted for your appreciation of our services, ambiance and hospitality. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights of...

Pune, India
Reviewed November 21, 2015

Stayed in Floatel in Nov'2015. The hotel itself is a ship - floating on Hoogly river. A nice hotel - it was written in the hotel that this is first of this kind in India. Do not know where else we have similar hotel in India. The rooms were small - as they would be in ships. But still comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GRS_TVL
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!! At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata. We are delighted for your appreciation of our services, food, amenities and ambiance. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights...

Reviewed November 19, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is worth it only for the view of the river and the Howrah bridge along with the Vivekananda setu you get along with the open air dining experience on a river. The downside is that the food is average, may be even poor and over priced. The staff are not great either. Not recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Biswarup D
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, At the onset, we would thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have you stay at Floatel, Kolkata. Going through your feedback, we understand that you faced certain discomforts during your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the same. At Floatel, Kolkata we take pride...

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed November 16, 2015 via mobile

Floatel is situated on the Ganges n is the only such hotel.in kolkata in Asia.It has sunrise n sunset rooms.The view if Howrah bridge n 2nd hoogly bridge can be seen from.the room.One can also see the streamers passing by from the room itself. THE staff r friendly n couteous The service is also good m prompt.The buffet breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vidhys
Floatel An E, General Manager at Floatel Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!! At the onset, we would like to thank you for your comments at the Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata. We are delighted for your appreciation of our Rooms, food, services and ambiance. Your feedback will surely encourage us to scale greater heights...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

237 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (128)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kolkata (Calcutta) hotels
0.6 mi away
The Peerless Inn
The Peerless Inn
#33 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
644 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
#5 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
771 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#47 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#42 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#30 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
166 reviews
5.3 mi away
Senses Hotel
Senses Hotel
#8 of 216 in Kolkata (Calcutta)
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thank you for choosing Floatel, An Eco-Friendly Hotel during your stay in Kolkata. We are an environment friendly hotel and it is our endeavor to conserve the environment in every way we can. As you have chosen Floatel for your stay, you have also committed yourself to help us save the environment. Together let us ensure a greener earth to ensure a better future. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Floatel Hotel

Address: 9/10 Strand Road Kolkata Jetty | Opposite State Bank of India HQ, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700001, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Kolkata (Calcutta)
Price Range: $63 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Floatel Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Floatel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floatel Hotel India/Kolkata (Calcutta), Asia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Floatel Hotel staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Floatel Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for river facing room ! ”
 of 5 bubbles GNAWED, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Sunset view rooms are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles 598pravinw, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Sunset rooms with river view”
  • Sunset Room with an amazing river view !
 of 5 bubbles , 4 weeks ago | Read review
“best view of the river”
 of 5 bubbles , Feb 21, 2017 | Read review
“Hoogly view is only from sunset rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles shail2, Feb 17, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question