We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
35 A Sarat Bose Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 20 India
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (28)
Room & Suite (79)
Dining (69)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 02/16/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 02/16/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#77 of 767 hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Centrally located in Kolkata, The Samilton Hotel is 400 meters from Forum Mall, 4 km from Victoria Memorial, 11 km from Howrah Station and 25 km from Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose International Airport. Free Wi-Fi and parking are provided. Complimentary Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs are offered for your entertainment. Rooms come with elegant earth colour tones and warm lighting. Each well-appointed unit has a mini-bar and private bathroom with shower. Guests are served a complimentary breakfast. Additional amenities include multi-lingual staff, laundry facilities and complimentary newspapers. Pepper Chino restaurant serves a spread of local and international dishes. Guests can also enjoy drinks at our rooftop bar and grill Cloud Tavern and 35 Bar & Lounge, chill at Lansdowne Cafe or enjoy a cup of tea at Tea Junction. Reception can assist with currency exchange and car rental services. Ticketing and day trip arrangements can be made at the tour desk.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Nightclub / DJ
Conference facilities
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Rooftop bar
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
City view
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

Full view
97Great for walkers
Grade: 97 out of 100
96Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
4Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
136Reviews1Q+A27Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 32
  • 34
  • 38
  • 17
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Shyam C wrote a review Apr 2021
Kolkata (Calcutta), India1 contribution
It was pretty good experiences with this property. The hotel is located in a very good location. It's one of the prime thing to talk about and it gives good advantage to the traveller to visit others place in Kolkata from here.i look forward to my next visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Vick S, Owner at The Samilton
Responded Apr 26, 2021
Dear Guest, Thanks so much for the great review and we hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards, Management & Staff The Samilton
Read more
vishweshsingh wrote a review Dec 2020
Guwahati, India336 contributions60 helpful votes
+1
Stayed in this property for its well placed location only. This place requires urgent maintenance. Stayed in Room #406. The housekeeping staff are prompt and are always willing to help and serve. The room dining staff are useless and too slow and most of the time they will bring you the wrong order. Anyway, the room requires urgent maintenance. I’m loading few pics of the loft cover in the Wash area which has come out and lots of insects and flies were entering the wash area through it. Though the housekeeping staff were very prompt in sorting out the matter by closing the loft cover with Scotch Tapes.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Vick S, Owner at The Samilton
Responded Dec 20, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. It seems that the room was just not up to your standards, and we would like to sincerely apologize for your experience, and will certainly speak with the appropriate departments to ensure that this issue is resolved. But we are so glad you found our staff so accommodating, we hope to welcome you again. Best regards, Management & Staff The Samilton
Read more
anandudeshi wrote a review Mar 2020
Mumbai, India1 contribution
The charges are higher than the service and the kind of rooms that they have. Service is good! Food is also good!! Everything inside the room looks a little old even the bathroom! They need a upgrade!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: Everything inside the room looks a little old even the bathroom!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Vick S, Owner at The Samilton
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Kolkata. We are most concerned with the satisfaction of our guests and your feedback is of great value to us. We hope you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again at The Samilton. Best regards, Management & Staff The Samilton
Read more
sam s wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
Damp room, smelling of smoke complete experience was bad. Everything was dingy smelled old and of mould. Bathroom was dirty and had insects in it. The place overcharges for everything. Never come here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Vick S, Owner at The Samilton
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to post a review, would like to inform you that we have checked our guest history but we didn't have any such guest record so we request you to please provide us your contact no & your check-in date so that we can investigate and get back to you. If you could send us your contact details at md@samiltonhotel.com, we will look in to the matter. Best regards, Management & Staff The Samilton
Read more
Yen wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
Complete waste , priced very high this hotel is shabby and the people who stay in it are sleazy. Don't go by pics seen online, the rooms need serious overhaul. Most of all the staff is extremely rude and harsh.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Vick S, Owner at The Samilton
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback, would like to inform you that we have checked our guest history but we didn't have any such guest record so we request you to please provide us your contact no & your check-in date so that we can investigate and get back to you. If you could send us your contact details at md@samiltonhotel.com, we will look in to the matter. Best regards, Management & Staff The Samilton
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$53 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaWest BengalKolkata DistrictKolkata (Calcutta)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Samilton
Which popular attractions are close to The Samilton?
Nearby attractions include Parashnath Jain Temple (0.2 miles), Priya Cinema (0.3 miles), and Calcutta Karma Gon Buddhist Monastary (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Samilton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Samilton?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Samilton?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Samilton?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Samilton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Mezzuna, Balaram Mullick & Radharaman Mullick, and Jai Hind Dhaba.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Samilton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Samilton?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to The Samilton?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Ramakrishna Mission Swami Vivekananda's Ancestral House and Cultural Centre (3.7 miles), General Post Office (2.7 miles), and Fort William (1.9 miles).
Does The Samilton have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.