We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunflower Guest House

Save
Traveler (69)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (1)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent15%
  • Very good41%
  • Average28%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible7%
Travelers talk about
“hot water”(26 reviews)
“sudder st”(12 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Air Conditioning
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Restaurant
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveler rating
40
90
68
24
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
40
90
68
24
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot watersudder stold colonial buildingpeter catprivate bathroomtop floorfantastic locationstayed for nightsmetro stationvictoria memorialbudget hotelguesthouseelevatorstreetparkmarkettaxi
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friend suggested I stay at Sunflower guesthouse during my visit to Kolkata because he told me it was reasonably priced, clean and secure as well as being in a convenient city central location. He was quite correct with his assessment of the place for...More

Thank wjw2018
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been staying here for the past 6 years (3 times) and I have to admit, the place is deteriorating. It almost appears that the owners are only collecting revenue but least bothered about keeping up the maintenance. Since my first visit, the rooms...More

Thank Robert S
Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

Arrived into Kolkata at the train station and paid a yellow taxi 200 rupees to take us to Sunflower guest house and we were dropped out at the Park Street/Free School Street junction and the accommodation is just round the corner. Check in was easy...More

1  Thank mids1985
Reviewed November 24, 2017 via mobile

This was my second visit to sunflower guesthouse, the first 2 years ago with my husband. This time i am travelling with my two young daughters (11 & 13). This guesthouse is everything you need in kolkata at a budget price - staff are friendly...More

Thank SCJR1968
Reviewed September 28, 2017 via mobile

We arrived quite late and we're "welcomed" in a let's say rude manner. The price for a room offered by the doorman changed just a couple of minutes later when we were brought to the manager, and it grew with an extra zero. The "manager"...More

1  Thank Emil D
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Kolkata (Calcutta)
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Internet
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Details
Price range
$19 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
$19 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (69)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
fatimayjose
June 29, 2017|
Answer
Response from BangaloreBombom | Property representative |
Hi...please bring socket with you...thanks Anirban
0
Votes
fatimayjose
June 28, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Greg C | Reviewed this property |
I don't think there are volunteers there only hotel staff. However, you can meet people on the rooftop or the floor below which has a few couches, arm chairs, a bathroom, tables and tv. Given that these two locations are a... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Contact the hotel (Mr. Goutam) directly to negotiate for a better rate."
Read review
"Roof top view, neat and clean"
Read review
"Try taking AC rooms, if you have to stay here."
Read review
"Most rooms 1st floor, roof top garden and reception 5th & 4th floor Common room 3rd floor"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing