We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
See the most recent reviews
Showing 179: English reviews
Pune, India
Reviewed March 21, 2016

We had booked this hotel for 3 nights.. Food is awesome. But service is not at all good.. In 3 days of stay they have never cleaned room once. Rooms are not very clean and hygienic. Super deluxe rooms only have Kanchanjunga hill view. Overall experience was ok ok. But the service executive "RAMESH" was very helpful. He is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiru1510
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you sir for your valuable feedback. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope you give us a chance to serve you again.

Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Reviewed March 8, 2016

We had great time in Darjeeling Room are little small but having great view, people are little bit conserve but yes helping Location of hotel is 100 % well connected to all areas - Mall road is within 400 M, Keventer 400 M, Main Market is 600 M Amenites of hotel are ok, time bound as by 7 pm market...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnkitAiren
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you guest for your valuable feedback. We hope you had a pleasant stay with us and would give us a chance to serve you again in future.

Reviewed February 10, 2016 via mobile

Excellent service you can stay here with your family members, room are very clean customer service is also good, sight view from the hotel is wonderful just assume, so you can stay here without any hesitation

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Biplane2012
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you sir for all the appriciation . We hope you had a pleasant stay in our property and would give us a chance to serve you again.

Jamshedpur, India
Reviewed February 8, 2016

The hotel is located in a crowded neighborhood, but the staff is very well behaved and helpful. The room in which I stayed had a big window facing the Kunchenjunga but unfortunately the clouds blocked the view. The rooms were small but considering the price we paid, seemed OK. Room had running hot water all the time. The restaurant food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rejith_Rajan
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you sir for your valuable feedback . We hope you had a pleasant stay in our property and would give us a chance to serve you again.

Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Reviewed February 2, 2016

We booked the hotel online. We arrives Darjeeling on 26th January and left 30th january, 2016. Very good hospitality and quality of food is good. Service is also good. Location is also good, near to taxi stand and mall. It is just behind the Glenary's . If you want then they can arrange car for sightseeing. hotel manager including all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pde1979
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you sir for all your appriciation . We hope you had a pleasant stay in our property and would give us a chance to serve you again.

Reviewed January 10, 2016 via mobile

Very good hospitality and good taste & quality of food. Manager& all staff r ready to help us anytime. Good cleanliness and provides services without telling anything. Best stay with family. Good services.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PayalChokshi
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you guest for all your appriciation . We hope you had a pleasant stay in our property and would give us a chance to serve you again.

Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

yes service is good.Manager is very helpful and prompt.as I went in offseason they reduce price 60%.the cooking was good.location near to taxi stand.good for bangla speaking people.I wish to go and stay there again to visit beautiful darkeeling.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manoz K
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you sir for appriciation . We hope you had a pleasant stay in our property and would give us a chance to serve you again.

Habra, India
Reviewed December 9, 2015 via mobile

We arrived darjeeling on 3th dec and left on 6th dec. We booked the hotel on spot. Hotel manager including all the staff are very good and caring in nature. Manager helped me in doing the the tour planning and arranged the car for the tour. Car drivers were very good and co operative during all the visit. Rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Udayaditya C
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you sir for such a wonderful review. We are glad that it turned out to be a perfect holiday for you. Though i was not personally there at the hotel during your stay but i am so glad that my team did there best to perfection. We look forward to having you again with us.

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 3, 2015

stairs very dirty, not cleaned in a long time. Blankets put on the beds without a clean sheet, which may have been used by other people,Kitchen not very clean. Very disappointing and not worth the price,

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank shakupai
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Dear sir, we are really sorry for the inconvenience caused. However me being the guest relations managers and being based in kolkata in our head office, i will have a talk with the hotel manager and get the necessary clarification for you.

Reviewed November 27, 2015 via mobile

We visited Darjeeling this month and had booked a super delux room at Sonar Bangla. At first we were little apprehensive about the hotel's location and the view from the room but it all was clear as a day light when we checked in. The room with its location and a clear view of the valley in front is just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prodyumna M
tinapU1360JA, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling, responded to this review

Thank you sir for such a wonderful , heartening reviews. We are glad that it turned out to be a perfect holiday for you. We look forward to having you again with us.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (58)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.7 mi away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 94 in Darjeeling
624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.2 mi away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#12 of 94 in Darjeeling
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Rink Heritage
Hotel The Rink Heritage
#37 of 94 in Darjeeling
15 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel White Yak
Hotel White Yak
#25 of 94 in Darjeeling
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling

Address: 1/1, Robertson Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Location: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Price Range: $38 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“rooms withview of hills and on upper floor”
 of 5 bubbles mrpandeya, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Super Deluxe Rooms on top floor”
 of 5 bubbles CeruleanInn, Nov 19, 2016 | Read review
“Awesome view of Kanchenjunga range from super Deluxe room and sun light is superb n these rooms..”
  • Super Deluxe room
  • Deluxe room
  • Super Deluxe room
  • early morning view from Super Deluxe room
  • early morning view from Super Deluxe room
  • Deluxe room
 of 5 bubbles Nehs, Nov 3, 2016 | Read review
“High super deluxe with view.”
 of 5 bubbles 291genej, Oct 28, 2016 | Read review
“choose your own preference”
 of 5 bubbles sjit6921, Oct 2, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question