We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dekeling Resort at Hawk's Nest

Traveler (158)
Room & Suite (53)
Dining (3)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room service
Airport transportation
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Shuttle Bus Service
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mountain View
HOTEL CLASS
191Reviews
5Q+A
46Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 90
  • 61
  • 29
  • 4
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We were deceived by the professional photographs taken of the property which shows a beautiful lawn overlooking the kanchenjunga mountains. Because of mist, we were not able to have a good view. this is the main USP of the proeperty, which unfortunately we were not able to
Read more
· It was a home away from home, friendly staff, peaceful atmosphere with good food & appreciate the free drop off & pick-up at the town centre for our shopping which no other hotel offered on our tour of seven cities in East Bengal. Mr.Tenzin Yamjang & the Lady made sure that we
Read more
We arrived here exhausted and ill from Delhi. I can not speak highly enough of the way we were treated by the lovely staff at this wonderful hotel. A nice warm bed complete with electric blanket, toast and tea offered despite the late hour of our arrival.and a hot shower
Read more
Response from Norbu D, Owner at Dekeling Resort at Hawk's Nest
Responded Mar 12, 2019
Dear Madam, Greetings from all us at Dekeling! Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and also sharing this lovely review with us. It is gratifying to read you enjoyed our services and facilities, and that we were able to exceed your hospitality expectations. Thank you for acknowledging the efforts, and we are more thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time at our resort. Fondly looking forward to welcoming you back. Tashi Delek Always! Kind Regards
Read more
We stayed here in December - so the weather was cold. However, that was not a problem at this property. There was excellent heating in the room; electric blanket; hot water - lots of it and all day! Breakfast was plentiful, with a fantastic view towards Kachenjunga. There is an
Read more
Response from Norbu D, Owner at Dekeling Resort at Hawk's Nest
Responded Feb 18, 2019
Dear Sir, Greetings from all us at Dekeling! Thank you for posting kind review and we really appreciate your stay with us. Its an honour to host you and your family with us. We wish you many pleasant holidays and prosperous vacation ahead. Tashi Delek Always! Kind Regards
Read more
Guys. I must say that these guys are very clever and these guys play games with customers. They tell you something else and they do something else. They are just to earn money. They don't understand the emotions and feelings of a person who comes to spend their vacation in their
Read more
Response from Norbu D, General Manager at Dekeling Resort at Hawk's Nest
Responded Feb 16, 2019
Dear Sir, Greeting from Dekeling resort & Hotel . We appreciate you taking the time to review our property . However as you have not stayed with us and experienced our services it would be misleading towards our TripAdvisor users for you to rate us and review us. You had enquired with us for booking over email on the 9th Feb,19 for booking in May 2019 and and we had dropped you a revert email with rate details and our bank account details for advance payment on the 10th feb,19 to move forward with confirming the booking .It is a hotel protocol that a booking gets confirmed only after an advance payment has been made against the same , which we had been mentioned over email as well . We tentatively blocked the room for you for 2 nights after your enquiry without any advance payment . But after 2days with no response, our system automatically opened the rooms to be sold again on the online portals . You contacted us again on 14th February (after 5days) over phone call enquiring about the property details for which mrs Sangay kindly gave you the detailed information about sight seeing and property details accordingly. But on checking again that day the room that you had enquired about had already been booked the previous day on our online portal , as you had not confirmed earlier. As you know we called you back again to apologize and to inform about the non availability . We deem it our duty to inform you well in advance & not at the 11th hour when you are already at the reception counter waiting to check in . We sincerely apologize for inconvenience caused to you . We understand that you will be traveling with your family and we wish for you to have best holiday possible . However you made a booking enquiry with us, with intention to book, but you should understand that your booking was not completed or confirmed by you or hotel . No advance payment was received, no acknowledgment was sent from our end . However here you are saying that we were asking you to pay a higher price for another room or else we would release your booking . This is totally untrue as we did not have any such conversation. The is false information and defamatory towards us as, as per record your booking had not been confirmed yet and we had not received any payment from you against your booking enquiry . On informing you about the particular room being already booked you refused to listen to our clarification and repeated apologies .We are shocked to hear your statement of you begging us, question of which did not arise at all instead you vehemently threatened to defame us on all social media and review sites if we did not the give you the room . For us however it is truly not possible as a confirmed booking had already been received the previous day for the same room and same dates .If we had the room available we would definitely had confirmed with you when you had called on the 14th feb,19 . We have been in hotel businesses for the last 3 decades and we very much value our business ethics and customer relationships and sentiments . We apologies for you to have had taken all the trouble , we would have loved to host you and your family with us . But with the delay and time lag between confirmation we had,your booking enquiry got released . We sincerely apologize once again . As we have let you know over email as well , we would do anything to help you with your trip to Darjeeling , assist you if your require any help with your booking in Darjeeling and any other information. As your booking is for the month of May, 19 you can still plan your holiday in Darjeeling And we are more than happy to help and make your holiday a success . Please accept our sincere apologies . We did not intend to inconvenience you in any way . Wishing you many pleasant holidays. Kinds regards, The management , Dekeling Resort and Hotel .
Read more
Previous
Is there any view of Kanchenjunga from any kind of room ..
Dear Sir, Greetings from Darjeeling! To get proper mountain view ( Kanchenjunga ) we have super deluxe room category, which hold majestic view of both the mountains and whole Darjeeling town
0 votes
Show all answers
Breakfast included?
Ours was, but you should always confirm with the office to avoid surprises.
0 votes
Show all answers
Well I have stayed in the Heritage room and they were quite comfortable and room size was also big. Bathroom was of the average size but very clean and with a shower. Food was also tasty. Regarding the activities for the kids, it depends. If they want a park kind of a place then they will be disappointed but if they are happy with a small garden and a large comfy bamboo swing overlooking the hills then they will surely enjoy this hotel. Also as already mentioned earlier, Darjeeling has a lot to offer for the kids. Try this hotel - you won't be disappointed :)
0 votes
Show all answers
Yes, it is once a day. If you require more than that, they charge Rs.200 per drop. The climb to the resort is entirely uphill. My husband and me are both 30+ and unfit and we found it difficult. If your Inlaws are fit and used to walking, they may not have a problem. But my recommendation would be to arrange for transport.
0 votes
Show all answers
"Go for rooms in new wings"
"Corner rooms"
"Corner rooms are sunny and quiet with great views of the Kanchenjunga"
"Deluxe suites are a nice combination of comfort and convenience."
"all the rooms have views"
PreviousNext
12345610
PRICE RANGE
$70 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
dekeling resort at hawk`s nest hotel darjeelingdekeling hotel darjeeling
LOCATION
IndiaWest BengalDarjeeling DistrictDarjeeling
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing