We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Serein Beach Hotel

Save
Share
Marakolliya Beach, Medilla, Tangalle 82200 Sri Lanka
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$75
$69
View Deal
SAVE $6
Free cancellation until 12/13/20
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$75
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/07/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com$69
Trip.com
Agoda.com$75
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (245)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (11)
Certificate of Excellence
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 06/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Serein Beach Hotel
Updated 06/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Tangalle
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Newly constructed Beach Hotel.Serenity at its best.A Holiday experience like no other.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Canoeing
Car hire
Taxi service
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Private balcony
Seating area
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Sinhala, Tamil
227Reviews6Q+A35Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 151
  • 65
  • 10
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mohammed Ihlas wrote a review Jul 8
Galle, Sri Lanka29 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
There were 2 families in our group and we booked a one night stay at the hotel. We were so impressed with the hotel that we extended our stay into 2 nights. First and foremost, the hotel was located in a bewildering location. There was a lagoon behind the hotel and the front was located in front of the beach and I was stunned by the beauty and the peace the hotel offers. The rooms were spacious and clean. They were built using eco-friendly materials and the soft mud bricks kept the room cold and breezy, add the amazing wind from the beach and you've got the perfect mix for a jaunty vibe. The washrooms were clean and well-kept. We stayed at the hotel on a full-board basis and the breakfast, lunch & dinner were Delicious. We were very impressed with the food and was excited for every meal at the hotel. The Manager, Nipuna, and Ashen were extremely friendly and helped us in every way possible, carrying a smile with them always. They made our stay memorable and beautiful. The hotel offered great value for the money. And you won't go wrong even if you booked the hotel on a full-board basis, because the food was top-notch. The swimming pool was gorgeous. It had the perfect depth so that both kids and adults can enjoy the pool. It was clean and neat at all times. The Kayak ride the hotel provided us with was unforgettable. I've personally never been on a kayak before and this experience was awesome for a first-ride. Nature lovers will love this place and wish that they'd stayed longer. The beach, the service, the food, the Spectacular sunset at the rooftop, the kayak ride, everything was first-class. It's only been a few hours since I left the hotel and I already miss the place ❤️.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Sara J wrote a review Mar 2020
Berlin, Germany8 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely hotel right on the beach. The hotel is really clean and the staff is excellent. Also a plus for the breakfast choices . Our room had a lovely view over the pool area with the beach and the sea in the background. You can easily get into to town by a walk on the beach or the quiet road that leads to the hotel from town. When we come back we’ll definitely stay at Serein again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from SereinBeach, Team at Serein Beach Hotel
Responded Mar 10, 2020
Thank you for taking your valuable time to post a review and it is much appreciated. You are most welcome to visit us back again and could write to us through our web site. We wish you a very happy holiday in srilanka and a safe flight back home. Take care.
Read more
Sipke vink wrote a review Mar 2020
Cairns, Australia205 contributions63 helpful votes
We had a nice room with a stunning view over the swimming pool and sea view . The moment we arrived we where greeted by a almost 2 m water lizard walking over the road a good start of the day . The hotel is straight on the beach sourounded with mangrove Forrest full with squirrels playing around the hotel our in your room if you leave the doors open . The staff is great and very helpful in everything you need our want to organise I went fishing with a local fishing man in a authentic fishing boat . The food is really great and not to expensive
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: All rooms have sea view
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SereinBeach, Manager at Serein Beach Hotel
Responded Mar 5, 2020
Thank you very much for your review. We are sure that you enjoyed the "catch of the day" at dinner. We wish you happy holidays and wish you safe flight back home. Take care.
Read more
Steve L wrote a review Feb 2020
Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka36 contributions5 helpful votes
The breakfast were good, the staff were lovely, the pool was great, you walk straight out onto the beach but can't swim in it because there are too many big waves here, you have to go to a different part of the beach to swim, even then very big waves big waves. There are three or four beach restaurants within a few minutes walk which is nice and if you walk back along the beach or road for about 15 minutes you start to reach the slightly busier part of the beach with a few more places to eat and drink. We were in Room 4 which was above the kitchen and a bit noisy, the bed was very comfy but a bit creaky. The loungers in the garden were on their last legs and when all ten rooms were occupied there were not enough for everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If you get a choice go for one of the top two rooms.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from SereinBeach, Team at Serein Beach Hotel
Responded Feb 26, 2020
Thank you very much for your review and your points are taken. on certain days the mighty ocean is showing all of us the power it has , basically due to winds and currents. But usually during this time of the year it is calm . Thank you once again and we wish you a safe flight back home.
Read more
823Well_travelled wrote a review Feb 2020
Cambridge, United Kingdom46 contributions24 helpful votes
What a gem of a hotel this is! It has the perfect location right on the beach with the jungle behind it. It is so quiet and relaxing here and the staff do everything to make your stay effortless. Our room was of a very good size on the first floor with a superb view of the beach. The bed was very comfortable which, together with the tranquil setting, ensured an excellent night's sleep. The breakfast was amazing, lots of fruit as well as Sri Lankan curry, chapatis etc.The manager was very helpful in getting us a taxi at short notice for our next destination when the taxi we had booked failed to arrive.I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from SereinBeach, Team at Serein Beach Hotel
Responded Mar 5, 2020
We are very happy to note that you have enjoyed the location and its environment .. We will continue to maintain the serenity so that our valued guests will be able to relax and recharge energy to meet the challenges ahead. Our guests and we breath the most unpolluted air, one could imagine as there are no land mass what so ever between us and south pole. thank you for your nice and encouraging words.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$57 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceTangalle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Serein Beach Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Serein Beach Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Tangalle Lagoon (0.2 miles), Indika Art Gallery (0.6 miles), and Doctor's Bar Tangalle (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Serein Beach Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Serein Beach Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Serein Beach Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Serein Beach Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Timasha Family Restaurant, Twins Homefood Restaurant, and Sha Sha Seafood.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Serein Beach Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Does Serein Beach Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Serein Beach Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Serein Beach Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Tamil, and Sinhala.
Are there any historical sites close to Serein Beach Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mulgirigala Raja Maha Vihara (7.8 miles).
Does Serein Beach Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.