We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mahagedara Wellness Retreat

Save
Share
No. 100 Gedigaswalana, Sigiriya 21120 Sri Lanka
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 9 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (96)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (17)

About

#31 of 172 Specialty lodging in Sigiriya
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Treat yourself to an unfathomable wellness experience carefully crafted to give you the best of nature, wildlife & ultimate personal experience including Ayurveda spa, detox treatments, relaxing & pampering and consciousness access through yoga, meditation and fitness exercises which connects your mind, body and soul
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Car hire
Spa
Hammam
Hot spring bath
Massage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room types
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Romantic
50Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 43
  • 3
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jade wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
I went with a friend for a couple of nights to chill and do yoga. Great location, so peaceful and surrounded by nature, very helpful staff and lovely homemade food! I think I ate them out of house and home. The yoga is also amazing, the instructor is so kind and helpful! Loved it
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Danny wrote a review Jan 2020
Athens, Greece3 contributions1 helpful vote
We spent 3 night at Mahagedara Wellness Retreat and we really enjoyed our staying there! It s the best place to relax your body, to calm your mind and renew your spirit..The nature is amazing and the owner and the manager are there for you for everything you might need! The food was the most delicious we tasted in Sri Lanka. Furthermore, the lodge is very close to Lion Rock and the Pidurangala Rock where we had the chance to see an amazing sunset. The first time we visited by chance, the second time we are visiting by choice
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Isabel C wrote a review Jan 2020
27 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
We stayed in Mahagedara for 3 nights and loved every moment. We wanted to visit Sigiriya rock, pidurangala rock and good connection with public transport to Anuradhapura which was about one hour ride. They organised for us a sunrise Tuc Tuc to pidurangala which was amazing, make sure you get there early as the hike takes 30 min-1hour depending your fitness level, after we went to Sigiriya rock ( lion rock), make sure you take some food and water with you as will be another 1 hour long hike to the top( if you have time maybe is a good idea to leave it for The resort it’s placed in the middle of the jungle, you’ll get to see lots of beautiful births, lizards, and we were lucky to bump into a couple of wild elephants on our early leaving... it was amazing. Rooms are very spacious and tasteful decorated with jungle elements ... don’t spect luxuries as jungle is a humid place but has all you need. Chilling by the beautiful pool area after a long day sightseeing was a plus. Even though the spa area wasn’t functioning I requested an Ayurveda massage after all the hiking and the lady arrived early morning. 8 am. what a luxury, Ayurveda hot oil massage followed by steam bath surrounded by the jungle noises... Food was delicious, Sri Lanka home made every evening and they also organise cookery lessons. Thanks so much for this very relaxing jungle experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Lakmali A, Owner at Mahagedara Wellness Retreat
Responded Jan 19, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. We really appreciate it. I am glad you had a wonderful time with us. Best wishes for the future.
Read more
giulia g wrote a review Jan 2020
Milan, Italy76 contributions83 helpful votes
I am so sorry to write this review, but truth is if I had known before I would never have booked. First is: this is not a Wellness retreat at all. In fact the structure is almost abandoned. They say "we don't have anymore any personnel" (so why not too close?). They use some grown up teenagers volunteers (western travellers staying for free in exchange of accommodation and food) who of course can't run a structure and are not qualified personal. Not taken care gardens, empty pools, dirty rooms...what a pity. We arrived late at night, the room was dirty (with hair etc) and smelled really bad, roof is in dangerous eternit (causes cancer), I resisted from complaining telling myself they would clean it properly the next day: when we got back the room wasn't done. They said "we don't clean the room we don't have personnel". My massage I asked for 7pm they said the lady would come at 6h30, I answered I would probably be there at 7 because I was up at the rock for sunset but they answered "don't worry she waits" (why not telling her to come at 7 then?)...when I arrived happy to finally have my massage they said "she left". I said ok for tomorrow morning at 10/11 they said "ok don't worry she will be back" but at breakfast a 20years old western boy said "I'll do your massage" I tried to avoid it but he felt bad telling me he had made a class during his holidays....well I had the massage and of course they charged me the full price very expensive compared to the rest of sri lanka. It was in an abandoned hut: very uncomfortable situation. Food: horrible....sticky noodles....very expensive and they tried to charge 2 rights of dinner despite the fact we had ate only one night! The lady who owns the hotel didn't have change and kept 3 usd without even asking presuming I wouldn't notice, Another couple arrived with us run away the next morning. The 2 stars are for the monkeys, the nature and the smile of the local manager and the 2 local workers, even if helpless. PS NO INDICATION at all to get to the place. Luckily our driver was smart enough to call every 2 minutes but it is not any close to Sygirya.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lakmali A, Owner at Mahagedara Wellness Retreat
Responded Jan 18, 2020
Dear Guest. I am sorry you had a bad experience at Mahagedara Retreat. We are a eco friendly Retreat therefore unless requested we do not change the linen daily. Unless otherwise requested we do not clean the rooms when the guests are here for one night. The massage was booked at 6.30pm. Our massage therapist waited till 6.45pm and as there was no communication from you she went off duty. You arrived at 7.00pm. We have various foreign therapists and all are qualified. we do not discriminate due to their age, gender or nationality. but looks at their qualification. Andrew is a qualified Ayurveda practioner with experience. You were asking for a Sri Lankan massage there is no such a thing as Sri Lankan massge. We specialised in Ayurveda and any one trained in Ayurveda can give a Ayurvedic massage regardless of their nationality. It is a pity you did not point out about the massage or the room while you were here as we could have rectify the situation easily. The empty pools are our rustic 'cold tubs' which the guests fill when they want to have a dip and our herbal baths that we fill for Ayurvedic treatments All our prices are communicated on our website and all the platforms we are on and are also communicated at check in. Guests are free to choose optional activites. I am sorry you had a bad experience at Mahageda Retreat due to your expection but I take grave offence to your claim that we overcharge you and your false claims. Infact if I remember I round the bill and gave more change. You communicated to my manager that you were angy because I did not appologise to you for the massues not been here when you arrived late.that you have an anger management issue and do not want to shout at him.
Read more
Guy Atkinson wrote a review Jan 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
We’re coming to the end of three weeks in Sri Lanka, staying in 12 different places, and this is comfortably the best place we stayed. It’s in a wonderfully secluded location and the food was simply out of this world. In a country where incredible food is available at every turn, the food here really was something else. A trip to Sri Lanka is not complete without a stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Lakmali A, Owner at Mahagedara Wellness Retreat
Responded Jan 19, 2020
Dear Guests, Thank you for taking time to write a lovely review. We hope to see you again. Best wishes
Read more
Previous
1234569
PRICE RANGE
$44 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaCentral ProvinceSigiriya
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mahagedara Wellness Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Mahagedara Wellness Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Sigiriya The Ancient Rock Fortress (3.0 miles), Pidurangala Rock (2.4 miles), and Dhilip De Alwis (3.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mahagedara Wellness Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Mahagedara Wellness Retreat?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Mahagedara Wellness Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mahagedara Wellness Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kenoli restaurant, Ran rasa Seafood Restaurant, and Sigiriya wew Thawulla Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mahagedara Wellness Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Mahagedara Wellness Retreat have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Mahagedara Wellness Retreat offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mahagedara Wellness Retreat?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Mahagedara Wellness Retreat?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Mahagedara Wellness Retreat accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.