We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Show Prices
#9 of 65 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,812: English reviews
Start your review of Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
 Click to rate
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a super luxury property, excellent rooms facing the Kandy river. You can spot a lot of birds throughout the day. Its a perfect place to just standby and relax and enjoy pristine views or perhaps take a boat ride on Kandy river Breakfast is absolutely amazing, a very large spread and variety of dishes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SoumyaKuber
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest , I am pleased read that you had such a wonderful time with us. We certainly try to make sure our guests have the time of their life and I’m happy to learn we succeeded. Thank you for your kind words and I would share your comments with our team members who helped make your visit a memorable...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We enjoyed our two night stay here. Room was good with a nice balcony. The pool area was very nice overlooking the river -quiet and peaceful away from the hustle and bustle of Kandy. The food in the buffet restaurant was good - one of the better buffet offerings we came across on our travels. It was a short inexpensive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crisp172
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your complimenting review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you had a truly enjoyable experience and our products and services were meeting your expectations. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back. Wish you a pleasant day .

Amble, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is a Beautiful, tasteful hotel, everything you could wish for in a luxury hotel. Our room was spacious enough, large comfy king size bed together with a modern, spotlessly clean bathroom and an exceptional gorgeous views of a forest and the river. The hotel pool area and public areas throughout the hotel are also top notch. The buffet provided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VikingRaider_10
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. It is such a pleasure to know that your experience has been simply amazing. Naturally, we are delighted that you appreciated our team’s heartfelt hospitality, even more so knowing that we lived up to high expectations. Once again we thank you for your feedback and look forward to your next...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is lovely and the service really nice. We were here for NYE and the gala dinner was lovely. What lets it down is the rooms - which have seen much better days and are miles away from anything!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria1513
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your overall stay.It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us. We have taken note of your concerns and it would be looked into. Once again we would like to thank you for choosing Cinnamon Citadel...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Last night in Sri Lanka before we moved on to the maldives very nice entrance to hotel with open plan bar area and pool by the side of a river. Nice buffet style selection for dinner nice comfy bed and slept well considering the heat and again if your a Brit wanting full English in the morning I don't think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us . We are happy to note that you had a comfortable and a relaxing stay in our resort and enjoyed all the facilities we had on offer.We also have taken notes of your concerns for our betterment . We look forward...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were looking for an upscale hotel for our stay in Kandy and chose Cinnamon Citadel. Unfortunately, we were disappointed at almost every turn starting upon arrival. The good part is that the lobby is beautiful and open to the river. Apart from that, it was downhill from there. We arrived to check-in and were politely asked to take a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank K B
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us. We thank you for the constructive feedback which is truly invaluable to us and we will certainly take the highlighted areas in to consideration for areas of improvement. While thanking you...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was a lovely hotel overlooking the river but with a great pool area. The food and beer was expensive, so we ate from the bar menu which was adequate for what we needed. We were only there one night but would have liked to of stayed another night just for the pool. The traffic in Kandy was horrendous so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tageen1
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and we are delighted to know your stay was a great one that highlights the fact that you enjoyed all our facilities and services . We thank you again for staying with us and would be thankful to have the opportunity to serve you again in...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very nice and clean hotel, rooms very smart and very clean. Great location over looking the river. The gardens were very well kept and tidy and the swimming pool was great. Staff excellent and friendly. The buffet meals were very good with plenty of choice to suit every ones taste.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikemiddler1
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on trip advisor . We are glad to know that your stay with us was a comfortable one and that you enjoyed all the facilities and services we had on offer . We look forward to your next visit . Wish you a pleasant day .

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spent one night after wedding on our vacation.Chose the hotel because of the brand. but we were disappointed from the very beginning. Pros; 1. Nice food at the pool and the main restaurant 2. Friendly staff in the restaurant 3. Calm & quiet environment 4. Pool Guy was helpful Cons; 1. Prices that we booked for, is different from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kasuni P
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor . We thank you for your detailed feedback, we do regret that there were certain aspects of your stay with us which did not have a positive impact on your holiday experience. All aspects highlighted by you have been taken note of and looked into.We...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

One of the best buffet meals I and my partner ever had! We had a comfortable stay here while we explored Kandy. The room was basic and quite dated in its dark chocolate brown decor. I think the rooms at least could do with an update. The rest of Hotel was well maintained and showed potential of becoming a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Candida S
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Citadel Kandy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor . We are extremely pleased to know that you had an excellent and enjoyable stay with us. I would also like to thank you for your very kind words in relation to the resort and its facilities.We are also happy to note that you enjoyed the...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,748 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1546)
Viewed
View from Room (126)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (287)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (233)
Viewed
Room/Suite (215)
Viewed
Dining (130)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
2:15
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (505)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (194)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (31)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Superior Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
3.5 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#8 of 65 in Kandy
1,805 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#12 of 65 in Kandy
801 reviews
1.8 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 65 in Kandy
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
2.2 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#3 of 65 in Kandy
565 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#14 of 65 in Kandy
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sweeping green hills, the longest river in the country, misty mornings and the fresh outdoors, are just a few things that naturally come together here to make the perfect holiday. Just 2 1/2 hours from the Sri Lanka's Capital City Colombo, Chaaya Citadel Kandy has reinvented itself taking into account the needs of holidaymakers around the world. Replete with a sense of history, serenity and majesty, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing Kandyan history, the culture and the arts that play a big role in the lives of the Sri Lankans. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cinnamon Citadel Kandy

Address: 124, Srimath Kuda Ratwatte Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka (Formerly Chaaya Citadel Kandy)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range: $113 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Citadel Kandy 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Cinnamon Citadel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Citadel Kandy Hotel Kandy
Chaaya Citadel Hotel Kandy
Kandy Chaaya Citadel Hotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kandy
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#4 Family Hotel in Kandy
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Cinnamon Citadel Kandy staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Cinnamon Citadel Kandy staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We were down! on level 3 which seemed odd but the balcony overlooked the river and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles tageen1, 3 days ago | Read review
“all the rooms look out over the river but if on ground floor you can walk from you patio to the edge of the river”
 of 5 bubbles mikemiddler1, 4 days ago | Read review
“make sure the get the correct price and the correct bed.”
 of 5 bubbles kasunip2017, 5 days ago | Read review
“Try getting a room overlooking the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles divy03, 1 week ago | Read review
“River view is good but not all river view rooms have great river views!”
  • River room view
 of 5 bubbles ianEdinburgh, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question