We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Manor House Kandy

Save
Share
Katugastota-Kurunegala-Puttalam Hwy Nugawela, Kandy 20000 Sri Lanka
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (149)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (17)

About

#45 of 173 hotels in Kandy
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Built in 1884, Manor House is a traditional, stately Sri Lankan Aristocrat's home that has been refurbished in a style that retains its old world charm while also offering common modern amenities. Manor House offers Eleven comfortable rooms furnished in a blend of colonial and traditional Sri Lankan style. The property has a beautifully landscaped garden and outdoor pool and is located a short drive from the city center of Kandy in a tranquil setting. We provide our guests with a homely experience, through our attentiveness, traditional architecture of the home and local staff and traditional Sri Lankan food. Special requests can be met with advance notice.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Spa
Parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Meeting rooms
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Classic
208Reviews4Q+A44Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 103
  • 60
  • 22
  • 10
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Harith Abeyratne wrote a review May 2021
Kandy, Sri Lanka42 contributions1 helpful vote
Would certainly not recommend this place to stay/dine. I would leave zero stars if I could. The food is mediocre for the price and to make it even worse it is not even close to authentic. The Manager here, Mr Raj, is the most irresponsible person I’ve ever met. Please avoid this place!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
anne claire c wrote a review Jan 2020
6 contributions1 helpful vote
I had booked last year at the manor house and pre paid the entire stay. AFter the bombing last year, I informed them 3 months in advance that we would cancel the trip and hence was asking for a reimbursement as per the hotel policy. After several emails and exchanges, they simply stopped answering me, and I am still expecting for a reimbursement which never came. I find that so unprofessional, and the fact of not answering anymore is clearly showing that they do not want to reimburse me.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Anna J wrote a review Dec 2019
Budapest, Hungary17 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed 3 night here with our family and stayed in the 2 towers plus a large additional room nearby and basically had the entire floor, balcony for ourselves. The house is gorgeous, well maintained, a lovely garden and a great pool. Breakfast is served in the garden and both Sri Lankan and international foods are available. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. There were very few guests and felt like we were staying in a private home. Like in many places in Sri Lanka, service is quite slow and anticipate a long wait before eating...we always ordered 1 hour ahead of time while we swam or read.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Tower rooms are lovely
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Himanshu M wrote a review Nov 2019
7 contributions4 helpful votes
This year we had booked Manor house for a trip with 4 families including my mother who is 73. The booking was done couple of months ahead. All our communication was with their Marketing manager Thuwan Raj. After the blast in Sri Lanka I informed Thuwan Raj that we were cancelling our trip and this communication took place 30 days before our arrival which was as per the zero cancellation fees rule. To my utter surprise, five days before our planned travel, Manor House charged us as they had my credit card details. I spoke to Thuwan and he said that this must have been a mistake and he would look into it. Post that he refused to pick up my call. I raised a dispute with the credit card company and after three months of investigation the credit card company informed me that Thuwan had told them that he had spoken to me and I had asked him to keep the money as I would visit Sri Lanka end of the year. This was nothing but lies and this is the kind of professionalism that you can expect from Manor House. Please do not engage with Manor House / Thuwan Raj as they are completely unprofessional. Calls and mails to Chitra De Silva who is probably a Director have also remained unanswered. They do not deserve to be in the hospitality business.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Manor H, Public Relations Manager at Manor House Kandy
Responded Nov 22, 2019
Greeting From Manor House Kandy.. Dear Himanshu . Thuwan Raj is not working anymore for the manor house . But we went though with all the communication which you had with him . He had charged the payment as per company policy to make insure that the booing is confirmed . That too after you had send two insisting mails to charge on your credit card to make sure the booking is confirmed . And there are no mail had received from your end to cancel your booking . By giving wrong information like this you are damaging our image . .And we are going to drop a complain mail for the IBM regarding this matter .
Read more
Sam J wrote a review Oct 2019
Cookham, United Kingdom3 contributions
we had a wonderful stay here just before Easter and enjoyed the Buddhist New year with the hotel staff. they couldn't have made us more welcome!! Kanishka needs special mention as he was so helpful in every way and even entertained the girls (7 and 9 years old) with all his rabbits. If you want a traditional Sri Lankan breakfast just ask – you won’t need to eat for the rest of the day. Highly recommend this place!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$41 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
manor house kandy hotel kandy, manor hotel kandy
LOCATION
Sri LankaCentral ProvinceKandy DistrictKandy
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Manor House Kandy
Which popular attractions are close to Manor House Kandy?
Nearby attractions include Temple of the Sacred Tooth Relic (3.9 miles), Jayamali Batiks Studio (3.7 miles), and Royal Botanical Gardens (4.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Manor House Kandy?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Manor House Kandy?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Manor House Kandy?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Manor House Kandy?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cool Corner Fried Ice Cream Parlor, Vito Wood Fired Pizza, and Mulberry SugarCarb.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Manor House Kandy?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Manor House Kandy have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Manor House Kandy offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Manor House Kandy offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Manor House Kandy?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Temple of the Gadaladenia (5.5 miles).