We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Katugastota-Kurunegala Road 5th Mile Post, Aluthwalawa Mawatha, Nugawela, Kandy 20000 Sri Lanka
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (149)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (17)

About

#39 of 188 hotels in Kandy
Location
3.6
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.3
Value
4.0
Built in 1884, Manor House is a traditional, stately Sri Lankan Aristocrat's home that has been refurbished in a style that retains its old world charm while also offering common modern amenities. Manor House offers Eleven comfortable rooms furnished in a blend of colonial and traditional Sri Lankan style. The property has a beautifully landscaped garden and outdoor pool and is located a short drive from the city center of Kandy in a tranquil setting. We provide our guests with a homely experience, through our attentiveness, traditional architecture of the home and local staff and traditional Sri Lankan food. Special requests can be met with advance notice.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Spa
Parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Meeting rooms
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quaint
208Reviews4Q+A44Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 104
  • 60
  • 22
  • 10
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Madushani S wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions
I stayed there sometime ago. Actually this is really nice place to relax. Greeny environment with cool climate. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and tidy. Foods tasty.. restaurant staff did thei job as very well. Warmly welcome and quick service from front office.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
anne claire c wrote a review Jan 2020
10 contributions2 helpful votes
I had booked last year at the manor house and pre paid the entire stay. AFter the bombing last year, I informed them 3 months in advance that we would cancel the trip and hence was asking for a reimbursement as per the hotel policy. After several emails and exchanges, they simply stopped answering me, and I am still expecting for a reimbursement which never came. I find that so unprofessional, and the fact of not answering anymore is clearly showing that they do not want to reimburse me.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anna J wrote a review Dec 2019
Budapest, Hungary26 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed 3 night here with our family and stayed in the 2 towers plus a large additional room nearby and basically had the entire floor, balcony for ourselves. The house is gorgeous, well maintained, a lovely garden and a great pool. Breakfast is served in the garden and both Sri Lankan and international foods are available. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. There were very few guests and felt like we were staying in a private home. Like in many places in Sri Lanka, service is quite slow and anticipate a long wait before eating...we always ordered 1 hour ahead of time while we swam or read.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Tower rooms are lovely
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Himanshu M wrote a review Nov 2019
7 contributions4 helpful votes
This year we had booked Manor house for a trip with 4 families including my mother who is 73. The booking was done couple of months ahead. All our communication was with their Marketing manager Thuwan Raj. After the blast in Sri Lanka I informed Thuwan Raj that we were cancelling our trip and this communication took place 30 days before our arrival which was as per the zero cancellation fees rule. To my utter surprise, five days before our planned travel, Manor House charged us as they had my credit card details. I spoke to Thuwan and he said that this must have been a mistake and he would look into it. Post that he refused to pick up my call. I raised a dispute with the credit card company and after three months of investigation the credit card company informed me that Thuwan had told them that he had spoken to me and I had asked him to keep the money as I would visit Sri Lanka end of the year. This was nothing but lies and this is the kind of professionalism that you can expect from Manor House. Please do not engage with Manor House / Thuwan Raj as they are completely unprofessional. Calls and mails to Chitra De Silva who is probably a Director have also remained unanswered. They do not deserve to be in the hospitality business.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Manor H, Public Relations Manager at Manor House Kandy
Responded Nov 22, 2019
Greeting From Manor House Kandy.. Dear Himanshu . Thuwan Raj is not working anymore for the manor house . But we went though with all the communication which you had with him . He had charged the payment as per company policy to make insure that the booing is confirmed . That too after you had send two insisting mails to charge on your credit card to make sure the booking is confirmed . And there are no mail had received from your end to cancel your booking . By giving wrong information like this you are damaging our image . .And we are going to drop a complain mail for the IBM regarding this matter .
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sam J wrote a review Oct 2019
Cookham, United Kingdom3 contributions
we had a wonderful stay here just before Easter and enjoyed the Buddhist New year with the hotel staff. they couldn't have made us more welcome!! Kanishka needs special mention as he was so helpful in every way and even entertained the girls (7 and 9 years old) with all his rabbits. If you want a traditional Sri Lankan breakfast just ask – you won’t need to eat for the rest of the day. Highly recommend this place!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
myw_12_12 wrote a review Feb 2019
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom59 contributions15 helpful votes
We had planned to stay one night in Kandy before travelling on to Ella. That changed within the first hours of our arrival in this beautiful colonial-style hotel. We were won over by one of the best curry lunches ever, and an elegant room that had enough space for two messy people to seem tidy! Right from the start both management and Kadeeshka - the boy who seemed to be everywhere just when we needed assistance - were attentive and caring. They helped us book taxis, find tuk-tuks, cancel our onward accommodation, hunt down train tickets. Nothing was too much for them. The hotel is a quiet haven well away from the traffic chaos of Kandy, but close enough to be able to get to town within half an hour. It is simply beautiful, and I can understand that it was entered into the UNESCO heritage sites in Asia. We can't wait to go back next year!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Perhaps the rooms upstairs have a better view, but we were happy with our room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mee wrote a review Jan 2019
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely airy rooms, and dining areas. Building kept true to colonial style, and would certainly go again. Food is freshly made and really one of the best. Missed the 5/5, I found the main manager guy quite brash e.g. when our group of 7 tried to order the dessert options, he abruptly said that please do not order different things as I it takes time to prepare. hmm. Despite this, I do think this is a wonderful place to stay
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
globalnomad wrote a review Jan 2019
Atlanta, Georgia27 contributions2 helpful votes
We booked the Manor House for what we thought would be a unique experience during a 3 week stay in SL that included 14 carefully selected properties that we were hoping would allow us to encapsulate the diversity of what this beautiful island offers. After spending an truly magical morning at Pinnawela elephant orphanage we started our journey to the Manor House and we made a courtesy call to the hotel that we were onroute & provided them an ETA. To our utter shock and disbelief we were casually told that there was no reservation under our name. I then used the reservation confirmation # along with time & date, credit card and various datapoints in the hope they can track our reservation and the answer to all was a cold 'No'. I then asked to be transferred to a manager & was provided a tel # in their colombo office. A lady answered but as I started explaining she cut me off saying she their office i closed due to the Christmas holidays! Upon pleading for a solution she asked I speak to the on-premise manager who repeated the 'no reservation' reply but I insisted on forwarding the booking via email. After receiving no response for at least a hour I called & was now told they are having a 'maintenance issue'. No apology. No comp. No admission they had my reservation all along & goofed up or worse as I'll explain later. Besides, zero alternate solution was offered to a customer who is literally at their doorstep after a 28 flight from the US & a 5 hour roadtrip from Colombo. So I asked what my options are to which the nonchalant response was 'let us call you back'. Another hour later, no response so we pulled over onroute & called again & was forced to repeat the entire episode to which I was told to review an alternate property which they unilaterally chose & traded me down big time. Upon reading reviews it was evident they were trying to offer a 1 star mom & pop house 20 KM away and for a room rate that was 75% lower than what I had already paid for the Manor House. They claimed that was the only option I had & given were were desperate to salvage whatever we could of our booking, we reluctantly accepted since we had no where else to go for the night. Even though we were promised meals & driver's quarters by the Manor House, the new place claimed they had none of those instructions from the Manor House so we ended up dishing out more money. Upon relating this sad series of events to various guides, hotel managers and travels agents we were in contact with during the rest of our trip, we were told that since this was busy season, the Manor House probably bumped us off for someone who was willing to pay higher. So much for booking early! All 13 other properties we stayed were great with zero to no hiccups. We're glad we had the lowest point of our trip early because the great experiences during the rest of trip more than compensated & try as they did, the borderline scamsters @ the Manor House failed to tarnish our overall impression of this beautiful country & her people. In 40+ countries visited so far & 100s of hotel / AirBnb / VRBO reservations spanning 30 years, I have never encountered a hotel lie the Manor House that treats their customers with such disdain, apathy & complete abandonment. Not one apology to-date & no compensation for meals / drivers overnight housing yet. I'm back in the US now, I have given up following up. Caveat Emptor! You have been warned.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid for your sanity and peace of mind.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Couple of Victoria Canadians wrote a review Dec 2018
2 contributions
The service was excellent. Check-in was awesome, welcome drink and very accommodating as to our request for an upper floor room. If you pay with cash its possible to get a small discount (which we did). The tuk tuk ride was 850 from the train station we are told that this is a great price. Anything less than 1000 is a good price. So keep that in mind. If you can get the drivers number they are likely to offer discounts if you use them multiple times. The premises of the hotel are gorgeous, and very well maintained. You will enjoy breakfast on in the garden, and this was probably the highlight of my trip. As the service was attentive, food excellent, and scenery stunning- what more could I ask for. They call it "continental breakfast" however we got omelettes, bread, and a spread of traditional sri lankan dishes, fruit, coffee, tea and juice. Both mornings had slightly different offerings. The rooms were OK. The bathroom was nice and clean and had all amenities. Although the shampoo and conditioner were not so pleasant so bring your own. The bed, was somewhat thin, and sagged a bit in the middle. The bed side lamps could use a replacing as they are old, and show in appearance. The TV had no channels. And the wifi signal in the top floor (tower) room was so weak we were not able to use it. Wifi does work well in all common areas including where you eat breakfast. Mosquitoes are a problem at night only in the main areas (lower floor rooms I saw had nets... however if you keep the door closed (in the tower room), it wasn't an issue for us nor do you need nets. Food: we did order dinner to our room 1 night, they make it to order so you do need to order a bit in advance. If you don't eat spicy you have to say NO chili's! (I said a little bit hot was okay- but it was VERY hot still... so FYI a little bit hot there is not the same as a little bit hot in the western world). Since there was so many mosquitoes at night we asked to dine in our room and they brought in table and chairs and the whole set up for our room which was very kind of them. They do not serve alcohol at the hotel! However, if you ask, they will send an employee in a tuk tuk to get you some. I think we paid 600 or something for 2 beer. All in all very nice stay! The only negative is bed was not so comfy, and no wifi in room. Staff and breakfast is for sure their strength!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: tower room is cool, but steep stairs, no wifi in room, lower floor rooms probably have mosiquitos...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manor H, General Manager at Manor House Kandy
Responded Dec 20, 2018
Dear Guest, Greetings from Manor House and Spa and thank you for taking time to write a wonderful review following your stay at the Manor House We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the compliments made on the setting and the hospitality of our associates. Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at Manor House and Spa. We at Manor House and Spa. Always take constant effort to create a relaxing environment and offer efficient, warm and personalized service to our guests. It is always good to know that our guests left our hotel completely satisfied, as this is what we strive for at Manor House and Spa. Thank you once again and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next visit to Kandy. Ayubowan!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matthew P wrote a review Nov 2018
Sydney, Australia65 contributions19 helpful votes
Manor House is a beautiful old colonial building set in a charming garden. Although on a busy road it is set back and very quiet. The rooms are nice though some of the furnishings are a little dated and could do with an upgrade. The hotel is a fair way out of town but a tuk tuk is cheap and easy to find. Special mention must go to a young man named Kanishka. Not only did he serve breakfast but he fixed the plumbing carried the luggage and was full of helpful information. It is lovely to see someone so proud of their job and going out of their way to not only help but inform the guests. He deserves a pay rise!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manor H, General Manager at Manor House Kandy
Responded Dec 1, 2018
Dear Mathew Greetings from Manor House and Spa and thank you for taking time to write a wonderful review following your stay at the Manor House We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the compliments made on the setting and the hospitality of our associates. Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at Manor House and Spa. We at Manor House and Spa. Always take constant effort to create a relaxing environment and offer efficient, warm and personalized service to our guests. It is always good to know that our guests left our hotel completely satisfied, as this is what we strive for at Manor House and Spa. Thank you once again and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next visit to Kandy. Ayubowan!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$34 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
manor house kandy hotel kandy, manor hotel kandy
LOCATION
Sri LankaCentral ProvinceKandy DistrictKandy
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MANOR HOUSE KANDY - Prices & Hotel Reviews (Sri Lanka)

Frequently Asked Questions about Manor House Kandy
Which popular attractions are close to Manor House Kandy?
Nearby attractions include Temple of the Sacred Tooth Relic (3.9 miles), Jayamali Batiks Studio (3.7 miles), and Kandy Lake Club - Cultural Dance Show (4.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Manor House Kandy?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Manor House Kandy?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Manor House Kandy?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Manor House Kandy?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cool Corner Fried Ice Cream Parlor, Vito Wood Fired Pizza, and Sri Krishna Dosai.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Manor House Kandy?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Manor House Kandy have airport transportation?
Yes, Manor House Kandy offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Manor House Kandy offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Manor House Kandy?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Temple of the Gadaladenia (5.5 miles).