We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Queen's Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Queen\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

996 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 679: English reviews
Start your review of Queen's Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Colonial quaint hotel right on the lake,next to temple Of The tooth.food was good as were the rooms and price.,definitely worth a visit,as Was The pool in the evening as bats fly overhead as you have an evening swim, check them out

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eamonn R
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Raj era hotel. Has seen better days. Only thing really going for it is its location. It is close to the Temple of the tooth. It is possible to walk to the Temple if you can take the heat. Needs a multi million dollar face lift.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank drjeff
Kozhikode, India
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Walked in here for a dinner with family. The food was good, however was surprised that there wasn't an option for a la Carte . Would do good to have dessert spoon :) They could do better with presentation of platter

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yathramozhi
Queens Q, Manager at Queen's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Queens Hotel and for sharing your feedback with us. Your feedback is important to us as it will assist us in enhancing our guest experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and we hope this will not deter you from visiting us again. Once again, thank you for your...

Kowloon
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It's a lovely building but I wouldn't stay there again if they paid me. So many problems, too little space. One of the biggest: no lift/elevator. Told me it would be fixed the next day. Not fixed while I was there. Nothing comes on time. Be prepared to wait for hours for anything you need and, I promise you, you'll...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moniker11
Queens Q, Manager at Queen's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to read that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and it has been considered with a serious note and the same has been discussed with the relevant department to look into these matters. Once again; I apologize...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place could be beautiful... but it is run down, over priced, food was poor and more like a guest house than a hotel. The only upside is that the staff were friendly and it was opposite the temple which was the sole reason for our stopover. There is no basic compendium in the room to let you know anything,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jolee262
Queens Q, Manager at Queen's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please accept our most sincere apologies for your unsatisfactory experience throughout your stay with us. Your feedback has been passed on and we will look at it in a positive way to improve our services. We are disheartened to know that we were unable to make...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Queens hotel is an old colonial style hotel with some charm. However, the rooms are very old and they need to be renovated. The worst part of the rooms are the toilets, it was almost impossible to get hot water in the shower and it was not very clean. the hotel is also located next to a busy road and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu S
Queens Q, Manager at Queen's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Queens Hotel. Your feedback is important to us in every way, so we thank you for bringing some areas that need to be looked into up to our attention. While thanking you for your patronage, we hope to have the...

Kandy, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whilst the hotel has clearly seen better days, it provides a wonderfully warm welcome. Rooms are spacious although our front facing rooms could have done with a bathroom update and were noisy. The location is superb in terms of being right in the heart of Kandy and it was wonderful to sit eating breakfast with the doors open to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bluewavetravels10
Queens Q, Manager at Queen's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel, your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need updating, it is a pleasure to announce that we will be refurbishing our rooms...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel in my opinion had seen better days but had a certain warmth and charm that outweighed the slightly run down look..My room was very large clean and had a balcony overlooking a good swimming pool ..Only breakfast in the hotel and the food was varied and adequate for our needs. .I found the staff polite friendly and attentive...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terry S
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Positives Location excellent next to Kandy Lake and the Temple of the Tooth. Colonial style hotel with interesting history. Royce tours, an operator based in the lobby of the hotel, provided a fantastic driver/guide called Sena who took us to various places and then on to Colombo, for a good price. Negatives The service from staff could have been better....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dendix
Queens Q, Manager at Queen's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dendix, First of all allow me to thank you for your patronage and your feedback. It is always very disappointing for us when we are unable to provide our guests with the relaxing experience you are seeking when staying with us. I will not be offering any excuses but my most sincere apologies for having let you down on...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this hotel based on other reviews and it's central location. Unfortunately, it was very disappointing. The hotel is very run down and feels more like a hostel. Our room was large but the toilet door did not close, the fittings were falling off the wall and for some unknown reason there was an unplumbed bath in my room!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ben M
Queens Q, Manager at Queen's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shabby, Please accept my sincere gratitude for your decision to stay at Queens Hotel kandy. I am very much regret to read about front office,engineering, housekeeping and food related issues. My sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations in this aspect. I would like to inform you that, your feedback is taken very seriously and measures will be taken...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

590 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (572)
Viewed
Room/Suite (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (165)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (196)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.2 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#21 of 53 in Kandy
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 53 in Kandy
1,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 53 in Kandy
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#44 of 53 in Kandy
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 53 in Kandy
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WELCOME TO QUEEN'S HOTEL One of Sri Lanka's iconic historic hotels, Queen's Hotel, situated in the heart of Kandy, faces the beautiful splendid surroundings alongside the Kandy Lake. With a history of over 160 years The Queen's Hotel is a 90 room British Colonial style luxury hotel. This former Governor's residence is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka which is managed by the Ceylon Hotels Corporation. What's momentous about Queen's Hotel is that it is situated in Kandy, where the world prominent "Temple of the Tooth Relic of Lord Buddha" is. Every country has its pageants and festivals and so does Kandy which has the world famous "Kandy Esala Perahera Pageant" which is held annually. This pageant proceeds along side the Queen's Hotel's East & West wings, providing the most magnificent viewing facilities for the guests who patronize the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Address: Dalada Street | Central, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Price Range: $70 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Queen's Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Queen's Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Wait until it reopens, is my best guess and get a room away from the street if you like quiet”
  • The room was fine but the bed was not comfortable
moniker11, 6 days ago | Read review
“Rooms on the road sides are noisy due to traffic and horns”
dendix, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Check the other hotels in Kandy”
HDSPat1984, Mar 16, 2017 | Read review
“There are corner rooms which face both Kandy Lake and the Temple of Tooth.”
erangatennakoon, Mar 10, 2017 | Read review
“Best request a room not facing the Main Street”
cheryls754, Mar 6, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question