We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Topaz

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Topaz
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

548 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 374: English reviews
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

situated on a hill lock this hotel is both good for family and corporate. The room size were moderate but very cozy. The buffet was splendid.The rooms are given different colors . We had booked 16 rooms and all had a different look because of the fabric selection. The wifi facilities are good.

Helpful?
Thank ishika09
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A good place close to the Centre of Kandy but felt like you were out of town with the hill top view. It was my birthday when I was there and they went through the effort of presenting me with a cake😀😀😀 Nice staff and friends atmosphere all round. It was a good place to stay and have the right... More 

Helpful?
Thank dougy6972
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Situated in the hills of Aniwatte this is a place with stunning vistas. The nights and evenings are so relaxing here. Rooms are average and food is good and nice. The chicken dishes are quite good. Staff is friendly and nice. Pool is large but is a bit far from the hotel per Se. Parking is more than adequate. Good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Miyuru W
Front Office M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review on trip advisor. We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at Hotel Topaz. I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations. Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward... More 

Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We would never have visited Hotel Topaz if not for the 'Overnight Stay for Two' voucher I and my husband won at a Dinner dance. I must say here that I have no habit of leaving positive reviews always. If you read my previous reviews you'd realised that. However, I'm compelled here to say lots of good about Topaz and... More 

Helpful?
Thank nilferdi
Front Office M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review on trip advisor. We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at Hotel Topaz. I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations. Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First things, reception is on the fourth floor and only small buses can fit the roads to get to this hotel. The location in Kandy is amazing and the views are spectacular. The food is not horrible but the buffet could definitely be organised better. The food is located in several different sections and it is just confusing. I didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Legolas_Twinkletoes
Front Office M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review on trip advisor. We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at Hotel Topaz. I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations. Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel located at the top of the hill provided good view of the kandy town and lake. Room was spacious and comfortable - there was a lizard in the room in the second day but the housekeeping staff made sure it satyed inside its den. Food was good but buffet spread remained the same with little variation. Too many... More 

Helpful?
Thank NimsandNiks
Front Office M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review on trip advisor. We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at Hotel Topaz. I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations. Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward... More 

Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had gone as a group from our office and this place was our first stop in Sri Lanka. The traffic from Colombo to Kandy was very bad and the drive was very long. Our travel agent had called in advance and the hotel obliged us with keeping the dinner ready for us. The location of the hotel is such... More 

Helpful?
Thank EshwarSaba
Front Office M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review on trip advisor. We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at Hotel Topaz. I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations. Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward... More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Oh where to begin with the bucket of awful that is this hotel and its sister hotel, The Topaz, where I will also post this review! A chronology of claptrap: We made a booking for The Tourmaline Hotel (sister hotel of the Topaz) through Agoda and paid in full for five adults for a seven night stay. We received a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jay M
Front Office M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We are always concerned of the convenience & satisfaction beyond value for money of our valued guests & it is revealed by the reviews published on this forum. However we regret that it has not been the same with you due to a booking which came across to us through "Agoda" even whilst they were informed in writing... More 

Travelers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel, nice pool area, food was good and staff were lovely. Stayed two nights as part of our tour, roof top bar was nice watching sunset... Only one problem was they tried to charge us for drinks that we hadn't had, but luckily you sign after your meals and drinks and this one didn't have signature on so we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lmunton84
Front Office M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review on trip advisor. We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at Hotel Topaz. I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations. Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The view was nice. The buffet was not enormous, bit it tasted good. The rooms an the service was not below or above average. So all in all an average ok tourist hotel. A funny thing was, that we met the youth Sri Lanka cricket nationalteam in the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Andreas D
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

270 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (266)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#12 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
1.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#11 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
3.1 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#8 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 stars 1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sevana Guest House
Sevana Guest House
#7 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
9.8 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Topaz was built in 1976 and fashioned after a much loved gem stone found in Sri Lanka. Considering its situation in the hill capital of Kandy, the last royal stronghold in the country, Hotel Topaz is considered the jewel in the crown of Kandy.Nestled amidst lush tropical greenery, surrounded by the distinctive Knuckles Mountain range and Bible Rock, enveloped in the cool winds blowing through the mountains, Hotel Topaz offers something for everyone.The short distance away from the city centre itself, lends the hotel and its guests maximum accessibility no matter what the choice of activity is. However Hotel Topaz offers guests a tranquil setting and the option of exploring the city’s rich heritage in style and comfort.The warm and personal service serves to truly bring out the widely famed Sri Lankan hospitality. Guests at Hotel Topaz are made to feel at home, and explore the surrounding gardens or have a cocktail or high-tea on our famous rooftop terrace with its 360 degree view of the city and its hills. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Topaz

Address: Anniewatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range: $73 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Topaz 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Topaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay