We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Hilltop

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Hilltop
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

580 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 406: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Hilltop
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in Sri Lanka.. rooms are larger compared to most of other hotels.. rooms are very clean too.. Breakfast buffet was good. Specially love the coconut roti with katta sambol.. 😊 Staff were very friendly and supportive. They have a nice pool but couldn't use it. Overall its a very nice hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suhail A
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went there to spend the night after a party..The only room remained was a standard A/c room at around LKR 20,000..The room is terribly small and not suited for that price..There are lot of places with high quality at lesser prices than that in kandy..Very dissapointed..However we complained and they returned the money thereafter..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dilanka A
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the view was great overlooking the mountains. the food was not great though the meals has a large variety. would suugest to develop a good vegetarian or indian cusine. The restaurants service could get more better. the rooms were great however wifi was only available in the lobby and would not connect easily. the staff was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjporwal
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us; please accept our apologies on the inconveniences caused. We are pleased to note that our Buffet comprises of a substantial choice of Indian and Vegetarian dishes. However, we...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in January '17. THE GOOD - Location: Located on a hill-top, as the name aptly suggest, waking up to the view the rooms offers is simply amazing. You get a splendid view of the entire town. A little difficult to access without a car due to a steep hill climb. Rooms:...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Garima P
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us; please accept our apologies on the inconveniences caused. Please note that WIFI is available in the public area; however, we admit that it is less effective in rooms....

Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Kandy is a very hectic place. During the day AND night the only thing you hear at this hilltop is honking cars...The hotel did not have WIFI and the rooms but certainly the bathroom needs renovation. Friendly and helpful staff. The top floor seemed cleaner than the floors below.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Esther B
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us; please accept our apologies on the inconveniences caused. Please note that the hotel is situated in the middle of the city center of Kandy; hence the noise is...

Vancouver
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here 2 nights on an organized bike tour, but so did many bus tours and a wedding reception one night. The room was good, big dinner buffet, pool looked ok although we did not use it. Bar service was sketchy, forgot my order then billed both the original request and the replacement. It's a climb from the main...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emkay0
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for visiting Hotel Hilltop and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your keenness in sharing your sincere thoughts with us which pave us way for further improvement. Please accept our in sincere apologies on the inconveniences you had o face. We hope that you would give us another opportunity...

Reviewed January 21, 2017

This is a nice hotel about 20min wash from the centre of Kandy, and up a hill at the end! I walked it and it was not too bad, and I didn't feel unsafe either. The rooms are fine, the pool is a funny shape but fine and the breakfast was pretty good with omlettes, waffles and pancakes made fresh,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WelshPhys
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us. It is our pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the culinary offerings as well. Trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great...

Reviewed January 19, 2017

Nice hotel. Little bit out of town and hard to climb if you are without car. Hotel is spacious, with lot of air. Nice (unheated) pool. Food was excellent and good even for a kids. View is beautiful and food and drink prices are "average" for that kind of hotel. If you have transportation I will recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teo O
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for visiting Hotel Hilltop and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your keenness in sharing your sincere thoughts with us which pave us way for further improvement. We hope that you would give us another opportunity to welcome you back and assure you of delivering our superior service at...

Pune, India
Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

Kandy is a small town with not much to see around. Hilltop is located amidst a busy street. The drive up hill is steep and since it is isolated at the top, there isn't much noise at Hilltop. We stayed there for a night. 4 of us got 2 sharing rooms, 1 was big with 3 beds and a sitting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fatema R
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. We are grateful for your time and trouble taken to share with us. It is our pleasure to see that you have enjoyed the culinary experience on offer. Trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed December 31, 2016

I stayed in this hotel for a night. I went there on a package trip. Bit costly for travelers, but if you don't mind spending, then, this is an excellent place. Food is excellent and the staff are very nice and cooperative. Ambiance is really good. Best place for couple who are on honeymoon. If you are going for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SrikanthSrinivas
Nipuni S, Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are glad to see that you have chosen Hotel Hilltop for your holiday and thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your keenness in sharing your sincere thoughts with us and also thank you very much for the applause given as well. We hope that you would give us...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

364 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (335)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#12 of 65 in Kandy
807 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#18 of 65 in Kandy
1,165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#6 of 65 in Kandy
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#27 of 65 in Kandy
271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#38 of 65 in Kandy
966 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Price Range: $60 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Hilltop staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Hilltop staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Standard A/c rooms are not good for the price they offer”
 of 5 bubbles dilankaa2015, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Higher floors have better view. Good to check with the hotel before going as they do not adjust rooms after you've checked-in.”
 of 5 bubbles 651garimap, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Best views as this is on top of the hill.”
 of 5 bubbles SrikanthSrinivas, Dec 31, 2016 | Read review
“do not get rooms below the restaurant .”
 of 5 bubbles najeeraw, Dec 29, 2016 | Read review
“Choose the room to look around the city view”
 of 5 bubbles Prakash_Jay, Dec 21, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question