We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

W15 Hanthana Estate Kandy

Save
Share
No. 947,Uduwela Road, Udugama West,, Kandy 20000 Sri Lanka
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$556
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Expedia.com$556
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (75)
Dining (25)
Room & Suite (15)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from W15 Hanthana Estate Kandy
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#22 of 175 hotels in Kandy
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
A world of colonial charm that blends perfectly with its sublime surroundings of rolling tea plantations and emerald green forests. A beautifully restored 10 room bungalow, dating back to the days of the Raj, sits amidst the lush vegetation. Only 15 minutes from Kandy city center, the Hanthana mountain range is recognized as one of Sri Lanka’s most picturesque regions and the panoramic view from our bungalow will not disappoint. This heritage residence is reminiscent of a by-gone era, revived to accommodate every whim and fancy of the discerning traveler. The main bungalow features 6 exclusive and individually themed bedrooms with 4 more rooms being situated in the Stables. All accommodation is split into 3 exclusive categories. Each room has its own unique character and flavor waiting to be discovered and enjoyed by guests.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Tennis court
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Car hire
Adults only
Ski In / Ski Out
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Butler service
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Sinhala
49Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 48
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
shalini147 wrote a review Sep 17
Colombo, Sri Lanka52 contributions13 helpful votes
Absolutely superb view while having a delicious high tea served outside. Great service, wonderful rooms and living room and very relaxing. Really enjoyed the hotel. The meals were tastefully prepared.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
kerri m wrote a review Aug 2021
Colombo, Sri Lanka81 contributions52 helpful votes
+1
From the moment we contacted W15 reservations (Shahi) we realized that was no ordinary hotel. The booking was extremely efficient and professional. We had Tharanga contacting us prior to our arrival asking about our food preferences on arrival and ensuring we found the hotel by sending a pin. When we arrived we were welcomed graciously by the staff and shown to our room immediately which was absolutely beautiful and luxurious. We had a wonderful 3 nights, the food was plentiful and first class. The chef is extremely skilled and the beef was the best I have had in Sri Lanka. The experiences were fun and we took lots of pictures. We did a hike up to the mountain which is a nature lovers dream. Our guide Sanath was very knowledgeable with a degree in zoology and botany. He gave us a great commentary about the plants etc My son and my husband did the electric bike ride which they enjoyed..but it was not for the fainthearted, it was difficult! We all did the 11km tour of the area in the amazing vintage landrover. This was my highlight. I thoroughly enjoyed this..not to be missed. The views from W15 are absolutely breathtaking and are constantly changing. We really enjoyed having our delicious meals whilst looking out onto the mountain range. My son absolutely loved the swing, swinging with that view in front of you was spectacular. What really made this experience extra special was the personal butler..we had Tharanga and Gehan, both were absolutely fantastic. Extremely professional, helpful and courteous. I cannot rate this hotel highly enough if you get a chance..just do it! You won't regret it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Amrick Andrado, Sales at W15 Hanthana Estate Kandy
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 723kerrim, The team at W15 are overjoyed to see such comprehensive and flattering feedback of your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you and your family have experienced W15 Hanthana Estate to the fullest and are pleased to see such positive feedback about our staff. Our team at Hanthana is an absolute asset and we are immensely proud of them. Sanath is one of our gems and is a wealth of knowledge. He is a constant guest favorite as he goes above and beyond in his role to ensure our guests have memorable experiences in the great outdoors. Likewise, Tharanga, Gehan and our amazing team in the kitchen are constantly highlighted for their exceptional work and we are lucky to have them as a part of our team. Once again we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review and we hope to see you back in Hanthana soon! Best Regards, Amrick Andrado Manager - Sales
Read more
Chathura Gayanath wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Our stay at W 15 Hanthana was an unforgettable honeymoon vacation. It was an amazing place with relaxing atmosphere and finest luxuries . The next best part was the fantastic food and exceptional peraonalized service , that we have never experienced before anywhere else. On top of that the breathtaking veiw @W15 gives this place an unique atmosphere. Not to forget the staff was very attentive, professional and friendly. We highly recommend W 15 Hanthana estate kandy!!! Cannot wait to visit again!! Love Upeksha & Chathura.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Amrick Andrado, Sales at W15 Hanthana Estate Kandy
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear chathurat2019, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a five star review. We are extremely happy that you chose W15 Hanthana Estate for such a special occasion and we trust you will visit us again soon. Our team takes great pride in providing an unforgettable stay for all our guests and we look forward to your return. Thanking you once again on behalf of the team at W15. Best regards, Amrick Andrado Manager - Sales
Read more
Minella wrote a review Aug 2021
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Overall an absolutely great stay and experience as it was our first time there. Would give it a 10/10 . Staff were extremely friendly and very welcoming . Namely Tharanga , Dilanka & Gihan really made our stay extra welcoming and comfortable . Even the head chef Ajith and his staff made the stay extra special as they all personalized our food to our taste and made us anything and everything . Really happy with our stay will definitely come again and recommend to other friends and family .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Leave early morning it’s the best time
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Amrick Andrado, Sales at W15 Hanthana Estate Kandy
Responded Aug 5, 2021
Dear Minella21, Our team is extremely grateful for this wonderful five star review. We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was special and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Read more
mangkaru wrote a review Apr 2021
San Francisco, California38 contributions92 helpful votes
What a total disappointment! It’s more expensive than Tea Trails, yet served us Nestcafe in the morning. Morning coffee matters a lot to me. I don’t blame the staff at all, it’s the management that should know better. When I’ve complained they said they ran out of their “Guatemalan Beans”. If I’m the manager/owner of such a high end place, I’d personally drive from Colombo with at least a pack of local Hansa coffee. I do not expect this from a regular lodge, however when you charge this much and market it as a high end boutique, we go there with certain set of expectations. Overall people were service oriented, however I just couldn’t get over with the coffee situation as we’ve stayed there for three nights.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Amrick Andrado, Sales at W15 Hanthana Estate Kandy
Responded May 4, 2021
Dear mangkaru, Greetings from W15 and we sincerely thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. After taking time to thoroughly look into your feedback we have identified a supply issue as the reason for the shortage in coffee. Due to the Sinhalese and Tamil new year, during which you stayed with us, our courier partner was unable to deliver essential goods to us on time. Our team did it’s best to manage the issue on the first day and was able to provide imported coffee for the remainder of your stay. Our sincerest apologies for this shortcoming and we hope that apart from this issue your stay with us was satisfactory and we are also happy to note that you were happy with the service provided by our team at Hanthana. Thanking you once again for your valuable time and feedback. Best regards, Amrick Andrado Manager – Sales
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$193 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaCentral ProvinceKandy DistrictKandy
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about W15 Hanthana Estate Kandy
Which popular attractions are close to W15 Hanthana Estate Kandy?
Nearby attractions include Temple of the Sacred Tooth Relic (3.1 miles), Jayamali Batiks Studio (2.9 miles), and Royal Botanical Gardens (2.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at W15 Hanthana Estate Kandy?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at W15 Hanthana Estate Kandy?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at W15 Hanthana Estate Kandy?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at W15 Hanthana Estate Kandy?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to W15 Hanthana Estate Kandy?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cool Corner Fried Ice Cream Parlor, Mulberry SugarCarb, and Buono.
Are there opportunities to exercise at W15 Hanthana Estate Kandy?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Does W15 Hanthana Estate Kandy have an airport shuttle?
Yes, W15 Hanthana Estate Kandy offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at W15 Hanthana Estate Kandy?
Yes, laundry service and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at W15 Hanthana Estate Kandy?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Sinhala.
Are there any historical sites close to W15 Hanthana Estate Kandy?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Temple of the Gadaladenia (5.2 miles).