We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (2672)
360
Panoramas (17)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!STAY LONGER DINING SPECIAL
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 3 resorts in Kalutara
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
Breathe in that fresh sea air and feel the warmth of the sun against your skin. Before you, lies the ocean; behind you, the Kalu Ganga river, twisting almost 100 miles back to Sri Pada, the sacred mountain believed to be the footprint of the Buddha. Where the river meets the ocean, you'll find AVANI Kalutara Resort, and discover a place where your dreams of an island paradise come true.. This hotel was formely known as Kani Lanka Resort & Spa. Skim the white waves of the Indian Ocean on board a traditional fishing boat, or watch the sunlight glitter on the water as you kayak along the riverside... it's almost like you're paddling through diamonds. Later, draw close to the warmth of the beach-side fire and share stories of another incredible day. Savour every bite of that juicy fresh seafood and enjoy a sunset that's beautiful beyond belief...
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Boating
Entertainment staff
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi, Sinhala, Tamil
Hotel links
Special Offer:STAY LONGER DINING SPECIAL

Location

St. Sebastian's Road, Kalutara 12000 Sri Lanka
Avani Kalutara Resort
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles3,209 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Nestled in a picturesque location, Avani Kalutara Resort has garnered acclaim for its extensive amenities, including diverse dining options and activities suitable for the whole family. Guests have called out the resort's pristine cleanliness, from the spotless rooms to the well-kept pools. The rooms, celebrated for their beautiful views, can be on the smaller side, according to some travelers. While the service generally receives high marks for friendliness, there have been occasional lapses reported. Opinions on value are mixed, with the peaceful and scenic atmosphere being a highlight for many visitors.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Tranquil
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Well-appointed
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
3,209Reviews99Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,032
  • 761
  • 258
  • 106
  • 55
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Harsha W wrote a review Today
1 contribution
The Kalutara Avani Hotel offers a spacious venue with excellent service, making it ideal for family gatherings or official events. We went here for aurudu festival & it’s well organized by them. we had a good food experience here and also we enjoyed good looking nature environment Especially thanks for Ms Delshi for her kind cooperation for us.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
dev r wrote a review Nov 2023
3 contributions
Hotel's Favorite
We wanted to celebrate our anniversary at a beautiful/calm environment, we selected the best place. We chose the sea view room to have a good view of sea/sunset and we got it perfectly. All the environment of the hotel is very calm and clean. The food is also very good and had so much choices. It was a very perfect stay. Thank you Avani for the hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jude Silva, Other at Avani Kalutara Resort
Responded Nov 30, 2023
AYUBOWAN!! Dear 332devr, I would like to reach out and personally thank you for taking the time to leave such a glowing review. Your feedback means the world to AVANI family, and we are delighted to know that you had a positive experience with AVANI hotel landscapes, facilities and mouth watering cuisines. We are committed to providing exceptional services, and your kind words reinforce that we're on the right track. It's guests like you that make our work so rewarding. If there's ever anything more we can do for you or if you have any suggestions for improvement, please feel free to let us know. We genuinely value your input. Thanks again for choosing AVANI. Kind Regards, Jude Silva, Hotel Manager, Avani Kalutara Resort.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Surani D wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
We came to avani kalutara resort for our day outting. Stay was really amazing .they have full package with staff beautiful nature and rooms foodm. Everything was perfect . Food was yummy . Room was very clean . They have big pool .it was very clean . I like to mention miss wathsala . She was really kind during our stay
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sarani D wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
The hotel staff was very welcoming and helpful. Specially wathsala. We went for a dayout and she was able to give us a day room even though we had 19 packs. The food delicious and also the hotel ambience was nice. Overall good experience👍🏻✔️
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kaushali F wrote a review Apr 13
1 contribution
We came to day out with my parents to Avani kalutara resort. It was a great experience i had. Food, rooms, service were very high. Pool also clean. I recommend this hotel to visit. Special thanks to Miss Iresha and Mr piyathissa. All the staff were very kind.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: We came to day out with my parents to Avani kalutara resort. It was a great experience i had....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ASiva1972 wrote a review Apr 11
Banstead, United Kingdom5 contributions
We recently had the pleasure of staying in this resort for a few days . The most striking thing was the hospitality of the staff from front office, dining room, housekeeping, pool and portering . All were friendly and very helpful. A special mention to karunarachi from housekeeping for his excellent handiwork with towels on the bed. This is a clean and friendly hospital well worth returning in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jude Silva, Other at Avani Kalutara Resort
Responded 4 days ago
AYUBOWAN!! Dear Asiva, I would like to reach out and personally thank you for taking the time to leave such a review. Your feedback means the world to AVANI family, and we are delighted to know that you had a positive experience with AVANI hotel landscapes, facilities and mouth watering cuisines. We are committed to providing exceptional services, and your kind words reinforce that we're on the right track. It's guests like you that make our work so rewarding. If there's ever anything more we can do for you or if you have any suggestions for improvement, please feel free to let us know. We genuinely value your input. Thanks again for choosing AVANI. Kind Regards, Jude Silva, Hotel Manager, Avani Kalutara Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
4Work4Pleasure wrote a review Apr 10
Gurgaon30 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
With one caveat, our stay at the Avanti Kalutara was pretty perfect. First, the caveat: Plastic water bottles everywhere, and no structured and advertised process for filtered water in the rooms. Given that we were on a beautiful beach with lovely nature, all around, it felt terrible to be consuming water from the small, plastic water bottles, especially when similar bottles could also be found washed up on the shore elsewhere. But everything else was wonderful. The staff were helpful and smiling, the food was impeccable, the weather was lovely, the rooms were well-appointed, the gym and pool were good, there were lots of things to do. We would gladly go back again. Except for the water bottles.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jude Silva, Other at Avani Kalutara Resort
Responded 4 days ago
AYUBOWAN!! Dear 4work4pleasure, I would like to reach out and personally thank you for taking the time to leave such a review. Your feedback means the world to AVANI family, and we are delighted to know that you had a positive experience with AVANI hotel landscapes, facilities and mouth watering cuisines. We are committed to providing exceptional services, and your kind words reinforce that we're on the right track. It's guests like you that make our work so rewarding. If there's ever anything more we can do for you or if you have any suggestions for improvement, please feel free to let us know. We genuinely value your input. Thanks again for choosing AVANI. Kind Regards, Jude Silva, Hotel Manager, Avani Kalutara Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Steve M wrote a review Apr 9
Cambridge, United Kingdom11 contributions4 helpful votes
All fine. A little tired. 3-stars. This is probably the lowest standard of international hotels we stayed in during our Sri Lanka visit. However, nothing really to complain about, but glad we are only staying for two nights before heading home
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jude Silva, Other at Avani Kalutara Resort
Responded 4 days ago
AYUBOWAN Dear Steeve, Thank you for choosing AVANI Kalutara Resort and taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your rating will help us continually improve the standard and level of our service offered to all of our AVANI guests. However please do accept our sincere apology and I was extremely disappointed to read that we were not able to exceed your expectations at this time. We have well noted your highlighted point and also we will review it with our management team for further enhancement. Once again thank you very much for choosing Avani Kalutara Resort in Sri Lanka. The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards. Jude Silva, Hotel Manager. Avani Kalutara Resort.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sherpa20896325317 wrote a review Apr 6
1 contribution
Food was really delicious .Avani has international buffet with local verities.room was very clean and beautiful.all staff was very friendly and supportive.specially miss wathsala praneeth and Mr ashan .they have very nice beach and big pool . highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jude Silva, Other at Avani Kalutara Resort
Responded 1 week ago
AYUBOWAN!! Dear Sherpa, I would like to reach out and personally thank you for taking the time to leave such a review. Your feedback means the world to AVANI family, and we are delighted to know that you had a positive experience with AVANI hotel landscapes, facilities and mouth watering cuisines. We are committed to providing exceptional services, and your kind words reinforce that we're on the right track. It's guests like you that make our work so rewarding. If there's ever anything more we can do for you or if you have any suggestions for improvement, please feel free to let us know. We genuinely value your input. Thanks again for choosing AVANI. Kind Regards, Jude Silva, Hotel Manager, Avani Kalutara Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nohim S wrote a review Apr 6
1 contribution
We had our day outing other day.it was a great experience .Buffet was amazing and had many varieties and rooms is comfortable as well. Hope to come again in near future. Appreciate the support of front office department specially praneeth,wathsala and ashan.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jude Silva, Other at Avani Kalutara Resort
Responded 1 week ago
AYUBOWAN!! Dear Nohims, I would like to reach out and personally thank you for taking the time to leave such a review. Your feedback means the world to AVANI family, and we are delighted to know that you had a positive experience with AVANI hotel landscapes, facilities and mouth watering cuisines. We are committed to providing exceptional services, and your kind words reinforce that we're on the right track. It's guests like you that make our work so rewarding. If there's ever anything more we can do for you or if you have any suggestions for improvement, please feel free to let us know. We genuinely value your input. Thanks again for choosing AVANI. Kind Regards, Jude Silva, Hotel Manager, Avani Kalutara Resort
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kalutara area.
PRICE RANGE
$132 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaWestern ProvinceKalutara
NUMBER OF ROOMS
105
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AVANI KALUTARA RESORT $70 ($̶1̶6̶1̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews - Sri Lanka

Frequently Asked Questions about Avani Kalutara Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Avani Kalutara Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Avani Kalutara Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Avani Kalutara Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Avani Kalutara Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Avani Kalutara Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Red Lobster Tours & Restaurant, Fresh Lobsters Restaurant, and Spice Traders at Anantara Kalutara Resort.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Avani Kalutara Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Avani Kalutara Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Avani Kalutara Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Avani Kalutara Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Avani Kalutara Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Avani Kalutara Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Hindi, Tamil, and Sinhala.
Are there any historical sites close to Avani Kalutara Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Sri Lanka Tour Drivers (3.5 miles) and Kolanka Tours (3.6 miles).