We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

AVANI Kalutara Resort

Travelers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
AVANI Kalutara Resort
AVANI Kalutara Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,679 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,435: English reviews
Start your review of AVANI Kalutara Resort
 Click to rate
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A lovely hotel with great staff. A pity all inclusive was taken away as buying extras was very expensive...water 4 times the price of the high street, alcohol 5 times more expensive. I think the reason there were less guest than usual is the change in the all inclusive. We had on average 40 guests in the hotel for the...

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dean808
gselves, General Manager at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this review

Dear dean808 Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and that the team took such good care of you. Please contact me at gselves@minor.com when you wish to return and I will be delighted to provide you with a special rate Best Giles

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

After spending several days of busy scheduling and travel we wanted to end our visit to Sri Lanka with something more calm and relaxing. Avani provided just that. The test of a good hotel is how they deal with any problems. We were not entirely happy with the room we had originally booked, but without fuss or problems the manager...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlannGill
gselves, General Manager at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this review

Dear AlannGill Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that is is exactly what you needed and that you had such an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us. The team will be delighted to hear this. Please contact me at gselves@minor.com when you wish to return and I will be delighted...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel itself is on the beach and although you can't really swim because of the strong currents, it was still nice to be able to go for walks on the beach. The pool is next to the beach so on the days when we weren't doing excursions we stayed there. Staff is really attentive and friendly. Our rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcolette A
gselves, General Manager at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this review

Dear Marcolette A Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that it was amazing, that the team looked after you so well and that you had such an enjoyable time. Please contact me at gselves@minor.com when you wish to return and I will be delighted to provide you with a special...

WEST SUSSEX
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel nearly 20 years ago before the tsunami. At that time it was The Sinbad. We loved Sri Lanka so much that we decided to return to SL and stayed in Ahungalla. Our rep. kindly arranged for us to go and revisit this hotel. We were warmly welcomed by the Manager and his staff, given a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HOLIDAYSAREOURHOBBY
gselves, General Manager at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this review

Dear HOLIDAYSAREOURHOBBY Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that on your return after so long that you had such an enjoyable stay with ys and that the team look after you so well. Please contact me at gselves@minor.com when you wish to return and I will be delighted to provide...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A group of us went to this hotel for a beach holiday. The hotel itself was nice to look at but it was seriously lacking in atmosphere. The staff were helpful but it felt like they were killing time as there were not many guests. There was a fantastic shop just outside called Clements Jewellers who did bespoke jewellery as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fussydaddy
gselves, General Manager at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this review

Dear fussydaddy Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you overall had an enjoyable stay and sorry that the atmosphere was not what you were expecting. Please contact me at gselves@minor.com when you wish to return and I will be delighted to provide you with a special rate Best Giles

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A nice enough hotel - clean and relaxing, we were relocated here after our villa was overbooked. It is at the end of a long road next to a huge and fairly empty high-end hotel. The only restaurant within walking distance is The Red Lobster which was a welcome authentic and affordable dining option. The hotel itself was a fairly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PatsyM1976
gselves, General Manager at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this review

Dear PatsyM1976 Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that the team were friendly and looked after you. Please contact me at gselves@minor.com when you wish to return and I will be delighted to provide you with a special rate Best Giles

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice rooms- sea and lagoon view-, big, clean,designed. Food -very good and for all taste. Staff-especially those who clean the rooms are very kind and professionals They have made arrangements and decorations of towels daily . One minus: you could not bathe in the ocean due to high waves .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 260969iulia
gselves, General Manager at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this review

Dear 260969iulia Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and that the housekeeping team looked after you so well. Please contact me at gselves@minor.com when you wish to return and I will be delighted to provide you with a special rate Best Giles

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was a good size with a court yard view, very clean and well serviced. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed for a week and the evening buffet was a bit samey however we did get the option to eat at the sister hotel in the Spice Trader restaurant, we did have to pay a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pensioner115
gselves, General Manager at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this review

Dear pensioner115 Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable time, that the team looked after you so well and that you enjoyed the food in Spice Traders Please contact me at gselves@minor.com when you wish to return and I will be delighted to provide you...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of January. We arrived in torrential rain and then had two more evenings with heavy rain, thunder and lightning, as the monsoon had been poor and seemed to be going on longer than usual.This obviously did not show the place in the best light, but there were still reasons why we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
gselves, General Manager at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this review

Dear Carol B Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to learn that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. Our aim is to exceed our guests expectations at all times and I am sorry that on this occasion we have failed to do so. I will certainly discuss the points...

Bahrain
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A perfect place to enjoy a week in the sun, with friendly staff for whom nothing is too much to ask. Standard room could be bigger, but we weren't in there much as the pool area is so inviting. Good food at a reasonable price. Tours around Sri Lanka available upon request. Spa treatments available just next door. Not much...

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
gselves, General Manager at AVANI Kalutara Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sarah T Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay, that you enjoyed the resort facilities and that the team took such good care of you. Please contact me at gselves@minor.com when you wish to return and I will be delighted to provide you...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,095 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1604)
Viewed
Room/Suite (168)
Viewed
View from Room (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (331)
Viewed
Dining (112)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (290)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
2:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (603)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (437)
Viewed
Amenities (56)
Viewed
Beach (10)
Viewed
Junior Suite (64)
Viewed
Pool (42)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
Other (43)
Viewed
Superior Sea View (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalutara
2.9 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kalutara
1,158 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#5 of 12 in Kalutara
1,091 reviews
10.4 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
4.0 mi away
Citrus Waskaduwa
Citrus Waskaduwa
#6 of 12 in Kalutara
840 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Mermaid & Club
Hotel Mermaid & Club
#1 of 12 in Kalutara
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Breathe in that fresh sea air and feel the warmth of the sun against your skin. Before you, lies the ocean; behind you, the Kalu Ganga river, twisting almost 100 miles back to Sri Pada, the sacred mountain believed to be the footprint of the Buddha. Where the river meets the ocean, you'll find AVANI Kalutara Resort, and discover a place where your dreams of an island paradise come true.. This hotel was formely known as Kani Lanka Resort & Spa. Skim the white waves of the Indian Ocean on board a traditional fishing boat, or watch the sunlight glitter on the water as you kayak along the riverside... it's almost like you're paddling through diamonds. Later, draw close to the warmth of the beach-side fire and share stories of another incredible day. Savour every bite of that juicy fresh seafood and enjoy a sunset that's beautiful beyond belief... ... more   less 

Additional Information about AVANI Kalutara Resort

Address: St. Sebastian's Road | Katukurunda, Kalutara 0001, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kalutara
Price Range: $86 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Kalutara Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Agoda so you can book your AVANI Kalutara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AVANI Kalutara Resort Sri Lanka
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kalutara
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Spa Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Family Hotel in Kalutara
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kalutara
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from AVANI Kalutara Resort staff and other travelers.
65 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (65)

Questions? Get answers from AVANI Kalutara Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms overlooking the lagoon looked great. De-luxe rooms are luxurious.”
 of 5 bubbles HOLIDAYSAREOURHOBBY, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a sea or pool view”
 of 5 bubbles pensioner115, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“The lagoon views are cheaper than sea view and the outlook is more interesting, but you hear the trains and the mosque more.”
 of 5 bubbles carolbY5404NR, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms on the laggoner side you hear the temples and church services and muslim service at 530am everyday - you don't hear the sea tho”
 of 5 bubbles janeday2017, Feb 16, 2017 | Read review
“Don't go in the river side very noisy with the train and a mosque”
 of 5 bubbles 607Sunshine, Feb 5, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question