We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tilko Jaffna City Hotel

Agoda.com$53*
View Deal
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$70*
$53*
$70*
$70*
$53*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Tilko Jaffna City Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 155: English reviews
Start your review of Tilko Jaffna City Hotel
 Click to rate
Greater Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall the hotel is a bit shabby but comfortable beds, clean rooms although the bathrooms need some renovation, but ok. Handy to the main street and the Fort area. Reasonable food in the restaurant but service is hit and miss unless you sit in the bar area. Staff friendly enough without being too helpful, prefering to talk amonngst themselves at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jws4646
Thavarajah T, Front Office Manager at Tilko Jaffna City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the feedback, your remarks will be taken into the consideration. We would also like to thank you for choosing Tilko Jaffna City Hotel for your recent stay in Jaffna. It will be great pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel. Thank you Your sincerely V.Shanger Front Office Manager Tilko Jaffna City Hotel.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Western food is a complete mess here , never order anything western, I had carbonara which was no where near a carbonara, fish and chips that came with the bones inside,very disappointed, never order I think their other menu items should be fine

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SL FOOD R
Thavarajah T, Front Office Manager at Tilko Jaffna City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review on Booking.com.We have also noted your kind comments on items we have to improve on and on which we can certainly do better.We have taken this up with respective department and will closely monitor the situation. Thank You. Your sincerely V.Shanger Front Office Manager Tilko Jaffna City Hotel.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 2 night in tilko hotel. Its very nice experience. Central of the city only 5 minute walking market place and bus stand. We came in the evening the receptionist nice to welcome us so lovely Nice and friendly staff. NICE ROOM. GOOD restaurants and buffet are good. Nice swimming pool. Lovely garden.thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vijayan k
Thavarajah T, Front Office Manager at Tilko Jaffna City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review.Great to hear your overall experience with Tilko Jaffna City Hotel. Thank You Your sincerely, V.Shanger, Front Office Manager, Tilko Jaffna City Hotel.

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed March 17, 2017

This was my second time in Tilko.Last time I felt bad smell in front of the hotel.This time no bad smell.The room was same as the previous visit.No, any upgrades.only change has they removed the carpets in the room.The bar was good and full with all type of liquors.food was not very tasty but OK.Stay was nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DAYAFTERSACHI
Thavarajah T, Front Office Manager at Tilko Jaffna City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review.Great to hear your overall experience with Tilko Jaffna City Hotel 2nd time.We would like to inform you our hotel has gone through renovation and We have also noted your kind comments on items we have to improve on and on which we can certainly do better. We hope we will have the pleasure...

London
Reviewed March 10, 2017

First room had a smashed window which allowed easy entry to room and several workmen wanted to come into the room to fix it whilst I was settling in! Immediately I realised about the broken window I asked to be moved, as the hotel wasn't busy there was no reason to put a guest into this room. Safe was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela089
Thavarajah T, Front Office Manager at Tilko Jaffna City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We are glad that you have spent some time to log your comments in Tripadvisor. At the time of your check in, the hotel was under refurbishment, due to which you were offered a single room on the ground floor for a comfortable stay but that was not...

England
Reviewed March 9, 2017

Stayed there as part of our tour in February. Great rooms and food. Staff very helpful especially one who helped me find some camera batteries. Good location and local shops as well as fort nearby. Amazing unusual pictures in the restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OrangutanEngland
Thavarajah T, Front Office Manager at Tilko Jaffna City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Sincere thanks on your review. We are so pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay at Tilko Jaffna City Hotel and have complemented our restaurant , service and most of all our staff and their politeness. Thank You. Your Sincerely, V.Shanger, Front Office Manager, Tilko Jaffna City Hotel.

Reviewed March 8, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night in Tilko. It has a perfect location for visiting the Dutch Fort and the Public Library. The staff at reception were friendly, engaging and very helpful. I was encouraged to look at the room that was being offered. The bathroom was very very clean as was the bedroom and bed linen. The furniture was pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
Thavarajah T, Front Office Manager at Tilko Jaffna City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Many thanks for taking time to write your review on Trip Advisor and sincere thanks for recommending our hotel. Your description of the location, facilities and services of the hotel are very informative to many other travellers and we thank you for highlighting Tilko Jaffna City Hotel advantages.Yes we doing refurbishment and it finished now. Thank You. Tour...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed March 7, 2017 via mobile

Went to Tilko Hotel for lunch. Good menu selection. Had rice and curry with Mutton Curry and Jaffna Chilli Crab. Service was prompt and the food was delicious; made in traditional Jaffna cooking style. Highly recommend dropping in for lunch. I went to Jaffna on a day tour on this particular time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice_and_friends
Thavarajah T, Front Office Manager at Tilko Jaffna City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests Many thanks for taking time to share your experience of your stay with us in on line. The information you kindly provided Trip Advisor readers is most valuable and thank you for complementing our menu selection choice and quality of food. We would certainly be most pleased to see you again Thank You. Your Sincerely, V.Shanger, Front Office...

Reviewed March 1, 2017

VERY efficient staff//...the manager Mr Dushendran is a very charming man who made each and every one of his guest welcome.....lovely rooms...very peaceful area...gym....and to take a morning walk.rooms with attached baths...fully aircon...hot water and wifi and tv ...very modern outlook....view out the windows breathtaking..hotel rates OK...but the food from the kitchen first class....especially their vegetarin and RASAM

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shan M
Thavarajah T, Front Office Manager at Tilko Jaffna City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking time to write a positive review of the hotel TILKO JAFFNA CITY HOTEL. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel with all of the provided facilities. We are looking forward to your future visit! Thank You Your Sincerely, V.Shanger, Front Office Manager, TILKO JAFFNA...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 28, 2017 via mobile

Visited Jaffna for a few days and found the service of the hotel to be extremely slow and inefficient. The waiters seem to be trying their best, but require serious training. The hotel also requires major investment for improvement. The two star rating is a reflection of the basic amenities (clean toilette and a/c) which are in place. Otherwise it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M P
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

110 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaffna hotels
0.2 mi away
Jetwing Jaffna
Jetwing Jaffna
#1 of 9 in Jaffna
219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Green Grass Hotel
Green Grass Hotel
#7 of 9 in Jaffna
173 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Margosa Bongo Stay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
PJ Hotels
PJ Hotels
#3 of 9 in Jaffna
36 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jaffna Heritage Hotel
Jaffna Heritage Hotel
#4 of 43 in Jaffna
136 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Thinnai
The Thinnai
#1 of 43 in Jaffna
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Tilko Jaffna City Hotel

Address: 70/6 K.K.S Road, Jaffna 40000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Northern Province > Jaffna
Price Range: $62 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tilko Jaffna City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tilko Jaffna City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Tilko Jaffna City Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Tilko Jaffna City Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms with biews to the Fort probably best. Mine overlooked what looked like a tip with partial view of the city”
jws4646, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
Angela089, Mar 10, 2017 | Read review
“maybe better at front of hotel”
OrangutanEngland, Mar 9, 2017 | Read review
“Suggest booking into Jetwing Jaffna”
14081959wm, Oct 6, 2016 | Read review
“select upper floor rooms”
nimalshans, Aug 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Agoda.com
$53* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com$70
TripAdvisor$53
Travelocity$70
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates