We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Sunbeach Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Galle Road | Narigama, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sunbeach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 55: English reviews
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2016 via mobile

A very nice hotel on the beach with a perfect location. We had a family room with a fantastic see view from the balcony. The food was very good and the staff was so friendly! Perfect if you are traveling with kids as we did, five and seven years old.

Helpful?
1 Thank ligrewin
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2016

A super relaxing, beautiful place… Great staff, great food, all complimented by being located it pretty much the perfect spot on the beach - mellow reef right out front with the main peak just a skip to the right, with the party venues close enough to tempt but far enough away not to impose. The manager, Chaminda, was on-hand and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AlexCameronReid
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2016

It was the second time with my boyfriend that we booked this hotel and we were not disappointed at all. 3 years ago we had a bigger room, this month we had a small room with A/C and still it was good. The location is amazing, in front of the surf spot and breakfast delicious with the sea view. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Monia77186
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2016

I recently spend over 2 weeks in this hotel and from the first day I checked in to the day I left it was a wonderful place to stay. I arrived around the middle of the day, checked into my room upstairs where you can see and hear the ocean, had some lunch, went for a surf, followed by a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Craig H
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2016

We stayed here for 5 nights after travelling for almost 6 weeks in Sri Lanka. We specifically wanted to stay in a nice and comfortable hotel for our last few nights (having already stayed in a budget hotel before in Hikkaduwa) and Sunbeach did not disappoint. We booked the sea view room and it delivered on its promise. Also, we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Julianna35
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2016

Sunbeach is relaxed, friendly and right on the beach. I was lucky enough to get one of the front rooms with large balcony overlooking the beach and ocean. I saw some fantastic sunsets from there and fell asleep to the sound of crashing waves. The bedroom was clean and simple yet also quite grand with its large double bed and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2016 via mobile

Late review but it's still the worst part on our wonderful Sri Lanka trip. The room was trashy and just to pricey. I will upload some photos as well. We tried the foot at the restaurant downstairs once and the day after was the only day on the whole trip my stomach felt sick. I really can't recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Christian R
NeilButler28, Owner at Sunbeach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christian I'm very sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience at Sunbeach. I'm not sure when you were at the hotel but we always take criticisms very seriously and I 'm sure if you had discussed any issues with our management they would have worked to resolve them immediately. As you will see from other reviews your... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016

Located directly on the beach, the setting for Sunbeach couldn't be better. We had a top-floor sea-view room and it was an absolute delight to fall asleep to the sound of the waves each night and awake to such a beautiful view each morning. Despite being in the heart of Hikkaduwa's popular surfing beach, Narigama Beach, and close to many... More 

Helpful?
Thank krystellie
Galway, Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Where to begin? Sunbeach is the best. Perfect location right on the beach. My wonderful room had a balcony with a great view of the Indian Ocean. Slept each night to the sound of the surf. Room and hotel clean as a whistle. Delicious food, so good. But what makes Sunbeach great are the people -- the staff are genuine... More 

Helpful?
Thank John R
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Sunbeach for over a week and were pleasantly surprised though it is quite a cheap hotel. We loved their Sunbeach breakfast and the rest of their menu as well. But be prepared to wait up till an hour to get your order. Tree house room is nice with a great view from the balcony.

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte A
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.6 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#2 of 25 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 25 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lavanga Resort & Spa
Lavanga Resort & Spa
#11 of 25 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Main Reef Hotel and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Ocean View Cottage
Ocean View Cottage
#12 of 25 in Hikkaduwa
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
1.4 mi away
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
Asian Jewel Boutique Hotel
#4 of 25 in Hikkaduwa
5.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Cool hotel opposite the surf break in Hikkaduwa. Friendly staff fantastic fusion food and a range of rooms for all budgets 40- 130 USD. Wonderful beach, great surf, snorkelling, scuba, lagoon safari's, surf safari's, island and rainforest trips, whale watching. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunbeach Hotel

Address: Galle Road | Narigama, Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Price Range: $58 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sunbeach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay