We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Sunbeach Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sunbeach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 56: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Sunbeach Hotel is an excellent choice if you are looking for a very comfortable, relaxing and friendly place to stay on the beach front, with delicious food options and a beautiful view. I was fortunate to stay in a large room at the front with a balcony overlooking the Indian ocean and was extremely comfortable. The bed has a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nichola S
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed April 16, 2016 via mobile

A very nice hotel on the beach with a perfect location. We had a family room with a fantastic see view from the balcony. The food was very good and the staff was so friendly! Perfect if you are traveling with kids as we did, five and seven years old.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ligrewin
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 29, 2016

A super relaxing, beautiful place… Great staff, great food, all complimented by being located it pretty much the perfect spot on the beach - mellow reef right out front with the main peak just a skip to the right, with the party venues close enough to tempt but far enough away not to impose. The manager, Chaminda, was on-hand and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank AlexCameronReid
Rome, Italy
Reviewed February 18, 2016

It was the second time with my boyfriend that we booked this hotel and we were not disappointed at all. 3 years ago we had a bigger room, this month we had a small room with A/C and still it was good. The location is amazing, in front of the surf spot and breakfast delicious with the sea view. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Monia77186
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed February 15, 2016

I recently spend over 2 weeks in this hotel and from the first day I checked in to the day I left it was a wonderful place to stay. I arrived around the middle of the day, checked into my room upstairs where you can see and hear the ocean, had some lunch, went for a surf, followed by a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Craig H
Reviewed January 29, 2016

We stayed here for 5 nights after travelling for almost 6 weeks in Sri Lanka. We specifically wanted to stay in a nice and comfortable hotel for our last few nights (having already stayed in a budget hotel before in Hikkaduwa) and Sunbeach did not disappoint. We booked the sea view room and it delivered on its promise. Also, we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julianna35
Reviewed January 18, 2016

Sunbeach is relaxed, friendly and right on the beach. I was lucky enough to get one of the front rooms with large balcony overlooking the beach and ocean. I saw some fantastic sunsets from there and fell asleep to the sound of crashing waves. The bedroom was clean and simple yet also quite grand with its large double bed and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Stephen H
Reviewed January 9, 2016 via mobile

Late review but it's still the worst part on our wonderful Sri Lanka trip. The room was trashy and just to pricey. I will upload some photos as well. We tried the foot at the restaurant downstairs once and the day after was the only day on the whole trip my stomach felt sick. I really can't recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christian R
NeilButler28, Owner at Sunbeach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christian I'm very sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience at Sunbeach. I'm not sure when you were at the hotel but we always take criticisms very seriously and I 'm sure if you had discussed any issues with our management they would have worked to resolve them immediately. As you will see from other reviews your...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 7, 2016

Located directly on the beach, the setting for Sunbeach couldn't be better. We had a top-floor sea-view room and it was an absolute delight to fall asleep to the sound of the waves each night and awake to such a beautiful view each morning. Despite being in the heart of Hikkaduwa's popular surfing beach, Narigama Beach, and close to many...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank krystellie
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Reviewed January 5, 2016

Where to begin? Sunbeach is the best. Perfect location right on the beach. My wonderful room had a balcony with a great view of the Indian Ocean. Slept each night to the sound of the surf. Room and hotel clean as a whistle. Delicious food, so good. But what makes Sunbeach great are the people -- the staff are genuine...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John R
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (68)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hikkaduwa hotels
0.9 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#5 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
588 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Birdlake
Villa Birdlake
#12 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
42 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Drifters Hotel and Beach Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Sapphire Seas Beachfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
Hikka Tranz by Cinnamon
#3 of 26 in Hikkaduwa
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Cool hotel opposite the surf break in Hikkaduwa. Friendly staff fantastic fusion food and a range of rooms for all budgets 40- 130 USD. Wonderful beach, great surf, snorkelling, scuba, lagoon safari's, surf safari's, island and rainforest trips, whale watching. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunbeach Hotel

Address: Galle Road | Narigama, Hikkaduwa 80240, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Hikkaduwa
Price Range: $54 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sunbeach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Hikkaduwa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunbeach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get a room with an ocean view........you will pay more but it's worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles 523craigh, Feb 15, 2016 | Read review
“The seaview rooms are fabulous.”
 of 5 bubbles Julianna35, Jan 29, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front have balconies with views of the sea and beach. Recommended and especially if you like the sound of the sea at night.”
  • My room
  • View from balcony
 of 5 bubbles stephenhQ9556FB, Jan 18, 2016 | Read review
“Sea-view rooms are definitely worth the extra money.”
 of 5 bubbles krystellie, Jan 7, 2016 | Read review
“If possible, get a room with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles johnrO8117YY, Jan 5, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay