We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Galle Road Narigama, Hikkaduwa 80240 Sri Lanka
Booking.com
eDreams
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (98)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (7)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 10/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sunbeach Hotel
Updated 10/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#16 of 70 hotels in Hikkaduwa
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.4
Value
4.2
A Cool hotel opposite the surf break in Hikkaduwa. Friendly staff fantastic fusion food and a range of rooms for all budgets 40- 130 USD. Wonderful beach, great surf, snorkelling, scuba, lagoon safari's, surf safari's, island and rainforest trips, whale watching.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Parking garage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Diving
Snorkeling
Water sport equipment rentals
Bicycle tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Bidet
Walk-in shower
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, German
113Reviews2Q+A29Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 62
  • 34
  • 5
  • 7
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Michelle M wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
Been going to Sunbeach every January since 2014 and leave feeling sad that it's going to be another year before I'll be there again. Chaminda, his family, Neil, Maria and Jack, Carry and Hathansa make you feel part of the sunbeach family. It's a little bit of heaven on earth!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sianydahling wrote a review Jan 2022
Bristol, United Kingdom33 contributions26 helpful votes
I booked a small room at this beach front hotel which is in a fantastic location in Hikkaduwa. The room was very cheap, so very basic, no complaints there. But I felt like I would like to move to a sea view room the next day, since it was my last stop in Sri Lanka. The staff were super helpful and said there would be one available later that day….and WOW. The room was super spacious, huge balcony, and the view was truly amazing. Waking up every morning to see the waves is the dream! So happy I decided to pay a little more, would highly recommend the rooms at the front. The perfect end to my trip!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil Butler, Owner at Sunbeach Hotel
Responded Jan 8, 2022
Many thanks we’re delighted you had such a good time. Come back soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucy E wrote a review Jan 2022
10 contributions
My husband and I and our 10 month old baby stayed at Sunbeach Hotel for 10 days. We loved it! Chaminda the manager and cook made amazing Sri Lankan dinners - some of the best food we had in our 6 week trip. His family were extremely welcoming and kind to us and were amazing with our baby too! The hotel is directly in front of the best surf beach in Hikkaduwa (Nirigama beach). In November the seas were still rough for swimming but by December the beach is lovely for swimming and snorkeling as well as surfing. Great restaurants and bars nearby. Very short tuk tuk ride to the main Hikkaduwa beach as well. We saw turtles and kingfishers right outside the hotel! Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil Butler, Owner at Sunbeach Hotel
Responded Jan 5, 2022
Many thanks Lucy a pleasure to welcome you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lindsey wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
My friend and I have just returned from a wonderful stay in the beautiful little Sunbeach hotel in Hikkaduwa. Its right on the beachfront, a stones throw from the crashing waves of the ocean. As you enter the doors you leave the hustle and bustle of the shops and traffic behind and you move through to the terrace and onto the beach. Sunbeach is a wonderful oasis of calm; unfussy but stylish, very laid back and quietly cool. The owners, Maria and Neil, are very hospitable and helpful. They know a lot about the area (and Sri Lanka more generally) and they bend over backwards to help you squeeze every last drop out of your holiday. They have great contacts and their friendly, obliging staff take the hassle out of everything including organising day trips and longer journeys. Maria recommended drivers to help us explore the nearby area - top value, very well informed and interesting, great fun and absolutely hassle free. The hotel has lovely clean rooms, good showers and comfy beds. We stayed in two bright, spacious adjoining rooms with a balcony overlooking the ocean. An amazing view of the ocean, lovely to lie in bed watching the surfers and listening to the crashing waves. There are a lot of good places to eat in Hikkaduwa but we found ourselves eating at the hotel quite a bit. The big variety of delicious curries and the casual , friendly atmosphere meant we stayed put more than we might normally have done. A few beers and some good chat rounded off by some delicious food. We were allowed in to the kitchen to take a peek at the chefs at work; all local produce, quite exotic (lotus roots) and brilliant for vegetarians, vegans and pescatarians. It was amazing to watch our lovely curries being prepared; everything from scratch and very healthy. We had a brilliant stay (thanks Maria and Neil and everyone at Sunbeach). Couldn't fault it (well maybe the cocktails were a little ropey!) and we will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The rooms at the back with the balconies overlooking the beach are beautiful.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil Butler, Owner at Sunbeach Hotel
Responded Sep 12, 2020
We loved having you. One back soon Neil Maria
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ross H wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
Just had an amazing 4 night stay at Sunbeach Hotel. Super friendly owner and staff made us feel so welcome. Located right in front of Main Reef and Sunbeach surf breaks. Great breakfast. Really impressed with Hikkadua town also. Laid back and the best waves we found in Sri Lanka, and much less busy in the water than the South coast! Will be back for sure. Thanks Neil and team.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil Butler, Owner at Sunbeach Hotel
Responded Feb 28, 2020
Many thanks Ross and Jen. Great to meet you. Come back soon. Jack will be wanting a surf lesson
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
K Shaw wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
This was our first time in Sri Lanka and we stayed for 7 nights in February. We topped and tailed our holiday here and when we returned after travelling around we really did feel we were coming home. Our lovely balcony room had its own palm tree growing through the balcony and a perfect view of the beach and the surf. The room was fresh, clean and comfortable with air con and mosquito nets - breakfast was included. If you're a surfer you couldn't be better located and if not you can either learn or enjoy watching from the plentiful sunbeds. Other guests included individual travellers, families, couples and friends. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our best curry and rice was eaten here - freshly cooked and a range of delicious dishes. If you're interested in day trips they can hook you up with a Tuk Tuk driver or arrange a driver and car for a few days. Highly recommend and if we're back in Sri Lanka we will be back at Sunbeach.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil Butler, Owner at Sunbeach Hotel
Responded Feb 26, 2020
We loved hosting you Come back soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Callum R wrote a review Feb 2020
6 contributions
At this hotel, you can walk out of your room grab a table and watch world-class Surfers hitting the waves right in front of your eyes. If you're not a Surfer but like the idea oof watching some Surfers this place is great. If you are a Surfer then it is even better, as the famous Sun Beach Break is on your doorstep. We spent 3 days here watching surfers and learning to surf, whilst enjoying the great food and chilled out atmosphere. I can highly recommend. 
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from NeilButler28, Owner at Sunbeach Hotel
Responded Feb 8, 2020
Many thanks - come back soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucy A wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
We stayed at Sunbeach for a month in January but have been regular guests over the past few years. It truly is an amazing place to stay. Super friendly helpful staff, Neil and Maria, the owners could not be more welcoming. Best spot on the beach, with clear views to both surf breaks, lovely clean rooms with amazing views and great food. Throughly recommend. See you next year Sunbeach. Jonny & Lucy
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The upstairs balcony rooms are the best.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from NeilButler28, Owner at Sunbeach Hotel
Responded Feb 8, 2020
Many thanks Jonny and Lucy / super guests. Looking forward to seeing you next year. Neil and Maria
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Helena wrote a review Jan 2020
Auckland Central, New Zealand4 contributions
My partner and I stayed at Sunbeach for 8 days in January, and couldn’t have asked for anything better. The accommodation was clean and tidy, and rooms were really nice, they had aircon, and bar staff were so lovely and tried really hard to make everything perfect for us. The location was great for lying on the beach, swimming, snorkeling, and surfing, as well as a great location in terms of places to eat amazing food. The food at the hotel was also very nice! The owners of the hotel were so lovely and accommodating to us, they let us stay late on the day we flew out as it was a late flight. We have only good things to say about this hotel, and would highly recommend to travellers, couples, and families.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from NeilButler28, Owner at Sunbeach Hotel
Responded Feb 1, 2020
Many thanks it was a pleasure to host you. Hope you come back soon Best wishes Neil Maria and all the staff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
meersy wrote a review Dec 2019
N Ireland2 contributions1 helpful vote
Sunbeach is located in a great location on the beach, right in front of the surf breaks. The food is just terrific and included many authentic Sri Lankan dishes and I had to try a bit of everything. The staff were so lovely and friendly and incredibly helpful. I stayed in a beautiful room which looked directly onto the beach (room 18) and was thoroughly spoiled by the view. The room was clean and comfortable and regularly serviced. I noticed that all the rooms on the lower level had all been recently refurbished. The hotel manager arranged for the hotel driver to take us to sites including Sigiriya, Dambulla, an elephant safari and a local market. The tuk tuk drivers who wait outside are a great source of knowledge and very helpful. I highly recommend Sunbeach to anyone looking to stay in the Hikkaduwa area.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 18 had the most amazing view of the beach and the balcony was quite private.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Neil B, Owner at Sunbeach Hotel
Responded Dec 4, 2019
Many thanks we loved hosting you. Come back soon Neil
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$43 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceGalle DistrictHikkaduwa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunbeach Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sunbeach Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Yula Beach Bar (0.2 miles), Tea Zone (0.08 miles), and Chill Space Surf Cafe (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunbeach Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sunbeach Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a bidet, and a mosquito net.
What food & drink options are available at Sunbeach Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunbeach Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunbeach Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Temptation Hikkaduwa, Salty Swamis Cafe & Surf Shop, and Bambini's Cafe.
Does Sunbeach Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Sunbeach Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Sunbeach Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Sunbeach Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Sunbeach Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Hikkaduwa.
Are pets allowed at Sunbeach Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sunbeach Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.