We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Heritance Kandalama

Travelers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Heritance Kandalama
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Heritance Kandalama
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,852: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed February 27, 2015

An ideal location for those in search of peace and quiet. A warning though the drive from Colombo is a bit rough as there is road work being carried out. However once you get there, it is worth it. The rooms are spread over two wings, so be prepared to walk. The hotel staff are very courteous, though at times...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marieeliz06
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your much appreciated preference given in selecting Heritance Kandalama as your holiday destination in the cultural triangle of Sri Lanka. Also, thank you for the time devoted in posting a valuable review regarding your holiday experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance,...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed February 26, 2015

We stayed two nights at the HC while in Sri Lanka and planned quite a bit of our agenda while in the country specifically to fit it in - it absolutely didn't disappoint. In terms of location there is plenty to occupy you nearby (Lion Rock, we did an elephant safari and the local temples) but HC stands up entirely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your much appreciated preference given in selecting Heritance Kandalama as your holiday destination in the cultural triangle of Sri Lanka. Also, thank you for the time devoted in posting a valuable review regarding your holiday experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance,...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 26, 2015

As other reviewers have noted this hotel is in a stunning location overlooking Kandalama Lake, with great vistas from the public rooms and many of the bedrooms. The hotel covers a vast area and sometimes the distances between bedroom and lift/stairs to restaurant and between restaurant and washroom are also quite long. Great architect Geoffrey Bawa, but missed out on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leeGlosUK
Heritance K, General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

As much as we thank and appreciate your visit, we much value your comments and observations made thereafter. Also, we thank you profusely for all the nice words you have spoken of this rare destination. Plans are underway for a refurbishment of the property and your comments have reached us well on time. The hotel has become a popular destination...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 25, 2015 via mobile

Stayed three nights at hotel and overall very impressed. Hotel certainly does stand out and is 1km from end to end The staff are very welcoming and nothing to much trouble There are three pools - one was affinity- although no visible umbrellas Our room was standard and was ok but very poor lighting in room. In addition whilst nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yal5
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for selecting Heritance Kandalama as your preferred holiday destination and for the time devoted in posting an insightful feedback on Trip Advisor. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance, the location, facilities and the overall services that the hotel had to offer during your stay...

Reviewed February 25, 2015

We stayed here for our honeymoon and would thoroughly recommend the hotel. The service is excellent, food delicious and staff incredibly friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful and we got treated with such care as we were on our honeymoon. Beautiful hotel set in gorgeous greenery with Rock structures throughout the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucyandcharliepope
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for selecting Heritance Kandalama as your preferred honeymoon destination in Sri Lanka and for the time devoted in posting a valuable feedback on Trip Advisor. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance, the location, facilities and the overall services that the hotel had to offer...

Beckenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 24, 2015

This hotel we booked as a 5 star experience was excellent the room and anterooms were luxurious and fitted too a very high standard. The restaurant was very good and the food varied and tasteful catering to a varied palate, the standard Sri-Lankan specialties like egg hoppers and Idly with their accompaniments were very good as I had forgotten how...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian19452014
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for selecting Heritance Kandalama as your preferred holiday destination and for the time devoted in posting an insightful feedback on Trip Advisor. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance, the location, facilities and the overall services that the hotel had to offer during your stay...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 24, 2015

The main attraction for this hotel is the awesome view out across the lake and the rainforest towards Sigiriya in the distance. It is truly breathtaking at any time of the day. That said, it isn't the only reason to stay. The list is endless. The warmth of the staff, the exceptional food, the setting in the rainforest, the proximity...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Iamaki74
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for selecting Heritance Kandalama as your preferred holiday destination and for the time devoted in posting an insightful feedback on Trip Advisor. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance, the location, facilities and the overall services that the hotel had to offer during your stay...

Reviewed February 22, 2015

We were thrilled to bits the 1st time we stayed at Kandalama Hotel about 6 years ago. It was a triple bedroom to accommodate our daughter as well. Comfortable and full of thrills and spills not least the stunning setting in thick jungle and unique swimming pools and long corridors meandering through the jungle watching monkeys as they mingle their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tudor404
Yohan A, Assistant Manager - Online Reputation at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for selecting Heritance Kandalama as your preferred holiday destination in Sri Lanka and for the time devoted in posting a valuable feedback on Trip Advisor. We are indeed delighted to note that you have enjoyed the unique ambiance, the location, facilities and the overall services that the hotel had to offer...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2015 via mobile

I stayed for 3 days here for my honeymoon. This place is awesome. The architecture of this hotel is superb and nature friendly. Service of their staff is really good and helpful. Road to the hotel is not that good. Must try horse ride and elephant ride. Few staff was even volunteer into take some good pictures of us. They...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Heritance K, General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

First and foremost we congratulate and extend our good wishes to you both for a very happy and joyous wedded life ! It is with much much delight we note that you both had a very satisfying honeymoon at Heritance Kandalama. We don't disagree. This is a very rare destination created by a legendary and renown architect, Sir Geoffrey Bawa...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed February 19, 2015

Living in dubai gives you a very high benchmark to compare with..heritance kandalama surpassed it. Everything is magnificient; staff, food, view, causiness.. It was like a dream especially in my anniversary. I would like to mention a name who really helped us being a very nice and a polite person.. DILAN thanks for everything You and the staff..you made my...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bizy_ahmed
Heritance K, General Manager at Heritance Kandalama, responded to this review

Thank you for selecting this rare location for your anniversary. Isn't it a reward from God on the day of your anniversary this time around ? Moving from a man-made-city like Dubai to a contrasting serenely destination like Kandalama to celebrate a wedding anniversary makes lot of sense and we have least doubts that you both would cherish the memories...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3,258 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3232)
Viewed
Room/Suite (342)
Viewed
Bathroom (141)
Viewed
View from Room (250)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (288)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (803)
Viewed
Dining (138)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (1235)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dambulla
3.2 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,500 reviews
4.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,409 reviews
1.5 mi away
Signature by Amaya
Signature by Amaya
#4 of 15 in Dambulla
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Jetwing Lake
Jetwing Lake
#6 of 15 in Dambulla
59 reviews
11.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
5.7 mi away
Kalundewa Retreat
Kalundewa Retreat
#9 of 15 in Dambulla
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Heritance Kandalama is shaped like the outspread wings of a bird, following the line of the cliff from which it seems to emerge. The hotel is a staggering 1km from end to end, and rises up seven floors, yet appears to be a perfectly natural extension of the mountainside. The flat roof and timber pillars support a screen of vegetation that attracts local wildlife. The abundance of real-life animals around the hotel is complemented by wonderful large-scale sculptures within it. A metal owl is suspended outside the main restaurant; wooden elephants inhabit the lounge; a stone cobra uncoils along the terrace overlooking the infinity pool. However, while focusing on highlighting its enchanting natural surroundings, our luxury resort in Sri Lanka gives priority to providing its guests with the finest comforts and service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heritance Kandalama

Address: | PO Box 11, Dambulla, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Dambulla
Price Range: $152 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Kandalama 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Kandalama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandalama Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama Dambulla
Kandalama Hotel Dambulla
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Family Hotel in Dambulla
#1 Spa Hotel in Dambulla
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Heritance Kandalama staff and other travelers.
33 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from Heritance Kandalama staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We got an upgrade without asking for it - nice surprise.”
swissmiss3, yesterday | Read review
“New section high floor overlooking the Lake”
Mick0072013, 3 days ago | Read review
“Breath taking views, Excellent food, Excellent Service, Value for money”
cecilratnayake, 3 days ago | Read review
“Some rooms have the view of "Sigiriya Rock Fortress"”
TheCalculus, 1 week ago | Read review
“Room 507 is more expensive, but worth it--the architect's favorite room.”
SamHHarper, 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question