We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Sanctuary At Tissawewa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 134: English reviews
Shrewsbury
Reviewed 1 week ago

We broke up our days cycling to have lunch at The Sanctuary. Fantastic service and lovely food in a relaxing and calm atmosphere. The hotel and restaurant is aptly named. Look out for the Grey Langur monkeys playing on the lawn.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StephWill
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your meal at this hotel.We do welcome you back to spend a few nights and enjoy sumptuous food on your next visit to Sri Lanka. Thank you. Best regards,

sydney,australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Set amidst lush gardens this serene hotel exudes the charm of years gone by.The verandas are very inviting and a wonderful place to relax. The atmosphere is quiet and peaceful. Our room upstairs (no. 1) was very spacious and nicely decorated with interesting pieces of old dark wood furnishings.It also had an ante room with a single bed in it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hamilstra
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay & the amenities that were on offer. It was nice to hear that you had enjoyed your meal ,and taking note of the review above, certain fruits are available only oftenly . but we do hope on your next visit you could spend more nights and enjoy...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is in a good location for siteseeing around the old town.lovely old colonial building very characterful The rooms were adequate . The staff were not all that helpful and we had some difficulty with the restaurant head man, who was difficult and almost rude on occasions! Food was OK.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susan_byrne54
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this review

Dear Guest. We thank you for your comment about your stay with us at the Sanctuary at Tissawewa recently. Whilst we note you enjoyed the ambience of our special property, we are deeply concerned about the problems you encountered with our restaurant staff which we are investigating. Customer care is a key part of the service we offer and this...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food and setting were both superb. The old colonial building provides wonderful shade during the midday sun and food is wonderful. The service was excellent. Definitely worth a trip for lunch if you're exploring Anuradhapura.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike W
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for taking time to let us know about your visit to this hotel.The staff at the hotel are happy to hear that you had enjoyed your meals and that you were happy with the service.We do welcome you back on your next visit to Anuradhapura to spend a few nights with us and enjoy some...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel surrounded by nature and quiet serene atmosphere. The best vegetarian food we had for a long time. The services were excellent classy and the meals were just cooked and well prepared at the time with many variations to chose. It was very close to prominent archaeological Buddhist sites and very good location to drive. Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anurajay
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay & the amenities that were on offer.All the staff at the hotel were glad to hear that you were satisfied with the the service and meals e.t.c and we do welcome you back to spend more nights in this beautiful heritage colonial property. Thank you. Best regards,

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stopped in to this hotel for a drink on my way around the sights of Anuradhapura and thought the dinner menu looked good so I came back in the evening. I had the marinated pork and it was really tasty - one of the best meals of my trip. The setting is also beautiful, I had a really relaxing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alicegwynne
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are pleased to know that you had enjoyed your meal at the hotel.All the staff at the hotel do welcome you again to spend a few nights with them and enjoy every aspect of this colonial heritage hotel. Thank you. Best regards,

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had one of the best Rice and Curry in the hotel restaurant. The staff is very friendly with great service. The price was very good 1750 roepies which is around ten euro's for plenty of food for two.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GideonNL
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are pleased to know that you had enjoyed your meal, and all the staff do welcome you again to spend a few nights and enjoy our selection of food on our menu card in your next visit to Sri Lanka. Thank you. Best regards,

Dunedin
Reviewed January 4, 2017

We lunched here as a middle-of-the-day break while exploring the Anuradhapura heritage sights. It was a handy and peaceful spot to recharge with a drink and light lunch. Service is not especially fast, so allow at least 90 minutes to have drink on the verandah and lunch in the old world dining room. Cheese and tomato sandwiches (served with fries)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiwiCriticDunedin
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for taking the time and writing about your stay with us at the Sanctuary. We are glad to note that by and large you were happy with the hotel and facilities. We do however apologize for the time taken to serve your meal which is far from our standards. In fact we have set a...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed December 25, 2016

We visited this place with out little baby to pay a visit to Anuradhapura Jaya Sri Maha Bodhiya and Ruwanmeli Seya. I would first highlight the Good Part of this stay. 1. Staff: From the time of booking the person who helped us was Omesh. He is so friendly and I felt Omesh took the extra mile and provided us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MithilaNRishi
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback following your stay with us. We are happy to note that in general you found the rooms, meals and service by our staff to your liking. However we do take note of the 'minuses' mentioned seriously for clearly these are areas that require immediate attention. Regarding the...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed December 24, 2016

During our 8-day stay, we experienced the wonderful hospitality of the very conscientious manager and staff. The food was very clean and in particular, the Sri Lankan dishes that we had were deliciously made. The monkey army that frequently visits the hotel garden and the peacock family are both key features that add to the hotel ambience. Thank you and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lakshikasg
GM Q, Manager at The Sanctuary At Tissawewa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay & the amenities that were on offer. Our staff at the hotel do welcome you again to spend more nights/time in this beautiful property. Thank you. Best regards,

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
1.6 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#2 of 13 in Anuradhapura
387 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
1.3 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#3 of 13 in Anuradhapura
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Avasta Resort and Spa
Avasta Resort and Spa
#12 of 13 in Anuradhapura
134 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel
Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel
#10 of 13 in Anuradhapura
108 reviews
3.6 mi away
Palm Garden Village Hotel
Palm Garden Village Hotel
#4 of 13 in Anuradhapura
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming Colonial hotel dating back to 1907, Built with luxury, the only hotel within the Sacred city of Anuradhapura. nestled in a 14 acre block of land which is a home to many species of birds and not forgetting the monkeys. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sanctuary At Tissawewa

Address: Old Puttalam Road, Old Town, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tissawewa Resthouse)
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Price Range: $108 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sanctuary At Tissawewa 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sanctuary At Tissawewa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tissawewa Resthouse Anuradhapura
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Sanctuary At Tissawewa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Higher floors would be better for ventilation and natural atmosphere.”
 of 5 bubbles anurajay, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Select a room in the upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles MithilaNRishi, Dec 25, 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles dodan2016, Nov 23, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms a re the same”
 of 5 bubbles traceymQ1424GY, Sep 27, 2016 | Read review
“rooms on the ground floor facing the large garden are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles anaga405, Aug 22, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question