We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Heritage Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Heritage Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 298: English reviews
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Heritage Hotel Anuradhapura Stopped here for lunch, so this is a restaurant review. The hotel is situated on a large lake in large well laid grounds. The hotel itself is down a half mile long dirt road and is quite isolated. The staff were welcoming and we were directed to the restaurant where a buffet style meal was already laid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveladviser43
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Heritage Hotel is a grand dame fading away. The room we had was spacious and comfortable although a little austere. Beds were hard, although not as hard as some in Sri Lanka. The swimming pool was lovely and the posted photos of it give a true representation. Grounds attractive and well maintained. However the public spaces, particularly the dining...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris M
Reviewed 1 week ago

LOCATION: Great location but the roads to the hotel is a dirt road and in poor condition for driving WIFI: They offer WIFI to rooms but there was no wifi available in the rooms LINEN: The linen is crumbled the towels are old and torn. STAFF: Great personality and have the ability to build rapport with customer and are very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sharmini W
Olney, Maryland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent service. Food was delicious and well-prepared. The front desk staff, Thilani, Bandora Rashmi, Lakshika Asiri, Praveen were prompt, helpful, and professional. We will definitely stay there again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Asith D
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was located in a beautiful place facing the lake. Reception hall was good but has room for improvement. Staff were attentive but clearly need some training. Food was good but lacks in variety. Washrooms were dimly lit and had a very strong citrus smell.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmyLok
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was very clean, with good service and was in a prime location as well. The available buffet had a lot of choices and the staff were friendly and courteous. The hotel was also very close to many religious locations within Anuradhapura, which was a nice bonus for us.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Harshana A
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wasn't value for money. View from the room was of the adjoining property which had a shack! No wifi though the website claimed so. The fruit juice dispenser at breakfast was unclean. The bathrooms were gloomy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RamyaSutharshan
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Heritage Hotel is located opposite the Tissa wewa, and is surrounded by nature...The road leading to the hotel from the main road needs to be repaired by the management in order to be easily accessible by guests. Overall the hotel offers a very pleasant atmosphere and the rooms are very clean...The other facilities offered by the hotel are good, however...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank asalie3
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Suffice it to say that we booked the hotel for three nights and left after staying for only one night on 25/12/2016. I informed the management in writing why we left the hotel. The defects noted were: 1. The shower in one of the rooms was leaking water out of the shower area. Repaired by fixing missing seals on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Seevali D
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Made a reservation for two nights for superior rooms, but they gave us one superior room and charged the same rate for both rooms( one didn't have a bathtub - if you check the website that's the only difference between two rooms). We complained and they never bothered. Even the rate we agreed was different than what they changed us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben F
Heritage A, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Fernando, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Heritage HotelAuradhapura. However it is regretting to note that you were not happy with your stay, though the comments sheet you had completed at the restaurant shows positive remarks on our services. Our Superior rooms ( which you had also booked ) are equipped with Rain Showers. Even on our...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

250 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (194)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anuradhapura hotels
1.7 mi away
Rajarata Hotel
Rajarata Hotel
#2 of 13 in Anuradhapura
366 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Lakeside Hotel at Nuwarawewa
3.1 mi away
Avasta Resort and Spa
Avasta Resort and Spa
#10 of 13 in Anuradhapura
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
The Sanctuary At Tissawewa
#6 of 13 in Anuradhapura
153 reviews
2.9 mi away
Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel
Nilketha Villa Eco Hotel
#9 of 13 in Anuradhapura
107 reviews
2.5 mi away
Palm Garden Village Hotel
Palm Garden Village Hotel
#4 of 13 in Anuradhapura
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Heritage Hotel is the latest jewel in the crown that is Anuradhapura which is a UNESCO world heritage site. Heritage Hotel which opened its doors in 2009 is an ( 42 Rooms ) enchanting hotel situated in the heart of Anuradhapura. Because of the Hotel's Proximity to many historic sites Heritage Hotel is the Ideal launching pad to explore this great kingdom which lasted over 1400 years. This simple and elegant hotel is equipped with all amenities, a dedicated team and a comprehensive service concept to make it the most pleasurable place to stay in Anurdhapura. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel

Address: Galwala Road | Pothanegama, Anuradhapura 50000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Anuradhapura
Price Range: $73 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Heritage Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Heritage Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask at the front desk or on online if the rooms provided are a superior room and request for the best views of the lake”
 of 5 bubbles sharminiw, 1 week ago | Read review
“The triple room we had was relatively spacious with a great AC and all the facilities you would expect in a hotel room. ”
 of 5 bubbles harshanaa2017, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“The Wifi is available to the rooms on the ground floor...”
 of 5 bubbles asalie3, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“No special view”
 of 5 bubbles seevalid, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“its a new hotel so all rooms are good !”
 of 5 bubbles 955maheshw, 3 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay