We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

The Wheatbaker

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Wheatbaker
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 242: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We were one of three couples that decided rather impromptu to take a trip to The Wheatbaker for sundowners on Friday evening. We were not looking for anything extraordinary, a beer or two and some wine with perhaps some snacks. The area by the pool has an intimacy about it which as the evening progresses develops a relaxed ambience. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert G
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Have stayed here a few times now & have visited a number other hotels over the last 10 years. Can honestly say this is Nigeria's best hotel. Rooms are a decent size & bathroom has both a full walk-in shower plus a superset bath. The room has all the amenities required including its own Nespresso coffee machine. Internet is pretty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason L
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this hotel for a romantic night with my partner. I had e-mailed the hotel to explain the occasion, which they took on board. Evidence of this was the lovely card and bottle of champagne awaiting us in the room, a very pleasant surprise indeed. The room itself, the Executive King Room was sparkling, well-furnished and comfortable with a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jide A
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear Jide A On behalf of our team, I thank you most sincerely for your feedback. We are pleased we could help make your special occasion memorable. We are very proud of Henrietta and all our colleagues at the front desk. I have chatted to our team serving the Sunday breakfast - we promise that we will smile more especially... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

The rooms were great with lovely shower and bathtub. The layout of the room is very big with a nice selection is of magazines to read on the center table . The area to work with plug points is really comfortable made it easy to work and the housekeeping was good. Good presence of security. Loved having a Nespresso machine!... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnnaleneBrown
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear AnnaleneBrown All of us here at The Wheatbaker are pleased we could meet your expectations during your stay with us. I have noted your observation that our Deli buffet has many spicy dishes, we also have a range of continental foods which cater to our international guests. We are more than happy to make something off-menu upon request. We... More 

Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

Had an excellent dinner in their grilled section. Great ambiance and tasty food.. Although price is bit higher but not exorbitant. They have steaks to Indian curries in A La Cart menu. Also one of my friend suggested that they also serve buffet. I think it's best so far I had in Lagos.

Helpful?
Thank Ankush G
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear Ankush G Thank you from us all here at The Wheatbaker for your review. Your happy experience with us encourages us to maintain and improve our Standards for valued guests such as yourself. We very much value your patronage and hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Simon More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

Stayed a week at the Wheatbaker for a work trip in June, 2016. My room was a real oasis in Lagos: large, luxurious and spotless. It was a real pleasure to spend time there. I'm told the hotel opened five years ago, but the rooms still look and feel new. The hotel has a boutique feel, and the dining and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron B
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear Cameron B On behalf of the team here at The Wheatbaker allow me to thank you for your feedback which we greatly value. I am glad you had a satisfactory stay and will be sure to convey your observation regarding the salad dressing to our Executive Chef. We are particularly pleased that you felt well taken care of as... More 

Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

Business trip to Lagos. Friendly and available staff, super-efficient loundry service. Modern location with art portraits on walls. Restaurant and bar very good, close to a lovely swimming pool. Security well present but not intrusive. Room large, clean, silent and confortable. Really remarkable the size of bathroom.

Helpful?
1 Thank ViatorErrantis
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear ViatorErrantis The Wheatbaker Team extend to you our warmest thanks for your very kind review of your stay with us recently. I was happy to see that you found our security efficient but not intrusive as your safety receives serious focus from us all. Please do return to us soon, you will be assured of a very warm welcome.... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
143 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

Stayed here for a 2nd time and the rooms are definitely the attraction to the hotel. very comfortable and well set yup with everything you need. Buffet restaurant a little "boring" in the food they offer but I had a great meal at their A La Cart restaurant. Hotel space is limiting and it can get very over crowded when... More 

Helpful?
Thank David B
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear David B The Wheatbaker team are grateful for your very useful feedback following your recent stay with us. Whilst I am pleased you had a great meal in our a la Carte restaurant, The Grill Room, we will certainly ensure more variety on our buffet for Guests, especially for Guests on a longer stay. Our Chef is available for... More 

Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

Hotel is very good, staff is cordial. Unfortunately the room I was in was next to the reception area so there was constant noise which didn't help. Breakfast and food options are very good, specially the grill restaurant. Staff at the reception quite good as well. Expensive though.

Helpful?
1 Thank Adil1978
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear Adil1978 Thank you for choosing The Wheatbaker for your recent stay. We are all very pleased you had a nice stay with us. I am sorry you had a room near Reception but we have taken careful note of the noise you experienced and will action this to prevent a repeat. I hope you will choose us again for... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

I've now stayed in a few hotels on business trips in Lagos and this was by far the best. It was clean, relatively modern, didn't smell of damp, generators were quick to kick in, it felt safe and staff were friendly. The breakfast was fine, a selection of local and European cooked items, and standard yoghurts, fruit etc. The restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank PQC19
Simon G, General Manager at The Wheatbaker, responded to this review

Dear PQC 19 The Wheatbaker team are very grateful for your observations, especially given that you have wide experience of other establishments. We are greatly encouraged by your input and assure you of our commitment to maintaining the best standard possible. Once again, many thanks. Regards Simon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.1 mi away
Southern Sun Ikoyi
Southern Sun Ikoyi
#2 of 130 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George
The George
#4 of 130 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Lagos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Anchorage Hotel, Lagos
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Lagos
InterContinental Lagos
#8 of 130 in Lagos
3.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Federal Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Wheatbaker

Address: | Ikoyi, Lagos, Nigeria
Location: Nigeria > Lagos State > Lagos
Price Range: $373 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wheatbaker 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Wheatbaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatbaker Hotel Lagos
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#1 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#1 Business Hotel in Lagos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay