We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Treetops Lodge

Lot 210 | Kampong Siwa Jaya, Miri 98000, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Treetops Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015 via mobile

We made a reservation 2 days ago to arrive today at his lodge.we took a cab for 60 Rm.when we arrived there the gate was locked and there was a sign that it was closed.when the cabdriver horned he didn't want to come out.finally he came and said we made a reservaation for the day before which was not true(always... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael v
TreetopsGH, Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review

Guests not booked and did not read e-mails advising them. Seemed to think they "had a right" to come in and stay - despite no staff, no food, no rooms prepared. We are forced to turn away such guests and suggest this "review" be ignored. More 

Aalst, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights after traveling acros malaysia/borneo. We came to Miri with 0 expectations because people said we shouldnt have gone there. Miri is very different than the rest of Borneo, very clean and rich city. The lodge was amazing. An ocean of silence in the middle of a tropical garden. A great place to escape from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bregt V
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Treetops is NOT a resort (as described by one unflattering and undeserved review). It is a very small, tucked-away peaceful lodge in picturesque rainforest surroundings. Owners Mike and Esther are pleasant hosts, and were always attentive to our needs. We were two couples who booked the two rooms overlooking the longhouse as a package to include breakfast and dinner.Accommodation was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Craig B
iring, Owner at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review

The Laundry charge was for two rooms and 4 people; it is based on the local rate of RM 5 per kilo. Sometimes with muddy clothes from the jungle, it is necessary to do two washes to remove the worst first. Then at the end, every item has to be neatly folded and returned to its respective owner. The whole... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

Lovely unique lodge for an escape slightly off the tourist trail. Perfect base for exploring the niah caves and lambir waterfalls. Beautiful home cooked food, beach nearby and friendly service. Tours and transfers can be arranged with a wonderful friendly local driver.

Helpful?
Thank Svetlana L
iring, Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments ! I hope your trip through Borneo went well ! There are always so many variables in this part of the world that it is difficult to cater for the unexpected - but that is all part of the adventure perhaps ? More 

Humbeek, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Treetops lodge is a nice location in Miri. Mike seemed to be a grumpy man, with a rather negative look on things, but once we were settled in and talked a bit he did all he could to help us. Food was nice, we were the only people staying here so there were no menus. The idea of having built... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Joke C
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We had read about this resort in Lonely Planet and read reviews on Tripadvisor, and as a consequence hereof expectations were high. Unfortunately they were not met. The resort itself is quite worn down, and even though the owner told us that we got "the best room in the resort", it was quite frankly ugly and dirty looking. The food... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jesper N
iring, Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review

This is probably the worst review we have had for some time and we are responding because it is considered unfair. Treetops is in no way a RESORT ! It is a small family run business using our own home which we have extended to include a few guests rooms. We offer food because we are a long way from... More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Treetops is sort of a cross between a longhouse and a B&B, very outdoorsy. This is a nice place to just sit outside and enjoy the fresh air and foliage for a few days. Dinner and breakfast are served communally for all guests at a big table and consist of simple local dishes. Quiet, enjoyable, peaceful.

Helpful?
Thank seawolf42
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay (6 nights) at Treetops. The beautiful setting, the surrounding gardens with fish pond, the large room, the beach at 10 minutes walk, everything was perfect. And moreover, the food was excellent. Dana and her daughter did a very good job. Besides some very relaxing days, we visited Lambir Hills and the Niah Caves. Ester,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Diana H
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Treetop Lodge is located in a very peaceful and quiet place where you can relax. The beds were comfortable and clean, however the room itself could be cleaner. I saw dust and old lizzard poo. The little pool could be cleaner too. The food is outstanding; the cook and her daughter make delicious local dinners! From Treetop Lodge you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Samhollznd
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We were at Treetops in early January for three days or so - we had the place to ourselves as January is rainy/quiet season and it was so beautiful! The owners/staff are all awesome, really genuinely friendly and up for a yarn, helpful, good company. We stayed in a superior room but could have stayed anywhere there and we would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dana O
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
0:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miri hotels
5.7 mi away
Hotel Nur
Hotel Nur
#2 of 25 in Miri
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ajang Hotel
Ajang Hotel
#4 of 25 in Miri
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
5.5 mi away
Meritz Hotel
Meritz Hotel
#9 of 25 in Miri
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#6 of 25 in Miri
3.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
7.1 mi away
ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri
5.6 mi away
Mega Hotel
Mega Hotel
#8 of 25 in Miri
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay