We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Treetops Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Treetops Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 47: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016

The owner told us to have our dinner before coming because there's no restaurant nearby. The lodge is quite far from the main road and might be difficult to reach if you come at night. I like the open bathroom concept where you can see the sky and moonlight while taking shower. The owners are so friendly. We had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marina M
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

I stayed in Treetops Lodge along with two of my colleagues following a conference in Miri. We were looking for a couple of days of rest and relaxation before long flights home, and we certainly found it. I immediately had a good impression when upon arrival Mike, the owner, asked us how much we paid for our taxi from the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff W
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2016 via mobile

We stayed as a family of 3 with our 4 year old little boy and had an absolutely wonderful stay! Before we arrived we had been staying in the national parks which were great, but we fancied a bit more comfort and relaxation and that is just what we got! Mike the owner was really welcoming and set a bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vickyandlaurence
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
371 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016

Quaint country living that is close to the town will provide you a taste of Sarwsak as Mike,Connie,Ister, and Dennis welcome you to Miri. Basic accommodations in the longhouse will give a flavor of local living. It sits above a collecting pond that is home to feisty fish. Simple rooms with ceiling fans and mosquito nets greet you Robinson Curuso... More 

Helpful?
Thank savedade
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015 via mobile

We made a reservation 2 days ago to arrive today at his lodge.we took a cab for 60 Rm.when we arrived there the gate was locked and there was a sign that it was closed.when the cabdriver horned he didn't want to come out.finally he came and said we made a reservaation for the day before which was not true(always... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael v
TreetopsGH, Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review

Guests not booked and did not read e-mails advising them. Seemed to think they "had a right" to come in and stay - despite no staff, no food, no rooms prepared. We are forced to turn away such guests and suggest this "review" be ignored. More 

Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights after traveling acros malaysia/borneo. We came to Miri with 0 expectations because people said we shouldnt have gone there. Miri is very different than the rest of Borneo, very clean and rich city. The lodge was amazing. An ocean of silence in the middle of a tropical garden. A great place to escape from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bregt V
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Treetops is NOT a resort (as described by one unflattering and undeserved review). It is a very small, tucked-away peaceful lodge in picturesque rainforest surroundings. Owners Mike and Esther are pleasant hosts, and were always attentive to our needs. We were two couples who booked the two rooms overlooking the longhouse as a package to include breakfast and dinner.Accommodation was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Craig B
iring, Owner at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review

The Laundry charge was for two rooms and 4 people; it is based on the local rate of RM 5 per kilo. Sometimes with muddy clothes from the jungle, it is necessary to do two washes to remove the worst first. Then at the end, every item has to be neatly folded and returned to its respective owner. The whole... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

Lovely unique lodge for an escape slightly off the tourist trail. Perfect base for exploring the niah caves and lambir waterfalls. Beautiful home cooked food, beach nearby and friendly service. Tours and transfers can be arranged with a wonderful friendly local driver.

Helpful?
Thank Svetlana L
iring, Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments ! I hope your trip through Borneo went well ! There are always so many variables in this part of the world that it is difficult to cater for the unexpected - but that is all part of the adventure perhaps ? More 

Humbeek, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Treetops lodge is a nice location in Miri. Mike seemed to be a grumpy man, with a rather negative look on things, but once we were settled in and talked a bit he did all he could to help us. Food was nice, we were the only people staying here so there were no menus. The idea of having built... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Joke C
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We had read about this resort in Lonely Planet and read reviews on Tripadvisor, and as a consequence hereof expectations were high. Unfortunately they were not met. The resort itself is quite worn down, and even though the owner told us that we got "the best room in the resort", it was quite frankly ugly and dirty looking. The food... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Jesper N
iring, Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review

This is probably the worst review we have had for some time and we are responding because it is considered unfair. Treetops is in no way a RESORT ! It is a small family run business using our own home which we have extended to include a few guests rooms. We offer food because we are a long way from... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
0:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miri hotels
5.5 mi away
Pullman Miri Waterfront
4.8 mi away
Imperial Palace Hotel
5.5 mi away
Kingwood Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paragon Lutong Hotel
Paragon Lutong Hotel
#13 of 27 in Miri
3.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
7.1 mi away
ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri
7.4 mi away
Miri Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Guest house style accommodation in a rural area close by the beach and jungle.Some rooms have en suite hot shower and toilet, whilst the more basic rooms are arranged "longhouse style" on a little dam at the bottom of the garden with shared facilities.Meant as a quiet rest stop for tourists going through Borneo, complete with Internet and lots of travel info plus help in organising your travel plans. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Treetops Lodge

Address: Lot 210 | Kampong Siwa Jaya, Miri 98000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Price Range: $18 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Treetops Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Lodge Miri, Sarawak
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay