We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandakan Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Sandakan Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 56: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

One of the best hostels I've been in so far. The rooms are clean, the style of the hostel looks nice and the owners are super friendly. They are not just the owners, they also engage in the life in the hostel and talk (in good english) to the customers.

Helpful?
1 Thank Aljo S
sandakanbackpackersh, Manager at Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi,thank you for reviewing us, we really appreciate it. Happy to hear that you having good time and enjoying your stay here. We will continue to add more beautiful painting, hope you will visit Borneo again in future. Borneo has more to offer!! Have a safe and good trip! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed two nights at Sandakan Backpackers after it was recommended by a friend. We really enjoyed our stay, the hosts Za and Zu are very friendly and helpfull. The rooftop terrace has a great view and is a perfect spot to chill! Highly recommend the place!

Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah G
Ko Phangan, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The most friendly people ever, since I arrive I feel like in a friends flat just chillin and having interesting talks with the owners, rooftop terrace with seaview is amazing, breakfast with native fruits of Borneo, toast, jam, coffee. I stay before my tour to the river and after and I stay more than what I was expecting your because... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardo G
sandakanbackpackersh, Manager at Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review

Ola...ricardo, thank you for all the reviewed you have commented. We will continue to improve our hostel, hope you have a safe and good journey to you next destination. Hope to c u again in Borneo. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of my best travelling experiences in 2 months of travelling! Za & Zu and the rest of the staff are amazing people! The vibe in their hostel is fantastic and you will learn a lot about the environment and how the nature has been damaged in the last couple of decades. It makes you rethink your lifechoices! Furthermore, the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Marijn E
Nice, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for one night only nut had a really good time. The owner is super friendly, he took us to a nice local restaurant for dinner with another guest. The rest of the staff is also really friendly, it feels like being home right away. I got to paint on the walls with another guest, it was good fun!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Morgane J
sandakanbackpackersh, Manager at Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi morgane, thank you for writing us reviewed. Happy to know that you had a good time even just for a night. We want to make our guest to feel they are at home rather than feeling just like another hostel or hotel... Hope you will come again to Borneo in future, because there more for you to explore and... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Awesome location, close to the mall and local markets. Great area on the roof to chill and enjoy the view. Managers are super friendly and helpful! Would definitely visit Sandakan Backpackers next time I'm in Borneo :)

Helpful?
2 Thank BCJNZ
sandakanbackpackersh, Manager at Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for staying with us and review us.TERIMA KASIH BANYAK (thank you very much) Borneo is waiting for you to come again in future, because we have so much to offer for you to explore!! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We accidentally end up in this place and we were so happy that we did. The owners, Za and Zu, are very welcoming and helpfull. They are helping out with planning daytrips or which busses to go with. The hotel got a nice lounge place in the reception room and on the rooftop with view over the harbour. They organized... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sjors O
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We originally booked the Borneo sandakan backpackers but they over booked and took us to sandakan backpackers. This was the best thing that happened to us . The hostel is clean the breakfast is good toast jams lots of different fruits and tea coffee. The two owners were the kindest people we have met in Malaysia and couldn't do enough... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley J
sandakanbackpackersh, Manager at Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi ashley, Thank you for the reviewed, is our pleasure to have you with us. Happy to hear that you having good time here. Hope you will visit Borneo again in future, because Borneo has more for you to explore!! Have a good and safe trip ya... More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I love this hostel! Za, Zu and John are the best hosts ever! You feel like at home here. They help you with everything you might need and they are friendly and professional at the same time! The hostel is new and clean and directly in the central area. Being here for Ramadan has been a wonderful experience because this... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank giadagu
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was planning to just stay for a night at Sandakan Backpackers sort of as as stop over. I ended up staying for 4 nights, just relaxing, writing and planning the next stops of my journey. There is a nice rooftop area to hang, rooms, toilets and showers are very clean and tidy. Also there is a kitchen you can... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank 61tomasin
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
0.1 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#6 of 31 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel City Star
Hotel City Star
#25 of 31 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
0.0 mi away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#4 of 31 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
2 Inn 1 Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#9 of 31 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Borneo Sandakan Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
New management of Sandakan Backpackers started to operate on June 2016 with the sea view on the new roof top surrounding. Come and share your adventure and travelling experience with us! Unique Borneo atmosphere and centrally located in the heart of Sandakan town, right at the WATERFRONT at Harbour Square complimented with trendy bars and bistro nearby. You will be strategically and conveniently located in close proximity to the best amenities and services the city can offer.Being small, we thrive to provide you with the best budget, clean accommodation option within the city so that you will be comfortably taken care of at Sandakan Backpackers Hostel,which doubles up as your launch pad to the treasures and beauty of Sabah, Borneo. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandakan Backpackers

Address: Lot 108, 1st Floor, Block Sh-11, Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Price Range: $12 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sandakan Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandakan Backpackers Sabah, Malaysia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay