We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Lakana Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lakana Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 30: English reviews
Madagascar
Reviewed December 26, 2016

Guests can be assured of personal attention. The tropical style of the hotel is reflected in its facilities. The hotel garden is a combination of trees, flowers, and a beautiful array of tropical plants typical to Ile Sainte-Marie all surrounded in a wooden coconut trees which is a perfect place to enjoy the tranquility of the area. Relax in one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mirana R
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewed November 27, 2016

Excellent staff, so helpful and friendly! When we were at Lakana, the boats to the mainland weren't going for days. The manager arranged a flight for us, just amazing. Beautiful restaurant and rooms right on the water! Would absolutely recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YRoos
LakanaHotel, Gérant at Lakana Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for this feedback. Coming to the island is not always easy so we try to be accommodating and make sure you have a pleasant stay. Good continuation and hope to see you again !

Flanders, Belgium
Reviewed November 9, 2016

We've enjoyed our stay in the Lakana Hotel. The staff is very friendly and the kitchen is excellent. The garden is a beautiful presentation of the local trees and flowers and the turtles where a pleasant surprise. The hotel is perfectly located with abreathtaking seaview

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haya H
LakanaHotel, Gérant at Lakana Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience ! Very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at the Lakana !

Tulum, Mexico
Reviewed October 27, 2016

We stayed 5 nights at this wonderful hotel on October 2016. The bungalows in the garden are beautiful, the service is great and the food is amazing. The garden bungalows are a lot better than the over water once ( The over water bungalows don't have adjacent bathrooms ). The fish and seafood in the restaurant are exquisite

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iliaflax
LakanaHotel, Gérant at Lakana Hotel, responded to this review

What a great review, thanks a lot ! Very pleased to know that you enjoyed ours services, the kitchen and our local food ! We have bungalows over the lagoon water and bungalows inside our botanic garden, to be sure that everyone can find what he looks like. Best regards and hope to you again in Ste Marie ! The...

Antananarivo, Madagascar
Reviewed August 22, 2016

We chose the bungalow above the sea ("pilotis"), and we were certainly not disappointed! We were given the one at the far end, which means that you wake up seeing only the sea, which was absoslutely wonderful. The food is good, the staff is very helpful and the service is great. We went whalewatching with CétaMada and the whole experience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MargauxTD
LakanaHotel, Gérant at Lakana Hotel, responded to this review

A big thank you for your comment. Very pleased to know that you enjoyed the place, our staff and services we proposed. You chose the best bungalow, number 9 ! We hope to see you again one day in Sainte-Marie. Best regards. The Lakana Team

London
Reviewed July 8, 2016

We based ourselves here for a few days in Ile St Marie. This is a lovely hotel, with bungalows in front of the sea. Beach is not always accessible due to the tides. The rooms were large and the had a seperate toilet!!! Everyone was very friendly and helpful, The food was very good and I thought the prices were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patchs
Lakana M, Gérant at Lakana Hotel, responded to this review

A big thank you for your comment. It's very important for us to hear from our guests. We are very pleased to know that you had a good experience in the hotel and hope to see you again one day in Sainte-Marie. Unfortunately, the beach has shrunk over the years. When we arrived 30 years ago, the sea level was...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 16, 2016

I stayed here in May 2016 for almost a week with family. Location is beautiful, the cottages over water are simple but functional, and you only hear the sound of the waves and the wind. Unfortunately the weather was not great and we had lots of rain and wind. We got there with a boat from Sonierana Ivongo but due...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb8887
Reviewed May 9, 2016 via mobile

Great hotel, big and clean Bungalows, beautiful gardens and extremely nice and helpful staff! The manager herself helps you with everything, from calling Boats, scooter rentals, Tuktuk drivers... I've never met a whole team full of such nice people anywhere else in madagascar so far, so this is really special. Great breakfast and good food, a little high prices for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mari S
Reviewed April 3, 2016 via mobile

We really loved this place! The bungalows on the water are super cozy with the best view of the ocean you can imagine. Rova, the manager, is extremely helpful in arranging flights and other activities. The food is also delicious, ask for the special of the day! Highly recommended and the best prize in the area!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonas W
Reviewed March 22, 2016

Stayed in the sea bungalow on the water. It was beautiful. Only thing is that the bathrooms are not in the bungalow so you much walk use the restroom. The room was very nice and clean. The staff changed our sheets and put down the mosquito net for us every night. The food was delicious!!! Rova spoke very good english....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Inna M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosy Boraha hotels
2.2 mi away
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
#1 of 14 in Nosy Boraha
261 reviews
15.5 mi away
Riake Resort & Villa
Riake Resort & Villa
#2 of 14 in Nosy Boraha
160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Soanambo
Hotel Soanambo
#5 of 14 in Nosy Boraha
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Libertalia
Hotel Libertalia
#4 of 14 in Nosy Boraha
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boraha Village
Boraha Village
#6 of 14 in Nosy Boraha
77 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Maningory
Hotel Maningory
#11 of 14 in Nosy Boraha
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience overwater bungalows on stilts! Tonga soa to Nosy Boraha! (“Welcome to Sainte Mary’s Island”) We have been greeting our guests for over 30 years, sharing the beauty and authenticity of Saint Mary’s Island. Overwater or on land, cozy up in our comfortable reasonably priced bungalows for couples or families (2 to 6 people). Take advantage of our many services: restaurant and bar, free shuttle, massage salon, crafts shop, outing planning, laundry service, etc. Everything for a worry free stay. Located on the island’s west coast, halfway between Ravoraha airport and the city of Ambodifotatra, Lakana Hotel is conveniently located, close to activities offered by our partner providers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lakana Hotel

Address: Andampanangoy, BP 2 | Ile Sainte-Marie, Nosy Boraha 515, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Toamasina Province > Nosy Boraha
Price Range: $24 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lakana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakana Hotel Madagascar/Nosy Boraha
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Nosy Boraha
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nosy Boraha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Lakana Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Lakana Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The whale watching, arranged through Lakana was absolutely amazing! We went twice”
 of 5 bubbles YRoos, Nov 27, 2016 | Read review
“All bungalows are beach front, we had one at the end and got to enjoy the pet tortoises”
 of 5 bubbles Patchs, Jul 8, 2016 | Read review
“Bungalow over water”
 of 5 bubbles Deb8887, May 16, 2016 | Read review
“Sea bungalow has no bathrooms but better views.”
 of 5 bubbles 773innam, Mar 22, 2016 | Read review
“Free wi-fi in the reception area.”
 of 5 bubbles 419piotrw, Mar 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question