We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Vanivola

Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Vanivola
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 16: English reviews
Montlucon, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016

I had the chance to stay for 10 nights at the Vanivola hotel in May 2016. It was a lovely experience, more especially because of the great kindness and efficient service of the whole hotel staff, efficiently managed by Joan. Tough to find on the island such a good quality value hotel! I'm glad I did!

Helpful?
Thank retired10110
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2016

Very friendly and helpful staff, good location, good food. Rooms are very clean and the best was massage, really relaxing. Finally we were unhappy to leave this place. It is a nice place to rest and discover all island.

Helpful?
Thank Õnne L
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015 via mobile

The bungalows were kind of noisy. You could hear cars passing by all day/night long. The bungalows were a bit pricy, we paid 80€ for the ultimate bungalow with the sea view. Bungalows were nice and functional but we would have expect better. We would recommend an air extractor in bathroom to avoid black spots on the wall and evacuate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Atahiana

Travelers are raving about these Nosy Boraha hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Stayed here 5 nights in one of the upstairs rooms in the main building (room 108). Rooms are basic but spacious and clean with a lovely large balcony overlooking the sea. Non-bungalow rooms don't have air conditioning and we needed to request extra fans as it was so hot - which the staff happily obliged with. Only small niggle was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank soz11
Jacques B, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Vanivola, responded to this review
Google Translation

Un grand merci pour ce merveilleux commentaire. Malgré les petits bémols que vous avez rencontré, nous sommes heureux de savoir... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014 via mobile

Vanivola is a pleasant resort with very friendly & accommodating staff. Our bungalow was clean & a 3 star quality standard. The beds were quite hard & pillows a bit lumpy. The shower head was handheld only. Our air con didn't work however they did offer to move us after they tried to fix it. Good location, close to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JackieS85
Jacques B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Vanivola, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripavisor.com We are delighted to know that you could enjoy your stay with us despite the inconvenience you may have encountered. See you again soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

I write this review to warn potential guests about the very serious risk of being robbed in this hotel, especially if you are in a bungalow. Unfortunately I speak from experience having just been relieved of my new camera, and, more importantly its memory card. I feel most strongly that this was an "inside job" and that it won't be... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank kim d
Jacques B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Vanivola, responded to this review

We're really sorry this happened to you. The investigation is ongoing, but it is difficult because there is no break-ins ... Moreover, the fact that we do not know the brand of the camera to limit searches. Upon receipt of the invoice of the aircraft, we will ask our insurance reimbursement. By cons, it is unfortunate that you consider selfless... More 

Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed at Vanivola for 2 nights in a basic room. The room was clean and the bed was ok. Even though the room was not expensive, you will be able to find better places for the same price in Saint Marie. Staff were not very hospitable. The food from the restaurant was poor. The prices are the same as in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jos F
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We also stayed here as the last stop on a tour and had a pleasant stay. We had a room in the main building with its own balcony and views over the pool and beach. The room itself was a good size but the adjoining bathroom was very small with just an open shower and toilet. There was no room... More 

Helpful?
Thank JKW479
Staunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was the last hotel that we stayed in as part of an organised tour to Madagascar. The rooms (we had a bungalow) have views overlooking the sea and are well proportioned and clean. The bed however, was disappointing, as it was extremely hard. In addition, the shower did not have a curtain and so the bathroom tended to get... More 

Helpful?
Thank ceri74
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent a couple of wonderful days at the Vanivola on Ile Sainte Marie. We had a spacious comfortable and clean room in the main building with a nice veranda and view of the sea. Breakfast and dinner was mainly served outdoors and with sea view. The beach however is not suitable for swimming. We found the service and staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maja T
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosy Boraha hotels
3.8 mi away
Riake Resort & Villa
Riake Resort & Villa
#2 of 12 in Nosy Boraha
5.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel Soanambo
Hotel Soanambo
#5 of 12 in Nosy Boraha
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
14.3 mi away
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
#1 of 12 in Nosy Boraha
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Boraha Village
Boraha Village
#7 of 12 in Nosy Boraha
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Libertalia
Hotel Libertalia
#4 of 12 in Nosy Boraha
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hotel Maningory
Hotel Maningory
#10 of 12 in Nosy Boraha
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming Hotel *** located in the south west of the island of Sainte Marie. Infinity pool, WiFi, BC. Bar Restaurant. 9 Air-conditioned bungalows facing the ocean. 10 Rooms including 5 with all terrace with ventilation. Bilingual staff. Many activities. Minibus 14 seats for transfers. 8M20 boat for fishing, whale safari and excursions. Location: 3 km from the city center and 7 km from the airport. Massage and beauty treatments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Vanivola

Address: Mahavelou, Nosy Boraha 515, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Toamasina Province > Nosy Boraha
Price Range: $39 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Vanivola 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vanivola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vanivola Madagascar/Nosy Boraha
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nosy Boraha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay