We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Epiya Chapeyu

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Epiya Chapeyu
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 55: English reviews
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place is approx 20 minutes further on than Lugard Falls in Tsavo East, we entered by Manyani gate at 11-10am and arrived at the camp at 13-20 with a short stop at the falls. Good access Murram roads. Stayed in tent number 5. Front row overlooking the Galana River. Hippos. Crocs. And plenty of Elephants. Mario, and the one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellingzebra
Reviewed October 20, 2016

I was staying at Epya Chapey lodge at Tsavo East with my husband in September and we had an amazing experience. I'd say the camp we chose was exactly the right one for us and it made our safari experience most rememberable. It's hard to forget waking up from a nap and seeing an elephant walking a meter away from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria E
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this review

Dear Maria, Many thanks for your discription of your stay with us, we are delighted that you had a great time during your stay with us. The staff and I will look forward To welcoming you and your husband To our camp again in the future . With best regards From all of us , Oscar

Msambweni
Reviewed September 27, 2016

A lovely riverside camp with a lot of bush feeling, nice Italian food, attentive staff, and elephants idling between the tents. It deserves a lot of the praise you find in previous reviews - but quite some improvements are long overdue, mainly little things that nevertheless make a difference. During sun downer, enjoying the river panorama, you always look at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IsabelleUndWerner
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this review

Thank you for your write up, and your feed back which is apreciated, renovations are in the planning stages . We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Oscar Bigi

Naivasha
Reviewed August 27, 2016

The staff at Bigi Camp really do go that extra mile and beyond to help. They notice things quite naturally that I dont think i would have noticed. I had my own thermos flask on the table when they delivered coffee and tea to our tent at 0315 and offered to fill it with coffee for me! Heaven. The camp...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sanctuaryfarmkenya
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review I am very happy that you enjoyed and apreciated the spirit of our camp, which is one of the real old world safari tented camp. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of having you stay with us. Oscar Bigi

Fairford, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 23, 2016

If you write a bad review of Epiya Chapeyu, then you're probably not the right person to be there in the first place. It is magical, and unlike some camps, very real. It's not shiny, there will be no beautifully wrapped Belgian chocolate on your pillow at night, but if you want a comfy bed in a great clean tent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CliveElliott
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review of our camp, It was a great pleasure for me to have met you and your family and to have passed a very pleasant eveining with you. Looking forward to having you stay with us again. best regards, Oscar

Salzburg, Austria
Reviewed August 9, 2016

From 25th to 27th July 2016 we spent 2 nights in Epiya Chapeyu Tented Camp - it was really great and a fabulous experience! The camp on the banks of Galana river is a tented camp in old traditional safari style, around 60 km from Sala Gate and 170 km from Malindi. The 17 tents and 1 cottage are spread...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bwanakarl
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review on our camp, we are happy that you enjoyed it and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 26, 2016

We had booked a tent overlooking the river but on arrival we were told that there were none available and the staff didn't seem too worried about having let us down. Unfortunately the whole camp looked a bit 'tired' and uncared for which is a shame as the location was wonderful and the river was in full flood. Having said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamboRegina
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this review

Sorry for any inconviniance caused, and that you did not get front row tents as per your booking, hopfuly we will have the pleasure of having you stay with us again, we apologise for the fact that we had run out of white wine during your stay. Oscar Bigi

Nantes, France
Reviewed January 17, 2016

Set on the banks of the Galana river, this place has everything to offer to those who wish to see nature at its best and at its wildest. An idyllic setting with elephant, hippo, crocodile and birds, fish eagle, heron, geese and King fishers. The service and dinner menu could lead you to believe you are in a 5 star...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nen64
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this review

Thanks for your review we hope to have you stay with us again soon. Oscar Bigi

Heide, Germany
Reviewed January 12, 2016

I stayed with my family here for four nights in December 15 and we had a lovely time. The staff were very helpfull and even gave us their own map of the park when we asked for one. The tents are in good shape and the food is excellent--maybe no wonder since it is run by an Italian! Crokodiles and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y W
micaela_calza, Proprietario at Epiya Chapeyu, responded to this review

Sorry for any inconviniance caused to you, their are one Manager and two assistant duty managers at the camp, It seems a slight lack of communication. We do not have credit card facilities at the camp due to a lack of telephone net work. All guests are normaly toled that their is only a cash bar in camp, We apologise...

Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed December 30, 2015

On the river in the African bush .. What more could you want! Delicious little pizzas are served while you have your evening drinks under the stars. One of our favorite places in Tsavo. It is accessible from the coast so great for a safari from there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 88lesley
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

186 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (165)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
0:46
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsavo National Park East
23.1 mi away
Sentrim Tsavo East
Sentrim Tsavo East
#1 of 2 in Tsavo National Park East
235 reviews
21.7 mi away
Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge
21.2 mi away
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
Ashnil Aruba Lodge
#2 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Voi Safari Lodge
Voi Safari Lodge
#5 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
450 reviews
26.0 mi away
Satao Luxury Tented Camp
Satao Luxury Tented Camp
#1 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
293 reviews
25.5 mi away
Voi Wildlife Lodge
Voi Wildlife Lodge
#6 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you're looking for an exceptional Safari experience you have come to the right place! Our Camp is located in Tsavo East National Park, in Kenya East Africa. We are situated along the banks of the Galana River, where fauna and flora abound! During the dry season elephants and buffalo graze all around us in a pure, untouched environment. We offer fine Italian cuisine and mini pizzas served with drinks just before dinner. Our motto is to make sure our natural surroundings remain as they have been for centuries and thus our camp is in sync with our surroundings. How to reach us? We are easily accessible from Malindi, Mombasa and Nairobi! We promise you the best African Experience ever with memories you will certainly cherish for a life-time! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Epiya Chapeyu

Address: Galana River, Tsavo National Park East, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park East
Price Range: $215 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Epiya Chapeyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epiya Chapeyu Kenya/Tsavo National Park East
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Epiya Chapeyu staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Dubai, United Arab Emirates

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Epiya Chapeyu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All safari tents have a good view but the best are at the far end of the camp by the river”
 of 5 bubbles 798mariae, Oct 20, 2016 | Read review
“get a front row tent”
 of 5 bubbles Sanctuaryfarmkenya, Aug 27, 2016 | Read review
“Just ask for one that overlooks the river”
 of 5 bubbles JamboRegina, Apr 26, 2016 | Read review
“If you want it calm in the morning, ask for a tent away from the dining area--safaries often start at 5 am!”
 of 5 bubbles 692yw, Jan 12, 2016 | Read review
“ask for a front row tent to get better river view”
 of 5 bubbles eiryr, Nov 30, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay