We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Guest House Kim Lien

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Guest House Kim Lien
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 175: English reviews
United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I arrived around lunch time, no one was there, all locked up. I asked around and someone phoned up and the son turned up after a while on his motorbike. He did not look very happy, anyway he gave me a room, when I asked about wifi password he was quite rude saying it's in the room and he was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BazH47
kim_lien_2011, Manager at Guest House Kim Lien, responded to this review

This happened quite a while ago but we remember it, because nobody was present in the guest house when you arrived. I am sorry to hear about your experience but it was simply not a good time to visit due to special circumstances in Lien's family. Nam was out of character, but he never is rude. We don't hand out...

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed December 5, 2016 via mobile

After 10+ days of being sick in Hai Phong, I decided that I'd be better off in a small city and rest this cold away. I chose Ninh Binh hoping that lots of sleep and rest would help me get better. I booked a room at Kim Liên Guesthouse for 7 nights and it turned out that peace and sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SKamioka
Reviewed November 24, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Kim Lien for 2 nights. Let's start with saying the rooms are cheap, so don't expect too much, but we've had cheap before. The room is very basic. There is nothing in the room to give you comfort, nor anything for decoration to light up the room. Nevertheless, the room is very spaceous. The bathroom is basic,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katie g
kim_lien_2011, Manager at Guest House Kim Lien, responded to this review

What I already suspected is true. In a private message after the review was published this person admittedly compares us to hotel in Hoi An where he paid 160 percent of our room rate. The review system is not meant to compare hotels in different price categories. Moreover, that particular hotel has an exceptional value for money and you probably...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 19, 2016 via mobile

Kim was super helpful from the get go! She arranged motorbike drivers at very short notice to take us around the following day. (We recommend day trip number 2). We only stayed one night and checked out early when the drivers arrived but our sleeper bus (which Kim arranged for us) was not till the evening, Kim let us stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kayster1981
kim_lien_2011, Manager at Guest House Kim Lien, responded to this review

Dear Kay, Thanks for your rating, we appreciate it. However, we like to argue some of your comments. Your statement that the room is 'very simple' is typical for guests who are used to pay more for rooms in other hotels. We are grateful your rating isn't influenced by this comparison. Still, your comment can be confusing for others. We...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 3, 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Kim Lien, but due to our travel arrangements we were there three full days- early check in and late check out were not a problem at all and throughout or stay we were treated warmly. We hired bikes from them three days in a row, and Rudy the co-owner was extremely helpful with directions and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
kim_lien_2011, Manager at Guest House Kim Lien, responded to this review

Thanks Adam for your review and rating. Much appreciated. I need to correct you on one thing and that is that I (Rudy) are not a co-owner of guest house Kim Liên.

Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

Three nights spent in this nice and clean guest house ! AC, private bathroom, bed... Everything is appreciable Closed to the most places to visit, the team will be happy to guide you on a motorbike. If you need you can rent bicycles for a good price. Good good food at breakfast. Julia and Sylvain

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvain G
kim_lien_2011, Manager at Guest House Kim Lien, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Glad you to hear you liked it!

Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

Nice place. Clean and quite. Good price. The staffs very friendly and helpful. She showed us the tours, the way to go, good places to eat, the prices. Also help us to rent motorcycle and book the bus with good price. Next to the guesthouse have a lady sale a very delicious noodle.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Huy N
kim_lien_2011, Manager at Guest House Kim Lien, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We highly appreciate your comments and rating.

Geelong, Australia
Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

Thank you so much to Rudy for your communication and help organising our stay before we arrived and a big thank you to Lien, Nam and her daughter for their kindness, generosity and help during our stay. The guesthouse is in a lovely quiet street not too far from restaurants and shops and train station. The rooms are generous and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodi R
kim_lien_2011, Owner at Guest House Kim Lien, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and advice to others. We are happy to have served you and hope to see you again some time in the future.

Holden, Louisiana
Reviewed June 30, 2016

Lien and Rudy were the perfect hosts for our stay in Ninh Binh. They run a lovely guest house on a quiet side street, just minutes from numerous local restaurants. We chose to eat at the guesthouse several nights. The food was comforting and delish! Our room was spacious, clean and met our every need. Our favorite spot in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m0w0lf
kim_lien_2011, Owner at Guest House Kim Lien, responded to this review

Dear Monica, Thank you so much for your kind words. Nam, Rudy and I enjoyed your company and hopefully we see you again in the future. Liên

Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. This place is very well equipped. Breakfast, Cold a/c. They also have bikes for rental. Good price at about $6 US a day. They also lock them during the night inside. Very good for the price you pay. Beds are comfy everything was clean. Would recommend to anyone people are very nice to talk to....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elton G
kim_lien_2011, Manager at Guest House Kim Lien, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and advice for potential bookers. We highly appreciate it!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ninh Binh hotels
0.5 mi away
Ngoc Anh Hotel 2
Ngoc Anh Hotel 2
#7 of 25 in Ninh Binh
505 reviews
4.9 mi away
Tam Coc Garden
Tam Coc Garden
#2 of 25 in Ninh Binh
658 reviews
3.4 mi away
Nam Hoa Hotel
Nam Hoa Hotel
#3 of 25 in Ninh Binh
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Nguyen Shack – Ninh Binh
Nguyen Shack – Ninh Binh
#1 of 43 in Ninh Binh
359 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Vancouver Hotel Ninh Binh
3.2 mi away
Tuan Ngoc Hotel
Tuan Ngoc Hotel
#4 of 43 in Ninh Binh
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kim Lien is a small guest house in Ninh Binh run by a friendly Vietnamese family. The location is on a quiet corner in a local neighborhood with leafy streets. At Kim Lien you can be assured of a good night's rest since there are no noisy traffic sounds. At the end of the street is a colorful day market. Local beer gardens, coffee shops and street food restaurants are just around the corner. The city center with with a modern supermarket and restaurants is just a 10 minute walk away. We are in the western part of town while the train station is in the eastern area. It is 1.6 Km to our guest house, the bus station is only 1 km. Traveling on scenic country roads, the rice paddies and limestone mountains are within minutes reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Guest House Kim Lien

Address: Ngo 212, Hai Thuong Lan Ong | No. 54, Ninh Binh, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ninh Binh Province > Ninh Binh
Price Range: $13 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Guest House Kim Lien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Guest House Kim Lien staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“3-D with good view”
 of 5 bubbles MarkRozenfeld, Apr 15, 2016 | Read review
“The room on the first floor is the largest and has its own balcony,”
 of 5 bubbles eugenekiwi, Apr 12, 2016 | Read review
“You can choose from a simple twin bed room to a very luxurious double bedroom, they offer everything.”
 of 5 bubbles annamC5359FZ, Aug 27, 2015 | Read review
“All rooms quiet because of quiet neighbourhood. Excellent for backpackers.”
 of 5 bubbles georginaw431, May 12, 2015 | Read review
“There are a lot of irregular steps to tackle if going to the upper floors.”
 of 5 bubbles roznkaz, Mar 24, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay