We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alayana Resort Koh Tao

Save
16/77 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360 Thailand
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Nustay.com
eDreams
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1462)
Pool & Beach (256)
Room & Suite (251)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#14 of 53 hotels in Koh Tao
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Located cliffside overlooking Koh Nang Yuan, Alayana Koh Tao Resort offers amazing ocean and sunset views from two spectacular pools. Catering to both families and romance seekers, our rooms offer something for all travelers.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Diving
Hiking
Kids pool
Free shuttle or taxi services
Wifi
Infinity pool
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
1,548Reviews41Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 937
  • 308
  • 138
  • 82
  • 83
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We chose this hotel as it looked to nice on the screen and had good reviews. But the reality couldn't have been further from the truth. We got off to a bad start as the hotel failed to pick us up at the port as agreed. To make things worse we couldn't call them because their phone was out of order. When we eventually arrived we were shown into our room (Ocean Infinity). It was so awful - drab and falling apart - that we asked to move. We ended up in the Ocean Mystery room - less than half the size and apparently the same price! Most of the furniture in this room was also broken and everything badly marked, but it was slightly more cosy. The rooms summed up the hotel as it was clearly in a state of disrepair and heading the same way as the hotel next door which is derelict and gradually falling into the sea. But in spite of there being so much wrong with this hotel, no one seemed to care - the staff just sat around talking and the manager played on her phone. Breakfast was no better - very plain and very ordinary. Beware that the hotel is a 20 minute uphill walk from town, but no homeward shuttle is provided and Koh Tao taxis are shockingly expensive. Finally, the one good thing - the views from the hotel are absolutely stunning - but they will be from many other hotels along the coast, all of which must surely be a better bet than this place.
Read more
After reading rave reviews on Tripadvisor, I booked my first 2 nights on Koh Tao at Alayana Resort. Thank goodness I only booked 2 nights, as it turned out to be a disappointing choice. Firstly, it would be helpful if the resort communicated transfer options to their guests before arrival. One is bombarded by taxi touts when stepping off the catamaran, and it is surprisingly expensive to take a taxi to this resort. Some prior information would have made the landing a bit softer. Regarding the room, it is spacious and well laid out, but in need of refurbishment. There is a massive crack in the wall, the front door does not fit well in the door frame, and the shower has virtually no water pressure. Although there is a kettle and cups in the room, there was no coffee or tea. Luckily I had my own. And although there is a tv, the resort does not have cable, so the only option is to get a Netflix stick, which comes at a hefty $63 deposit. Lastly, the resort does not use duvet covers, but rather sheets above and below the uncovered duvet. This arrangement comes undone during the night, which does not seem to be a hygienic solution. After my arrival, I was keen to have some coffee in the hotel’s restaurant. Firstly I was put off by the dirty tables, and then could not find the bar tender. He eventually emerged from beneath the bar counter, in no mood to serve customers, and promptly informed me that the restaurant only served coffee in the morning. This was my last attempt to order anything from the resort, and I was happy to walk to town for refreshments and meals. By the way, it is probably a good idea to have your own transport when staying at Alayana, as it is a steep slog up the hill from town. They have a transfer service to town 3 times daily, but you still have to make your own way back, and taxi’s on Koh Toa are outrageously expensive. The views from my room and the swimming pool are superb, but this property feels sad and neglected. Rather than mention even more negative comments, suffice it to say that I will not be sad to move to a different hotel tomorrow.
Read more
We chose this hotel because of trip advisor, but boy did we get surprised. We are a regulary family from Denmark, not expecting special treatment at all! This place has no smile at all. No one ever smiles to you or says sawasdeka like everybody does here. And with that no service. The staff doesn't speak any English, so everything seemed to be a problem (not for us). Everything was worn out, broken or simply not existing. Electric installations were dangling from the walls, the toilet did not work, the drain was leaking all over the floor, and though we told the reception, nothing happened. Breakfast (which roughly consisted of self made toastbread, filter coffee and days old juice) should be served at eight in the morning, but every morning this angry looking "chef" was not ready before eight fifteen. The pool should open at nine, but was not ready before nine thirty every day. Maybe small things, but in the whole just adding up to our annoyance. Pool area was dirty with cigarette stumps and greasy from old drinks
Read more
Response from AlayanaKohtao, Owner at Alayana Resort Koh Tao
Responded Jan 31, 2020
Dear Mikael We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We always strive to do our very best to make our guests happy. Unfortunately we have no record of a Danish family staying in January and nor with the name Mikael. Seeing how different your review is from other reviews, we can do nothing but to keep up our hard work.
Read more
We stayed for 5 nights, lovely place. Very chilled and relaxing atmosphere. The staff were great, friendly, helpful and accommodating. We had the Honeymoon Pool Access room which was fantastic. As in previous review the views and sunsets are stunning. We did encounter an issue when we first arrived, the name had changed from Aminjirah which caused us some confusion also we were not given our booked and paid for room. They moved us to a different room for one night then we moved into the Honeymoon Pool Access room. We are unsure what the mix up was but they did put a credit onto out room for us to use on food and drink which we felt was very fair. Sometimes mishaps happen, but it was great that management did this for us, we really appreciated it. We found the food to be delicious and they were able to adapt options for me as a vegetarian. The afternoon 2pm - 7pm discount offers were good too. Admittedly the resort is a little tired in places, but the season is coming to an end and this is to be expected, also we wondered if there had been a changed in management due to the name change, so this may spur some maintenance. We hired a scooted from across the road as taxi’s, especially in the evening, can be 400 Baht from Sairee. We did get one on the first afternoon for 250 Baht but even this we felt was expensive for a few kilometres. You can walk back but there is a bit of a hill. We opted for the scooter at 200 baht a day and were able to explore the island at our leisure. We would definitely go back and recommend to friends, we felt as they did their best to rectify the initial mistake the 5* was a fair score.
Read more
We had family ocean fantastic room, big and nice room. View was stunning. Pools were very good. Staff was friendly and very nice. Free shuttle service 3 times a day from hotel to Sairee village no return. It's like 1,5km uphill from village, but we walked few times, good workout to burn some beers away 😁 or just grab a taxi back, 200 baht at lowest. Food was very good and tasty. Breakfast was good, not much to choose from but good pancakes and omelettes. Minimart 300m, very small but cheap beers, sodas and whisky. Lovely french bulldog welcoming you back to hotel. We were happy to be here 😊
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$34 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
amanjirah hotel koh tao
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Aminjirah Resort Koh Tao
LOCATION
ThailandSurat Thani ProvinceKoh Tao
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Alayana Resort Koh Tao
Which popular attractions are close to Alayana Resort Koh Tao?
Nearby attractions include The Beer Masons (0.8 miles), COCO BAR (0.8 miles), and Maya Beach Club (1.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Alayana Resort Koh Tao?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Alayana Resort Koh Tao?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Alayana Resort Koh Tao?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Alayana Resort Koh Tao?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alayana Resort Koh Tao?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Gallery Restaurant, Chez Albert, and VegetaBowl.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Alayana Resort Koh Tao?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Alayana Resort Koh Tao have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.