We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Milky Bay Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Milky Bay Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

723 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Milky Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 517: English reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We loved the milky bay resort. It really made what was a rather boring stay on koh phangan much better. The resort itself was clean and tidy, the staff were very polite. We dined at the restaurant one evening and it was lovely. Our room was excellent. Equip with everything you would need, tea coffee making facilities, mini bar, tv...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lua101
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for review.Pleased that you enjoyed your stay however disappointed that you felt ripped off at the end.The costs of the boat tickets are standard so I will definantely follow up on the charge.The millipedes are yes, a signature of Thailand, but should definantely not be a hindrance and will notify housekeeping to do a thorough investigation.Thank you once...

Ko Samui, Thailand
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Cannot Fault anything about this place! Loved every minute of it from the moment we arrived. Our room was spotless and the food was delicious! So much so we never felt the need to eat anywhere else! What makes the hotel is almost definitely the staff , All extremely welcoming and every member who see's you whether it be the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank georgina w
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review

To get a five out of five is certainly a wonderful feeling.Thank you so much.The cheff will be happy to hear that you enjoyed his food so much.I am glad the staff took care of you and made your full moon a memorable one without any hickups.It is guests like yourselves that make it all worthwhile in the end.

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed three nights and was blown away by this place. It is beautiful, the staff are so nice and it is reasonably priced. The massages onsite are fantastic, I left this resort so relaxed. We stayed here during the half moon party and the resort supplied paint and a taxi to the party. We also rented scooters at the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claireire
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the amazing comments.We are so chuffed to hear you loved Milky Bay Resort.I am glad you took advantage of the very reasonably priced massages in Thailand.They are truly a treat for all visitors.Exploring the island by bike is the best way if you can avoid the Koh Phangan tatoo.Please visit again.

Zürich
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed one night in this resort after the full moon party and before we took our boat to Koh Tao at Tongsala pier. The resort is lovely, the restaurant is very nice and our room (we had a studio > got a free upgrade) was very big, clean and comfortable. I think this is the most friendly staff I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alsa85
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review

As Zurich has just come out of winter Im glad to hear that you had a good time and enjoying Thailands hot weather and hospitality.Its a pity you were only with us for one night but hopefully you will some day return.Its important to us that our staff are happy as it is ultimately the guest that will feel this...

Ko Samui, Thailand
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Location. Milky Bay Resort is situated in Bantai which is a great location if you're going to the half moon festival psytrance party. It's also quite close to Tong Sala and the hotel provided free transportation from there and back for free in their truck. Rent a jeep and drive to Tong Naipan. The Accommodation. Lovely grounds, happy and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddie-Samui
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review

We always found swimming pool water really warm in Thailand so thats why we decided to do a half shaded pool as this keeps the water a little cooler and of course offers relief from the hot sun, so I am pleased that it made a positive difference to you.Thank you for the room tip.It has prompted us to recheck...

Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our wooden Bangalows was dark n dinji the light was not good we was always tripping over the bed edges cos you can't see what you doing. If u opened up the one window for flight all the air con escapes. The pizzas are nice, service wasn't that great a bit anoying at times. Better value elsewhere on the island...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snailmanfr
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review

The standard bungalows are our first entry rooms and always advise guests to upgrade to a more spacious room as the bungalows are just that, a "bungalow" and can be very tight.We will look into the lighting and making them brighter.Dissapointed that you only enjoyed the pizza but thank you for sending in your review.All points well noted.

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in January around half moon time. The resort sent someone to pick me up free of charge from the pier and room was ready upon arrival. They also organised onward travel to koh samui including drop off and transfer at the other end - in general, the staff can't do enough to help! Travel to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pcollo87
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review

Its really awesome to get such positive feedback.Thank you very much for all your comments.We really appreciate the detail you have given and are really happy that you had such an enjoyable experience.There is however always room for improvement so we will continue to strive to give our guests the best possible all round experience and hope to seeyou back...

Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Milky Bay for 5 nights in a superior double room. The staff are very friendly and there is a good atmosphere. The resort is mainly all traditional Thai huts which all look amazing. The Resturant is situated right on the beach with gorgeous views. During the day the tide is out and you can walk out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RacheyMcD22
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for a wonderful review mentioning alot of positive points as well as a negative.These points are so important for us to know what our guests are feeling and what is happening around the resort.We have already investigated the rooms and had fumigators to inspect and spray for any ants so thank you again.

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Milky Bay resort for 1 week during our 1 month trip to Thailand. Looking back, it was the best week. The staff is amazing, the sorroundings are beautiful and the rooms and service in general is very good. Would recommend it for more or less any kind of traveller who has found his...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fanoe-born
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for a 5 star review.We are very thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that you found the service and facilities agreeable and good.We are thrilled when we have accomplished our main goal of making our guests happy and contributing to their lasting happy memories of Thailand.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We loved this place. We spent a week there in the middle of February during a three week trip to Thailand. Milky Bay was just perfect for us. Friendly, food was great. I think we had dinner next to the sea every night. Stunningly beautiful setting. Highly recommend

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review

We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable week and enjoyed the food and setting.Thank you for sending in your views it is really important to us.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (577)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (77)
Viewed
Dining (88)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
1:27
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (219)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (488)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Beach (22)
Viewed
Beachfront Swimming Pool (13)
Viewed
Deluxe Beach Front Apartment (82)
Viewed
Garden Villa (77)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Standard Bungalow (39)
Viewed
Studio Apartment (68)
Viewed
Superior Room (63)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
596 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
514 reviews
4.2 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#25 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#34 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
221 reviews
4.2 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#10 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
513 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Milky Bay Resort is peacefully located on Koh Phangan at Ban Tai beach makes it is easy to travel to all parts of the island. Haad Rin, the location of the monthly full moon party, is only 15 minutes drive away, At Milky Bay all bungalows are equipped to meet the highest of standards. All bungalows are air-conditioned and have western bathrooms with hot and cold water showers. The room decor is a blend of modern sophistication with local Thai and traditional African decorative elements and furnishings. Each room has a spacious balcony with sea or garden views. The bungalows are surrounded by lush vegetation All pathways are covered with soft wood-shavings, which give the resort a special rural character, and make it comfortable to walk barefooted around the resort. Set under a crisp tropical sky, overlooking the calm inviting ocean and spilling onto a soft milky beach all huddled between beautiful lush gardens is Milky Bay. You can savour sunset cocktails, taste the delectable flavours of Thai cuisine and pizzas or enjoy a beachfront barbecue Thai style with fresh seafood.Keep yourself busy with the wide range of activities available at the resort cool your senses with a swim in the pool after a day of adventure and unforgettable images or relax with a massage followed by a herbal steam. If it is relaxation and tranquility you are after or a holiday filled with adventure, then it is all waiting for you at Milky Bay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Milky Bay Resort

Address: 103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $33 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Milky Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Milky Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milky Bay Hotel Koh Phangan
Milky Bay Ko Phangan
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Milky Bay Resort staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Milky Bay Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Maybe invest some money and book the superior room instead of the standard bungalow which indeed appeared very small.”
  • Studio room
  • Studio room
  • Superior room
  • Superior room
  • Bathroom in superior room
 of 5 bubbles Alex_Jei, Sep 18, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the last room, its right on the beach”
 of 5 bubbles ThomasRW, Aug 25, 2016 | Read review
“Beachside studios are kind of noisy at night due to music from Two Rocks Bungalows and Beach Bar.”
 of 5 bubbles N9235VVchristopherd, Jun 23, 2016 | Read review
“Better places on the island with far better management.”
 of 5 bubbles Liverpool555, Apr 29, 2016 | Read review
“If you are staying for a while get a sea-front room”
 of 5 bubbles Ibizapaul, Mar 2, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question