We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Sanctuary Thailand

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Pha Ngan
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

520 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 471: English reviews
Start your review of The Sanctuary Thailand
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have stayed in the resort for 3 weeks to joined yoga teacher training course. Would love to say thank you to Sam and team who worked hard for us. I was enjoying to stay with the resort but only few things need to improve. First yoga mat that resort prepared for us it wasn't good quality and too old....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sujirat Y
HOTEL’S FAVORITE REVIEW
Reviewed February 27, 2017 via mobile

The Sanctuary has a very distinct vibe about the place. When I first arrived I felt a bit self conscious because there are so many young, beautiful, tanned bodies around and it seems as though not many clothes are allowed. However as soon as I got chatting to a few people I realised how wonderfully inclusive the place is. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jo F
About Hotel's Favorite Review
SanctuaryThailand, Manager at The Sanctuary Thailand, responded to this review

Hi Jo Really happy to hear you had a wonderful cleansing and yoga experience with us. We spent a little time upgrading our services in the Wellness centre last year, with a spanking, new communal space, new spa area and a refresh of the services provided, so far it has gone down very well, we and our unbelievable warm family...

Athens
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I came here for a 200 hour yoga teacher training and was highly disappointed. My bungalow was in the "slum area* of the resort near the dorms reserved for yoga groups. The bungalow was dirty, the fans provided full of dust, the mosquito screen was brioken; my bed had springs coming out of it. The cleaning service was terrible since...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seabutterfly
SanctuaryThailand, Manager at The Sanctuary Thailand, responded to this review

Dear Sea Buttefly. We are so sorry that your budget accommodation was not to your satisfaction. We remember you very well at Sanctuary and, together with the YTT Group leader we do feel that we did everything we could to accommodate your needs. We have just conferred with her - she and we had no complaints of fleas in this...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When I first booked The Sanctuary, I was expecting a small, cosy, friendly place, but when I got there all the magic and grandeur of the place started to sync in. The place stands in a really beautiful beach, and the place itself is quite big with an enormous rather community than guest, as I could feel. Mr Moon and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dionathan D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The beach is nice but seriously the staff is not kind. For a "sanctuary" I did not feel any happiness from anyone working there. I also really really disliked the fact that we had to pay for wifi. Honestly I felt those people were here to make money. I really hate when people use the hippy this way.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucie G
SanctuaryThailand, Manager at The Sanctuary Thailand, responded to this review

Hi there Lucie , Thanks for your words, Very interesting that you had to pay for your Wifi - which would indicate you were not a guest at Sanctuary, as we give all our guests free internet. Sorry you didnt find our lovely staff hospitable when you popped in to see us - we find them the jewel in our...

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent detox program. Gabby and Mr. Moon are a perfect team. You don't get hungry and all questions are explained in detail. Get the packet and enjoy yoga and massages every day. Stay a few days after to eat the amazing vegetarian food from the restaurant. I can't wait to go next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miasnutella
SanctuaryThailand, Manager at The Sanctuary Thailand, responded to this review

Dear Miasnutella Whoosh ! what a great few words to describe your experience here with us. Thank you very much. Gabby and Mr Moon have worked very hard in the last year to create a new buzz and freshness around our wellness centre and it certainly seems to be paying off. We can't wait to welcome you back here again...

Ribeirao Preto, SP
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It is a nice place for people that likes to make new friends, that likes to share tables, walk barefoot. The food is delicious, and yes, despite of being a sanctuary, they have beer. This places have several types of therapies and I need to mention Reike with Cristals. It was amazing. Despite this therapy, the accommodations are in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThaisBarros
SanctuaryThailand, Manager at The Sanctuary Thailand, responded to this review

Hi there ThaiBarros Thank you for your wonderful review, it sounds like you had a great time here. We do have the balance of beer, delicious food and healthy beverages too ! Our therapies are considered to be well considered and extremely beneficial to all walks of life and we pride ourselves on being to offer interesting workshops all year...

Kiama, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

EVERYONE FROM OLD POPS TO COOL MILLENNIALS LOVE THIS PLACE They say if you remember the 60s you weren’t there. When I talked to OLD POPS at THE SANCTUARY he remembered. Dude ran a group house in FRISCO’s HAIGHT-ASHBURY and had perfect recall of organizing f fun weekends down the coast at BIG SUR communes. Popular folklore has it that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank blackeldo
Serley, France
Reviewed April 6, 2017 via mobile

The bay is amazing The vibe in general is relax, chill, everybody is happy. The yoga is great. The food is delisious The older bungalows are very expensive prise quality is not oke. But the new ones look amazing I dont know there prises. The restaurant is soooooo jammie but also soooooo expensive. There are other places around to eat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mefatot
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile

Arrived after a long journey from Spain, the garden house was ready for us. we were picked up from the airport, and took the speedboat, and after a short but bumpy trip we had to get into a small dingy to get to the beach! The boys are very helpful and took all our luggage to the house. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Taranero53
SanctuaryThailand, Manager at The Sanctuary Thailand, responded to this review

Hi Guys and thanks so much for your visit with us . I am so delighted you enjoyed your programs and classes, that our staff became friends and that our rusticness was the attraction we hope it is for all- yes its a bit difficult to get here at times - but the journey makes the destination even more special...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

706 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (321)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (174)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (369)
Viewed
Amenities (56)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Ocean View House (75)
Viewed
Rainbow House (87)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)
Viewed
Wemaarn Baan Room (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
3.7 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
624 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
601 reviews
7.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
5.9 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,354 reviews
1.6 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Established in 1991 The Sanctuary is a unique beach front resort offering beautiful houses, comfortable bungalows and budget dorm beds & boasts a 300 + vegetarian and seafood menu & bakery. Offering a diverse Spa menu & Detox fasting center, day trips, Kayaking, snorkelling and our gym to encourage you out of your beach front hammock. An eclectic mix of guests ensures a special beach holiday. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sanctuary Thailand

Address: Had Tien Bay, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand (Formerly The Sanctuary Island Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
The Sanctuary Island Hotel Koh Phangan
The Sanctuary Island Spa
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Sanctuary Thailand staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Sanctuary Thailand staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I stayed at the C2. Really cute room with huge bathroom.”
, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“You may also want to request a room away from the generator (there are only a couple of rooms near it, but still.)”
ssfitzgerald, Feb 9, 2017 | Read review
“Hilltop bungalow for best views”
poppyt552, Jan 25, 2017 | Read review
“Unique Gem”
Pintomatic, Jan 14, 2017 | Read review
“Bungalows further up the hill are better placed for views, and are quieter, but you don't hear the sea so much.”
rayh833, Dec 8, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question