We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sunset Hill Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sunset Hill Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

434 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 314: English reviews
Locarno, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at Sunset Hill Resort from the 31st of December 2016 till the 3rd of January 2017. Actually we booked 5 days but after 3 days we decided to leave the resort because we were deeply disappointed. Some of the people at the reception were kind and friendly. The view from our room (Lotus 8) was magnificent but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kongtoranindim
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Guys!!! How can you charge people to pay 100-400$ per night and have: 1) bad internet 2) old ugly towels and linens with holes on them 3) bad cleaning of the rooms 4) dirty common areas 5) not tasty restaurant: burger with bones inside or try pasta with vodka sauce- it's just a joke..;( It's overpriced and totally not worth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RollsRoyce95
SunsetHill_Resort, Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

Dear RollsRoyce95. Thank you for your review. We sincerely regret that you were dissatisfied with your stay with us. As you would know, there was unseasonably bad weather on the island for the first 2 weeks of January. Literally nonstop heavy rain for several days and nights. It was not possible for us to adequately clean public areas during this...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We just arrived very late like 11pm after through horrible seasick lots of expectation of two rooms suite with sea view which is the best in this hotel . And unfortunately We just found out those disaster . Obviously it was horrible storm flooding everywhere we understood . But cannot accept they didn't check the room before we check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mj L
SunsetHill_Resort, Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

Dear MJ, Thank you for your review. We sincerely regret the circumstances which led to your dissatisfaction. As you mentioned, Koh Phangan experienced severe flooding and torrential rain during the day and into the evening of your arrival. Your room was checked earlier in the day and all was in order. We were not aware that water had caused such...

Reviewed November 28, 2016 via mobile

The room was spacious and well furnished with a roomy bathroom and entrance area containing a stocked fridge/freezer and wardrobe with robes and slippers. The bed was large and fronted by a TV with a handful of channels. There was a DVD player with surround sound however no DVDs in the room. There may have been some at reception but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blain87
SunsetHill_Resort, Reservations Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the food. We have recently created a whole new menu with lots of vegetarian options and are happy you enjoyed it. We also appreciate your honest comments and will work harder with our staff as we do feel the anticipating guests' needs is very important. If you come...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 6, 2016 via mobile

We arrived at our apartment to find that there was renovation work taking place in the apartment block in front of us. This meant that we were overlooked by the workmen and noise of drilling and welding could be heard. When I enquired why we had not been informed of the situation I was told that the work was only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve L
SunsetHill_Resort, Reservations Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

Hi Steve, We thank you for sharing this information and apologize that your stay with us was less than perfect. Please understand that as we had explained to you, we had a storm with high winds the day before you arrived and received some damage to one of our buildings. It was not something that could wait on repairs. We...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

This place is absolutely beautiful. Great staff, very warm and welcoming, extremely helpful with answering questions regarding local activities, and setting up taxi and shuttle bus rides. Amazing view, hillside. Very modern and luxurious rooms. Super clean and comfortable. Had all the amenities. GREAT INFINITY POOL. I LOVED IT. I would stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianne S
SunsetHill_Resort, Reservations Manager at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

Hi Dianna, We always appreciate honest input from our guests and we are overjoyed that you had such a great time during your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words and we hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday!

Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

Very good hotel for the cost, has own bar and restaurant which has a happy hour during sunset which you can sit in the infinity pool and watch. Air-con is great in the rooms, staff helpful and will organise any trips you want. Would recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connor P
SunsetHill_Resort, Reservations at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

It was lovely having you stay with us and we greatly appreciate your recommendation. We wish you a wonderful continued holiday and hope to see you both again someday :)

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel during a low season and it was an absolute pleasure. Often the pool area was just for us. The view from the pool is stunning. Very friendly staff. They have shuttles to the Secret Beach and to the Haad Yao beach. Both are very nice beaches. I liked Haad Yao much better, more restaurants and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irina K
SunsetHill_Resort, Reservations at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

We thank you very much for your comments and suggestions. We are actually revamping our menu at the moment to include more items for vegetarians and vegans. Hopefully you will come stay with us again and you can see the improvements we have made in this area first hand :)

Perth, Australia
Reviewed September 28, 2016 via mobile

Staff, room and restaurant just wonderful, very happy and I'm quite picky ! Clean and spacious apartment styled room was perfect, I highly recommend this hotel to anyone after some peace and quiet. Just go!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KellieWilliamson12
SunsetHill_Resort, Reservations at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

You recommendation is very much appreciated. We are so happy you enjoyed your time at Sunset Hill and hope to see you again someday soon!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 26, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and loved it. Staff is really friendly and willing to help. The infinity pool is great and the view amazing! Food at the restaurant is fine, but nothing special really. Overall, would recommend this resort mainly for its beautiful location ).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikkehb11
SunsetHill_Resort, Reservations at Sunset Hill Resort, responded to this review

We are currently working on improving our restaurant to match the quality of the resort of the resort. We thank you for your comments and are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. Next time when you return we promise to wow you with our food as well!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

776 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (395)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (49)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
4:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (172)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (307)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Deluxe Garden View Studio (53)
Viewed
Deluxe Sea View Studio (47)
Viewed
Grand Sea View Junior Suite (65)
Viewed
Infinity Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.2 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#2 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
558 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#20 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
486 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
580 reviews
9.1 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the spectacular sunsets from the west coast of natural Koh Phangan island. The Sunset Hill Resort is located on a stunning hill overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, Koh Tao, Koh Samui and the Marine Park. This area is famous for snorkeling and diving as well as for the beautiful beaches Haad Yao, Secret Beach and Chao Phao, which are located within 10 minutes walking distance or 2 minutes by scooter. The luxury apartments have majestic ocean views from their round design terraces. Penthouse apartments also have a kitchen in the dining and living room. The resort has an amazing infinity pool and cozy viewpoint lounge bar/restaurant and open air deck where great food and beverages are served. Our knowledgeable multilangual reception staff can assist you to discover the island and any other holiday wishes you may have. We are looking forward to help you to create the fantastic holiday experience of your dreams! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Resort

Address: 81/15 Moo 8, Haad Chaophao, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $67 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Hill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hill Hotel Koh Phangan
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sunset Hill Resort staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Hill Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Sight on the ocean”
 of 5 bubbles 356andream, Sep 13, 2016 | Read review
“R06 has a good sunset view and with trees to the far left, gives a nice feeling of privacy”
  • R06 - Living Area - View to balcony
  • R06 - Closet amenities
  • R06 - Dining / Kitchen Area
  • R06 - Furnished Balcony
  • R06 - View from main bedroom
  • R06 - Main bathroom
  • R06 - Main bedroom
  • R06 - Furnished balcony
 of 5 bubbles 45DegreesNorth, Aug 9, 2016 | Read review
“We had the garden view room with a nice size patio. It's such an easy place to relax and let go. ”
 of 5 bubbles robertaD7441CO, Jul 24, 2016 | Read review
“Room rose 01 has insane views! ”
 of 5 bubbles 105kayleighm, Apr 2, 2016 | Read review
“I was placed in a nice large room with a good internal ambience. However the room smelt very musty as there was little daylight throughout the day... The hotel staff did not make me aware that there was a privately owned apartment next door to me. In evening the owners decide to have a DIY drive and the loud banging and knocking into my walls was so unacceptable that I had to knock on their door to see what was going on..thenhotel should ensure that hotel guests are entitled to be treated as first class citizens and not put up with such behaviour from private clients.”
 of 5 bubbles Magimx007, Apr 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay